We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ; good hotel ; small rooms”
Review of Hotel Gat Rossio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gat Rossio
Ranked #97 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location ; good hotel ; small rooms”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was in gat rossio with my wife for 4 nights last week; hotel location is perfect which is near to metro station and aerobus station
You can easily get on the aerobus in airport and get off at restauradores station ; then 5 minutes walk to the hotel
Thete are many bars and restaurants nearby but valentino which is next to the hotel ; is the best with many different tasty foods
The exterior of hotel is old but inside is decorated well with clean rooms and good service
Breakfast is also good with different meals
The only concern is the small rooms of hotel
It can be a 3 star hotel with good location and acceptable budget

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mohaimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, General Manager at Hotel Gat Rossio, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mohaimen,

Thank you for your comments. Your satisfaction is our happiness.

Hope see you again in Lisbon ..

Best regards,

miauuuuuu

Alexandra Mariath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    610
    174
    43
    27
See reviews for
120
649
103
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This clean, modern hotel is situated in the heart of Lisbon. It is a basic hotel, with a minimalist buffet breakfast, no bar or restaurant, but nevertheless it is well finished and the fittings are good quality. The outside terrace provides a refreshing alternative space. With a convenience store opposite and surounded by tourist restaurants and bars, and only a short walk to the trams, squares and riverfront, this is an unbeatable location and therefore the hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, General Manager at Hotel Gat Rossio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr Martin,

Thank you for your words.. Your opinion is really important, because give us add value.

About the rates, we suggest you that take a look in our diferent seasons, because we have several offers.

best regards,

miauuuuuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights there and enjoyed every moment of it. Very nice breakfast and super courteous staff. Free and decent wifi connection. We booked tours, taxi ride to airport through the front desk.
Restaurants and bars within steps of the hotel are great.
No complaints here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, General Manager at Hotel Gat Rossio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ticarre,

Thank you for your comment, we are very happy that your stay here was perfect!

Let me inform you that we have a Gat Hotel at Berlin, in the Check Point Charlie area, that is really centric!.

We hope see you again in the future!

best regards,

miauuuuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel is clean but small. Excellent buffet breakfast. Attentive staff. Located centrally and easy to find.. Close to the best sea-food restaurants in Lisbon. It's a E13 price for pick up and being taken to airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, General Manager at Hotel Gat Rossio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your words! when we did the hotel project, we recovered a historic building itself, keeping its main features. We chose this to keep the historic architecture of the city, pairing with the trendy design.

It was a pleasure to receive you here, and we hope see you again in the future.

best regards

miauuuuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall experience was good, the room was very cramped with the emphasis on style rather than practicality. There is nowhere to hang trousers or skirts, you can hang some jackets on the open safe door (tip from the cleaner) so be prepared to live out of your suitcase.
Our room was second floor overlooking the terrace and this lead to our one real problem of excessive noise. They have piped music that comes on at 7:20 till 22:00 and there are speakers on the terrace so you get the noise straight into the room. We had to complain about this several times and the volume was reduced but once woken the damage had been done.
Breakfast was good, reasonable mix of food, some of poor quality but mostly OK, ideal to stock up for a hard days sight seeing.
The shower had black mould in some of the grouting and we had to complain to get this cleaned which they did at least try to do.
Staff were all very good and helpful, always tried to help.

Room Tip: As high as possible to get away from the noise but maybe avoid the top floor as it's in the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterashleywhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, General Manager at Hotel Gat Rossio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mr Peter,

Thanks for your words, we only can improve our services, when we have the feedback from our customers.

If there is anything we can do to manage this past situation, please, let me know.

best regards,

miauuuuuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent located hotel, 2-2 minutes walking from tube station, at Lisbon city centre, with many attractions within walking distance (Rossio railway station, Bairro Alto, Chiado, etc). Friendly staff. Very interesting concept for an hotel, that uses old buildings that were recovered. With plenty of "pateos" or "esplanadas", open air places were you can seat and relax. Breakfast has everything it must have. The only question with this is the overprice of the room rates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amadeu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This nice little hotel is close to the metro station and walking distance from "downtown". It's clean, good breakfast which you can take on the lovely terrasse, furthermore the employees are very kind and the hotel is originally furnitured :) The only "small negative" thing is that the in the single rooms the bed was a little bit to small! You can also booked a double one :))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra M, Manager at Hotel Gat Rossio, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear dtshura,

Thank you for your comments. Your satisfaction is our happiness.

Best regards....

miauuuuu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#74 of 246 in Lisbon
682 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#52 of 246 in Lisbon
298 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 246 in Lisbon
586 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#138 of 246 in Lisbon
594 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#117 of 246 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gat Rossio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Rossio

Property: Hotel Gat Rossio
Address: Rua do Jardim do Regedor 27-35, Lisbon 1150-193, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Rossio 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Se Lisboa e toda linda, Se o nosso Bairro e LISBOA" Enjoy the unique atmosphere of Lisbon and stay with us at Gat Rossio. In the particular neighbourhood of La Baixa and in the centre of the city, you will discover 71 modern, comfortable rooms completely equipped at an extraordinary price. Breakfast is included and Internet is free. If you wish to enjoy the hustle of life, the culture and the Lisboan life, you have to come to gat rossio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gat Rossio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing