We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #71 of 238 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Paula is an amazing host. She looked after us as if we were family. Her breakfasts were divine and she even cooked us her award winning dish. The hostel is in a great location and well maintained. Paula gave excellent advise on places to see and where to eat at. Thanks Paula you made our stay in Lisbon very enjoyable. The care package was delicious. Sharon and Jeanette.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    49
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
128
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Centrally located for most sights, buses, trams & 2 minutes walk from Baixa Chiado metro. Buy the excellent value 24 hour travel ticket from the station, even valid on the Santa Justa Elevator. The aerobus ticket from the airport to Rossio Square is also valid for 24 hours & Pensao Royale is 5 minutes walk away providing you don't stop for a delicious Pasteis de Nata (famous custard tart) & coffee!
Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, surprisingly quiet (on third floor no lift), quirky decor and one of the best breakfasts I've ever experienced. You can choose from a typical selection of boiled eggs, cheese, meats, cereal, juice, fresh coffee, home made chicken pies, sauasage rolls, potato omlette, quiche, prepared fresh fruit & cakes to die for! Can recommend the coconut cake and tart tatin - all prepared by the owner Paula who is not only an excellent cook but very helpful with suggestions for days out & evening dinner.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Loved our pink room with traditional tiles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was well armed with a lot of positive Trip Advisor and Hostel Bookers reviews before booking and they were spot on! Paula is an incredible host and she made our stay in Lisbon the success it was. Her rooms are decorated very kitsch and pretty and I was lucky enough to stay in the pink room which even my boyfriend thought was lovely!

Her breakfasts are divine and she makes better crepes than I ever could. It seems weird at first eating cake for breakfast but now I'm back in London I really miss a good spread first thing in the morning!

The house is very old and so there is no elevator/lift in the property so please think carefully whether 3 flights of stairs are ok for you. The rooms are decorated very well despite being an old property and the attention to detail is just lovely. I've never seen garden gnomes in a kitchen but that's part of the fun!

Paula will give you great advice for your stay, letting you know when monuments are closed or how to save money on public transport. She's also great fun to talk to when you fancy a wind down after a long day.

Funnily enough I booked to visit Lisbon in Feb for valentines day and my birthday next year because I had such a great time. :) Lisbon is lovely, everyone should visit at least once.

Room Tip: I have a favourite room but I'm not telling you what it is. ;) Book ensuite the rooms tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staceyofthelamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's hard to search many information about Portugal in Taiwan, however, Paula is a really nice and helpful host who gives many different advice to travel in Lisbon. We'll definitely go back to Lisbon not because of the attractions there but this lovely B&B. (Don't be misunderstand, Lisbon is a nice city to travel as well.) Believing me, you won't be regretful after booking this B&B to stay when travelling in Lisbon, Pensao Royal is a place where you have to experience by yourself in Lisbon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ying-An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Paula, the owner of this pension, is the real reason why this place is as great as it is. Extremely helpful, friendly, knowledgable about her city and an excellent cook too! We arrived at 8am after a disasterous night where our overnight train was replaced by a bus. She allowed us to use the shower in one of the rooms, gave us breakfast and even did our laundry for us free of charge. Breakfast was the highlight of the day, and is served in a room that resembles something from a fairytail. Rooms are eclectically decorated and very clean and spacious. The pension is less than 5min from the metro stop and an easy walk to the sights, or to public transport links. Stay here when in Lisbon - any deficiency in this property is more than compensated for by the generousity and helpfulness of Paula. Will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbok87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you have read some of the constructive reviews here you should know exactly what to expect from this place and based on my experience you will not be disappointed. Do not stay there if you want a five star hotel with an elevator and a butler. But if you want an original experience, a super-clean room and a host who is helpful and prepares tasty breakfasts, you should give this place a very serious look. Paula, thank you for all your help!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamcio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The comments below pretty much sum up this place, definately recommended for a stay in Lisbon. Make sure you read about and have a look at pictures of the rooms, 'individual' is one way of describing them but not everyones cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#37 of 238 in Lisbon
175 reviews
House Sao Bento
#66 of 238 in Lisbon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#13 of 238 in Lisbon
607 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
#85 of 238 in Lisbon
135 reviews
Brickoven Palace
#83 of 238 in Lisbon
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Property: Pensao Royal
Address: Rua do Crucifixo 50, 3rd fl, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pensao Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing