We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gat Rossio
Nearby Hotels
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$173
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
$186
$142
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveler rating
422
689
202
46
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
689
202
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallgreat locationrossio railway stationhang clothesfresh orange juicehotel is locatednice breakfastfree wifiaerobus stopwalking distancevery clean hotellonger staypedestrian streetbreakfast room issitting areaby footsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice small rooms with everything you need. Nice touch is the eco focus for example on saving electricity. Its interior and cat eye logo ('gato' apparently means cat in Portugerse) make it special. If you arrive at night, you can either knock or meow at the front door haha :) The breakfast is simple but nice and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was chosen by our daughter for its location and price. We were not disappointed at all. Firstly, the reception staff were really friendly and helpful with suggestions as to what best options were available to us. The rooms, although small were tastefully designed, clean and the room service commendable. For the price we paid, the breakfast provided was excellent, although the kitchen staff could learn to be as friendly as the desk staff. The location is really so convenient as we could walk to quite a few attractions, including the Castle.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room that is not facing the front of the hotel - tends to be a little noisy in the mornings. The rooms in the top floors should be ok.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

GAT Rossio is a nice hotel, even though it has none of Lisbon's authenticity and atmosphere. This was taken all out when they installed the green neon/led lightening.

The rooms are small, very clean and internet reception was not very good in my room.

The breakfast was a big mess... The breakfast is not equipped to handle a full hotel, which meant that it was hot, food ran out, no cold juice etc.

I have definitely had better experiences...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose this hotel as we wanted a convenient location from which to tour Lisbon. Modern, comfortable, smaller rooms, full breakfast, elevator and helpful staff. On walking mall, so park in nearby underground parking.
Within 5-10 min you're at all major sights.
Restaurants/bars within 1+ minutes of hotel

GAT means 'cat' so hotel had cat theme in certain areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symphony2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I appreciate that they made a sincere effort to do something different with the decor - it lovingly stands apart from the cold, functional scandinavian-style mdf of most 3 star hotels. It feels like there is something new to discover around every corner as so many details are unusual and well thought-out.

I wish, however, that they hadn't stopped once they got to the bathroom. It is like something you'd get in a badly run hostel: worn, dingy, badly maintained, and with the most appalling smell coming from the drain pipes. We notified reception of the smell and though they appear to have sent someone up to fix it, the smell remained and ruined the hotel for me. I'm astounded that no one checked the room before our arrival and deemed it unfit for staying in until this had been sorted out.

The size of the rooms has been alluded to in previous reviews; they are indeed small but we managed to fit in one big suitcase, two small cabin trolleys and all our bits and pieces for a 4 night stay without too much hassle or bumping into things. We also didn't have a noise problem even though our room was facing the street. Regarding the green light, there are shutters which block it completely, I'm not sure if these were recently installed.

We didn't have breakfast there (the place was jammed and the offering seemed to be quite basic) but the seating area as well as the terrace is lovely. The reception staff was polite (though nothing more).

The air conditioning was very average altogether - so-called 18 degrees Celsius at full fan was closer to 22 and didn't provide all that much comfort against the heatwave going on outside (though it should be sufficient in more clement weather).

I didn't find the supermarket which is supposedly next door, though there was a small cash-and-carry just opposite which was only open in the morning. Otherwise there is a supermarket a few blocks further in Chiado (google Pingo Doce) and you can buy bottles of water until late at night in a small bar/shop two doors down from the hotel.

I would have recommended this place for budget travel had it not been for its awful bathroom - surely this is one of the things an establishment functioning as a place to sleep and shower needs to get right. As it is, next time I will spend the extra on a 5 star. We paid 66 eur per night for the Gat, and I later saw that prices had gone up to 75. There are far better hotels slightly further down the road for a tiny bit higher.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nocturnalorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews