We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Gat Rossio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gat Rossio
Ranked #94 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is 1 minute far from the subway station, 3 minutes from the bus station and the train station in Rossio. Is quiet (or i was lucky) even if is very close to the boulevard and also to the terraces. The people working there are great, smiley and helpful. The only problem is that they don't have closets. So the clothes will stay packed or on the table. Worth staying there though:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameliaCse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Kind people, nice breakfast, clean - although small - rooms.
When visiting a beautiful city as Lisbon, no need of a suite.
Nice weather and a lot of things to be seen.
Would although be nice to enjoy a drink in a bar with someone to serve.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the entrance are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaatjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Location and excellent service, the room is very small but clean and practical, the hotel's dining room problematic, congested and unpleasant. Good breakfast.
The big problem was with the payment of SKOOSH to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank ofarr000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just terrible. Had I paid 40 euros a night, I'd be willing to let certain things slide, but at 100 a night, there's no way that the ridiculous cardboard rooms, crabby service and DIY breakfast is acceptable. Just ugh.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Smackerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

In summary...

Location: unbeatable - close to EVERYWHERE! Ridiculously fantastic. Take shuttle from airport and get off at the Restauradores stop. Cross the road and it's basically there (the other end of the square from Hard Rock - closer towards the main station and Starbucks).

Room: Really tiny, but doable and definitely clean. You'll be outside for most of the day anyway. The hangers are cute and surprisingly work well. The 'compedium' is creative - looks like newspaper. The light switches are pretty funky. The room aroma as we walked in was questionable (like an overexcited 19 year old boy drowning in cologne for his first trip overseas). Shower was OK, though I wish it had more power.

Wifi: EXCELLENT. Works consistently and no hassle - in room and in public spaces. Thank you!

Breakfast: Nothing to write home about. The staff in charge tried their darnest to make things work (as they're always around to try and help) but clearly there weren't enough cups and glasses, and the hot water system (for tea) was embarrassing. The choices were not really... choices. No hot brekky apart from boiled egg (that you cooked yourself) and the only yoghurt available was sweetened. Would've been nice to have unsweetened yoghurt. The fruits were nice, however.

Interior: A bit strange with all the green but as I said, you're gonna be out most of the time anyway...

Reception: Tried very hard. Obviously the young girl who helped me didn't have fantastic English or customer service priority but she tried very, very hard.

Wish list:
- Plugs near beds to charge phones
- Scented amenities that doesn't smell like an excitable 19 year old boy away on his first overseas trip
- Room slippers for cooler nights as the floor isn't carpeted
- More cups and glasses, better hot water distribution and food choices at breakfast

Would I return?
Yep, especially for the location and cleanliness.

Tip:
First timers, I wouldn't bother going to see fado with dinner show. Do the Yellow Bus Tour team + fado combination. The Fado in Chiado is at stop 5. Also, Belem (blue line on Yellow Bus Tour) = Portuguese tarts (Pasteis de Belem) + 75 cents delicious god-sent cafe + monastery + walk along the river.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank ladybugwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

No frills hotel made inside an old building made to look quite modern and minimalist, but with clean and comfortable rooms.
The place is perfect if you want a quiet place to stay near the very city centre.
Service is nice and attentive and breakfast is quite regular for such a place. The breakfast room is quite well decorated with a touch of humour and creativity.
Good for young couples with no kids.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inside courtyard to avoid street noise (ex: 117)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We started our Camino by traveling to Lisbon for two days. We discovered this hotel online, and the description provided was accurate. The rooms are small but comfortable and immaculate! The price includes breakfast buffet with many options. The hotel is located in downtown Lisbon and is close to everything. Location, location, location! We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a room for October when we returned from our Camino. Because we booked in advance, they maintained the same price structure, which we thought was wonderful. We are planning another trip to Lisbon and will, most likely, repeat our stay here. We liked it that much!

Room Tip: All the rooms are small, but very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#90 of 255 in Lisbon
739 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#47 of 255 in Lisbon
356 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#64 of 255 in Lisbon
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
954 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo Hotel
Lisboa Tejo Hotel
#128 of 255 in Lisbon
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Rossio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Rossio

Address: Rua do Jardim do Regedor 27-35, Lisbon 1150-193, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $68 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Rossio 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Se Lisboa e toda linda, Se o nosso Bairro e LISBOA" Enjoy the unique atmosphere of Lisbon and stay with us at Gat Rossio. In the particular neighbourhood of La Baixa and in the centre of the city, you will discover 71 modern, comfortable rooms completely equipped at an extraordinary price. Breakfast is included and Internet is free. If you wish to enjoy the hustle of life, the culture and the Lisboan life, you have to come to gat rossio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gat Rossio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing