We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and a breakfast that must be seen to be seen to be believed”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #84 of 253 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If what you're looking for is the security that comes from the repetitive formulaic nature of chain hotels complete with a wall mounted hair dryer in the bathroom and a selection of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and individually wrapped biscuits on the counter this is not the place for you.

Instead, you will find a level of personal service from Paula (who evidently never sleeps) that is second to none and a breakfast of homemade cakes and pastries that must be experienced to be fully appreciated.

My girlfriend and I arrived early and were able to leave our bags behind reception. Paula, having welcomed us, advised that the room would be ready at 'about 12'. We spent the day exploring and returned at 17:00 to find our bags had been placed neatly in our room, which was brightly decorated with artificial flowers, prints of butterflies and, most notably, a number of thank you cards from previous guests. These can also be found in all other areas of the hotel! I should also note that the room was spotlessly clean.

The next morning we woke to a breakfast of bread and savouries, ham, cheeses etc plus an impressive selection of fruit salads. In addition to these were 4 or 5 large home made cakes, small individual cakes, pancakes, quiches, brioche and more. All having been home made, by Paula overnight!

If we go back to Lisbon we'll definitely stay here. The only possible downside was a lack of air conditioning which in the peak of summer could be a problem but the fan was sufficient for us in July.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashmerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Pensao Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Perfect location - right in the centre, close to the metro and ferry. Walking distance from Belem :D Cosy, colorful and clean bedrooms, lovely and helpful Paula, who is in charge........amazing breakfast, everyday fresh cakes and fruit. Spent 5 days in June/July 2013 and Big recommendation. Hoping to come back. Tomas & Dasa

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Pensao Royal at the end of June, our stay was really great especially thanks to Paula who runs the place in an amazing way. We had a double room tastefully decorated with a cosy en suite bathroom. In the price is included a mouth-watering homemade breakfast with a good selection of fresh fruit, cakes and some savoury pie. The Pensao has a very convenient location just a step away from the underground station, the Electrico bus stop and at a walking distance from Rossio, Praca de Commercio and the Barrio Alto. Paula was great giving us a lot of advice about things to do and especially in suggesting some cheap but very good restaurants. This is a place I would definetely come back to if I had the chance.
Giulia & Giacomo.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GillyFirenze_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The building doesn't hint at all at the colorful kitsch contained within. If you like bright colors, themed rooms, playful decor, and delicious homemade breakfasts, you'll love this place. The proprietress, Paula, is helpful with information about local restaurants and sights. She also helped us track down lost baggage. She is simultaneously world-weary, friendly and chatty, likes to listen to Rammstein and likes stuffed animals. Paula is one of a kind :-) ... My only complaint is that if your room faces the street, there is some street noise at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tchira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Pensao Royal is clean, tidy and in a good location but what makes it great is Paula. It is rare to meet a person so full of energy and passion for what she does. She makes you feel at home , gives great directions and advice, bakes delicious cakes. She even helped us with our heavy luggage up and down the stairs. My mum and I will miss her!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borboletinha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this clean & lovely hostel March 9 for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! Our room was clean & cute (like every room at this hostel), but what really stood out for us was Paola's hospitality and kindness to all her guests. By the time you leave, you feel like part of the family. She hugged us and wished us well as we were leaving, and I knew right then and there how much I'll miss her. And I was right.
She was always helpful when we were trying to plan out our day, ready with tips, restaurant recommendations and directions. On top of that Paola also bakes the most AMAZING pies and pastries for the breakfast. It's places like Paola's Pensao Royal that really stand out on your trip because of the highest customer service and dedication. We would recommend this place without any hesitation, it had everything we wanted and much more! We'll definitely go back and stay here again when we're back in Lisbon!

Obrigada Paola!! I wear your scarf you gave me and think of you
Yelena & Nathan

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YPlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If not charmed by Lisbon you'll be definitelly charmed by Paola - by her brilliant approach, perfect service, huge help and amazing cakes! I was lucky as I enjoyed pretty much of both. It is worth it to stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piwasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
2.3 mi away
Republica Bed & Breakfast & Arts
1.0 mi away
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#13 of 253 in Lisbon
623 reviews
1.3 mi away
71 Castilho Guest House
71 Castilho Guest House
#58 of 253 in Lisbon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
O Bigode do Rato
O Bigode do Rato
#50 of 253 in Lisbon
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sky Lofts Lisbon
The Sky Lofts Lisbon
#35 of 253 in Lisbon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $52 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing