We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #57 of 204 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location, great. Paula, omnipresent. Breakfast, plentiful. Rooms, immaculate.

Really enjoyed my time in Lisbon and I'm sure Paula added to this experience. When she gets AC for the rooms it will be 5 star. Definitely go here for a chilled out, informal B&B. Beats any hotel I've ever stayed in. Just be warned, after a long journey the stairs up to the pension are knackering and don't bring heels (girlfriend's advice) due to cobbles around Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chumpnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    43
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corsham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If what you're looking for is the security that comes from the repetitive formulaic nature of chain hotels complete with a wall mounted hair dryer in the bathroom and a selection of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and individually wrapped biscuits on the counter this is not the place for you.

Instead, you will find a level of personal service from Paula (who evidently never sleeps) that is second to none and a breakfast of homemade cakes and pastries that must be experienced to be fully appreciated.

My girlfriend and I arrived early and were able to leave our bags behind reception. Paula, having welcomed us, advised that the room would be ready at 'about 12'. We spent the day exploring and returned at 17:00 to find our bags had been placed neatly in our room, which was brightly decorated with artificial flowers, prints of butterflies and, most notably, a number of thank you cards from previous guests. These can also be found in all other areas of the hotel! I should also note that the room was spotlessly clean.

The next morning we woke to a breakfast of bread and savouries, ham, cheeses etc plus an impressive selection of fruit salads. In addition to these were 4 or 5 large home made cakes, small individual cakes, pancakes, quiches, brioche and more. All having been home made, by Paula overnight!

If we go back to Lisbon we'll definitely stay here. The only possible downside was a lack of air conditioning which in the peak of summer could be a problem but the fan was sufficient for us in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashmerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Perfect location - right in the centre, close to the metro and ferry. Walking distance from Belem :D Cosy, colorful and clean bedrooms, lovely and helpful Paula, who is in charge........amazing breakfast, everyday fresh cakes and fruit. Spent 5 days in June/July 2013 and Big recommendation. Hoping to come back. Tomas & Dasa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Pensao Royal at the end of June, our stay was really great especially thanks to Paula who runs the place in an amazing way. We had a double room tastefully decorated with a cosy en suite bathroom. In the price is included a mouth-watering homemade breakfast with a good selection of fresh fruit, cakes and some savoury pie. The Pensao has a very convenient location just a step away from the underground station, the Electrico bus stop and at a walking distance from Rossio, Praca de Commercio and the Barrio Alto. Paula was great giving us a lot of advice about things to do and especially in suggesting some cheap but very good restaurants. This is a place I would definetely come back to if I had the chance.
Giulia & Giacomo.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GillyFirenze_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The building doesn't hint at all at the colorful kitsch contained within. If you like bright colors, themed rooms, playful decor, and delicious homemade breakfasts, you'll love this place. The proprietress, Paula, is helpful with information about local restaurants and sights. She also helped us track down lost baggage. She is simultaneously world-weary, friendly and chatty, likes to listen to Rammstein and likes stuffed animals. Paula is one of a kind :-) ... My only complaint is that if your room faces the street, there is some street noise at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tchira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Pensao Royal is clean, tidy and in a good location but what makes it great is Paula. It is rare to meet a person so full of energy and passion for what she does. She makes you feel at home , gives great directions and advice, bakes delicious cakes. She even helped us with our heavy luggage up and down the stairs. My mum and I will miss her!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borboletinha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this clean & lovely hostel March 9 for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! Our room was clean & cute (like every room at this hostel), but what really stood out for us was Paola's hospitality and kindness to all her guests. By the time you leave, you feel like part of the family. She hugged us and wished us well as we were leaving, and I knew right then and there how much I'll miss her. And I was right.
She was always helpful when we were trying to plan out our day, ready with tips, restaurant recommendations and directions. On top of that Paola also bakes the most AMAZING pies and pastries for the breakfast. It's places like Paola's Pensao Royal that really stand out on your trip because of the highest customer service and dedication. We would recommend this place without any hesitation, it had everything we wanted and much more! We'll definitely go back and stay here again when we're back in Lisbon!

Obrigada Paola!! I wear your scarf you gave me and think of you
Yelena & Nathan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YPlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#18 of 204 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Largo da Se Guest House
Largo da Se Guest House
#59 of 204 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rose Guest House
#48 of 204 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#17 of 204 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#81 of 204 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Property: Pensao Royal
Address: Rua do Crucifixo 50, 3rd fl, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pensao Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing