We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna be boutique hotel with nothing much to offer”
Review of Hotel Gat Rossio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gat Rossio
Ranked #93 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wanna be boutique hotel with nothing much to offer”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Overall:
This place is not an hotel, just a "wanna be" boutique hotel with badly executed "design" (painting smears, curvy plywood furniture execution is a joke). Basically, it is all about "eye candy" and lacks completely in functionality and comfort and customer service.
Each room has an iPhone/ipod dock: great, but then, you have no space for your suitcase, not enough hooks for your clothes, no hooks in the bathroom, an unreliable Wifi connection.
Your room is on the first floor? well, in our case, that meant taking the lift to the first floor, going through the first floor, climbing some stairs, going up a ramp, going through another courtyard, going up some more stairs. After 5 hour flight and with some suitcases and bags and rainy weather, this is a pain.

Customer service: so-so. In any case, do not expect any useful info from the reception staff about restaurants, public transports.

Location: this is the only plus from this "hotel". Located beside the Rossio station, it is minutes away from everything. However, note that in the evenings, the areas close by with fill up with some dodgy characters, drug dealers and homeless people (ok they are harmless).

Breakfast is ok if you overlook the wanna be design and those stupid benches you gotta sit on and will be a pain in the back every time you gotta get up as, more than likely, you will be sharing this with others.

This place does not deliver on anything except location. We still wonder how this place can get so many good reviews: is it that people get easily fooled by the wanna be design? If you are willing to walk some ten minutes you will find a much better room elsewhere for even cheaper. That is what we ended doing. For our last two nights, we stayed at the holiday Inn express and were delighted by the service, the room and the price.
Overall, we don't think this place deserves the positive reviews it got. A seasoned traveller will not get fooled by their "offering". Would we recommend this place to anyone at all even for its location? NO WAY.

Room Tip: Ask for the location of the room inside the hotel as "1st floor" rooms can be far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claude_B15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    624
    175
    44
    29
See reviews for
128
665
104
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trencin, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just came back from Lisbon. Gat Rossio - it is a smart choice to stay here. It is true that rooms are small but i needed a room to sleep in, not to enjoy my trip by staying in my room.
My room had two beds, nice bathroom, balcony. It was very clean and on top of that with perfect breakfast .
The hotel is situated right in the centre and I really cannot imagine better position.
Next time in Lisbon I will definitely stay in Gat Rossio.
Eva from Trencin, Slovakia

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in October 2013 as we were spending a few days in Lisbon for a city break. We had a fantastic trip, in large part to our stay at the hotel.

I get the impression that a number of reviewers either have not read the other reviews or have higher expectations than they should have given that the hotel is a 3 star hotel. We had researched ahead and understood before we got there that the rooms would be quite compact, though we understood the hotel to be clean, modern and particularly well located.

Our expectations above were completely matched by the room we were put in. Yes, the room was compact and probably one of the smallest I have stayed in, but it was completely modern, quite nicely designed (other than the size) and very clean. The bed was particularly comfortable and we had no issue with any noise (albeit we were not facing the side with a restaurant below it, so can't comment as to how it would be if you were on that side) and had a great sleep each night.

The staff were friendly, able to help in speaking English given our awful Portuguese. There was somebody at the desk at all times which helped us when we had to check out particularly early in the morning. The hotel had quite a slick, modern feel to it which I liked. The breakfast options were of the continental variety and were great for a 3 star. The breakfast area, like the rest of the hotel was clean and modern looking.

In terms of location - as one reviewer points out, it is correct to say that there is one street nearby where there are a number of cheap restaurants with individuals trying to goad you into their cheap establishment for a meal. However, in our 4 days in Lisbon walking all over the city, we walked down that street maybe once and it is incredibly easily avoided and it is wrong to give the impression that it is unavoidable as you exit the hotel. I also recall the street being very similar to the "Baixa" main street in the city which leads up to the main square. Plus, such behaviour by cheap restaurant establishments happens in parts of other major European cities (i.e. Paris, Brussels) where there are tourists.

Overall, we felt the hotel was good value for money. We were using the hotel as a base for us to relax after a long day of walking around the various different parts of the city and other than perhaps a brief rest during the day / pre-dinner, we were only using the hotel for a comfortable sleep. If you instead need a desk / need to use the room to work in, then perhaps go for another hotel - otherwise for most people, the free wi-fi service and international tv channels will suffice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCFNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Arrived at the Gat Rossio today having booked a double room for 1 week. The room was not ready at 3pm and were asked to come back in 30 minutes. Came back to find a double room is about the same size as a rabbit hatch. Smaller than a single room in any hotel I have ever stayed in before anywhere. Reception offered a bigger room for an additional £50 a night. Terrible hotel, decoration all plastic and cheap. Do not stay here.The rooms are tiny!

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon33055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is almost perfect: beautiful, contemporary design and central location, within a walk from major attractions and 50 meters from a metro station, are the biggest advantages. We stayed here twice, before and after our trip to Madeira Island, in two different rooms, and would be happy to come back next time we are in Lisbon.
Standard rooms are tiny, but amazingly well planned, with everything you need. In the superior room you can enjoy more space and a huge, very comfortable double bed.
Both rooms were brightly lit, which is not common for the hotel rooms. You can even choose your perfect brightness from the “light menu”.
The buffet breakfast was good, so was the free WiFi connection.
There were only minor disadvantages: it was slightly noisy (but you ARE in the very city center) and I didn’t like the tube-like hair dryer because of its low power.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor may be noisy - they are close to common seating area, and you can hear peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttiaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My original review seems to have disappeared, so I shall write another.

This hotel advertises itself as trendy, quirky and cool. What that actually translates into is not a single surface to put a laptop on and to be able to sit in front of it, tiny rooms and a breakfast space that is far too small if the hotel is full of guests even if it's good weather and some people sit outside and take breakfast on the patio. When I was there it wasn't good weather, so we were all squashed in like sardines on uncomfortable benches, no elbow room and feeling uncomfortable if you wanted to take it easy because people were arriving all the time and not finding a place to sit.

I mean, of the above, the thing that really got me was that there was no desk and/or chair in the minuscule room. If there had been, I suppose one wouldn't have been able to move around at all, instead of just about being able to.

In addition, the hotel is situated right in the middle of a tourist trap. Turn right outside the doors and you come to "Restaurant Alley" where you are hassled by professional "greeters" to patronise establishments that serve dubious, poor or in one case downright disgusting food at rip off prices. Moreover, hard and soft drugs are sold in that street too. Not one of the eateries in that street is worth patronising in preference to some of the very good establishments reviewed here on TA as well as elsewhere.

One more gripe about the location of the hotel. The street it is in is pedestrianised, so if you are in poor health, elderly or disabled in any way you have the devil of a job getting from either the taxi or the station to the hotel with heavy luggage. It's only 25 yards or so, OK, but it was a Calvary for me.

The one redeeming factor of the hotel is the staff who are excellent, but this is not going to get me to give this expensive place more than one star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My reservation was very cheap so I was afraid Hotel Gat Rossio, despite the very good reviews and the great location, was going to be a rat hole. Quite the contrary! The hotel is really cool and clean, and has a young vibe to it. The staff is friendly. I couldn't expect more!
Rooms are rather small--I should add, of course, given the incredible price--but I could still find a convenient accommodation for my bulky luggage. I haven't had their breakfast yet, but everyone says good things about it.
This hotel has been a very pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peonzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#75 of 251 in Lisbon
706 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#50 of 251 in Lisbon
315 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#11 of 251 in Lisbon
621 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#137 of 251 in Lisbon
618 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#57 of 251 in Lisbon
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Rossio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Rossio

Property: Hotel Gat Rossio
Address: Rua do Jardim do Regedor 27-35, Lisbon 1150-193, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Rossio 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Se Lisboa e toda linda, Se o nosso Bairro e LISBOA" Enjoy the unique atmosphere of Lisbon and stay with us at Gat Rossio. In the particular neighbourhood of La Baixa and in the centre of the city, you will discover 71 modern, comfortable rooms completely equipped at an extraordinary price. Breakfast is included and Internet is free. If you wish to enjoy the hustle of life, the culture and the Lisboan life, you have to come to gat rossio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gat Rossio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing