We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodation”
Review of Shiado Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiado Hostel
Ranked #94 of 446 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good accomodation”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Shiado Hostel is a great place to stay in Lisbon, the alley in front of the house is very quiet, but the area (Chiado) feels much more vivid at night than Baixa. Shiado Hostel is very close to Bairro Alto and its nightlife. The staff is very very very helpful and has ideas which are not mentioned in guide books. Rooms are clean, breakfast is good as well. No complaints, enjoy Lisbon and Chiado/Shiado ;-)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanzanito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    36
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
31
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Shiado Hostel it´s a wonderfull place to stay in Lisbon city. It made me feel at home. *****

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Perhaps for a hostel this is a nice place, but I had a horrible experience staying here in the private room which was promoted on their website. At 55 euro it was a complete ripoff. The hostel is not clean - overflowing waste bins in the bathroom, no toilet paper in one of the two toilets the entire 24 hour period I was there. Filthy plastic placemats at breakfast. A swarm (6-10) flies in my room upon arrival, which was met with staff asking "haven't you ever seen flies before!?" - no, not in my hotel room in such a large number. Room stank like something unwashed when window was closed. Stain on the sheet (coffee?). Upon awakening in the morning went in search of coffee and was told it was a bit early, but that "ok here is some stuff for breakfast" and was given a slice of Kraft individually packaged cheese, a pat of butter and packet of jam along with poor quality bread. After that I packed my stuff and left. This is not a boutique hostel/hotel. I travel very frequently and this was one of the worst places I've ever stayed. Beware.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jb10115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiado H, Owner at Shiado Hostel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are sorry you didn't find what you were looking for in our hostel.

Your review is unfair, anyway, and I guess it was due to some personal discomfort which hasn't much to do with our service.

We noticed in your Tripadvisor profile that the other property you reviewed is a 4 stars hotel in Ericeira. Of course you can't compare a hostel with a 4 stars hotel: not only the service and the price are different, but also the travel philosophy. If this is your standard, you should have booked in a 4 stars hotel in our neighbourhood, spending 3 or 4 times what you spent in our property.

Luckily we have collected several positive reviews since we opened (33 on Tripadvisor plus around a hundred spread among booking engines, independent blogs and travel magazines), and some positive reviews also regarding the period you stayed at ours. Some affectionate guests have been coming back several times through the last 3 years and recommended us to their friends.

55€ for a double room on Easter Eve in Chiado, the noblest location in Lisbon, can't be defined a "ripoff": indeed we were a little bit under the average local price for our category in those days. You payed for what you booked: a double room with shared bathroom, which, for two persons, would have costed 27.50€ per person. You choosed to book a double room just for yourself assuming to pay the price for a room which usually is booked by two persons.

You declared that you were in our hostel 24h: our backoffice software registered your check-in at 14h22 and check-out at 8h45 next day (and probably you also did a minimum of sightseeing between this two moments) so your statement is uncorrect.

The toilet paper was changed several times during your short stay, as usual. In any case, if you found out that is was missing in some moment during your stay in one of our toilets, you could have told us and we would have promptly replaced it. Cooperation is part of hostels philosophy.

Our placemats are in plastic. Yes. Because it is hygienic: we can wash them in our dishwashing machine everyday after breakfast. For this reason, you can't tell they are filthy.

You found some flies in your room when you arrived. Portugal is a warm contry and, if you open a window, flies could enter. It's good for you to be informed , for your future travel's, that the warmer is a country's climate, the higher will be the number of insect you will have to deal with. If you are unconfortable with this, it could be an option choosing colder destinations, or staying only in 4 or 5 stars hotels with air conditioning and no possibility to open the windows.
You complained about flies with our staff, and two of them even went into your room killing and removing the flies who had the bad idea to get into your room. This story has already turned itself into one of the best hostel jokes of the year.

In 3 years, nobody has ever complained about smells in our rooms. I personally checked your room and I didn't find anything strange.

Our sheets are washed at high temperatures, ironed and delivered to us by an external professional laundry. If there was a stain on your sheet as you stated, you could have asked the reception to replace it, at the same way as you complained about flies in your room. You didn't do so, so we have no evident proof of what you wrote. Anyway, it never occured, since we opened, any complaint about our sheets' cleanliness.

Our breakfast time is from 8 to 11.30 a.m., as you were informed upon arrival during the hostel's tour that we always give to our guests. You went into the kitchen at 7h40 and our staff person was completing its preparation. In a 4 stars hotel you would have been kindly asked to wait. Our staff let you have breakfast anyway, showing flexibility and kindness.

Our breakfast includes fresh bread (our supplier is one of the most famous bakeries in Lisbon, working with the luxury hotels in the neighbourhoods. Of course in a hostel you can't expect sophisticated mignons, focaccia or integral breads, but you have daily fresh white bread that you can toast in our toaster if you want), individual packaged jam, butter, cheese (yes, individual packaged cheese - it's higienic), mini croissants, fruit, milk, orange juice, 4 types of tea, coffee, 2 types of cereals.

Our staff has always received nice reviews for its kindness and advises. The sentences you reported were never said with unpolite words - in this way you give a false and unfair image of them.

For sure Shiado Hostel is not a boutique hotel - we never stated it was. It is a hostel. A tiny and relaxing one, for travellers looking for a quiet, central, friendly and, yes, clean, place, together with nice advises about visiting Lisbon.

We wish you serenity and peace, as your behaviour shows clearly you're in strong need of both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Quite clean hostel. frinedly and helpfull people working there. Good free breakfast and internet. Good location too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hauke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

First thing you notice is the friendly staff. Very centrally located - we stayed for 4 nights and will go back there and recommend to others. Common spaces are kept very neat and tidy, loved the creative drawing in the common spaces.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary_Thomas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Very nice place, clean, great location - 3 minutes from underground Baixa-Chiado, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast, good price for night. Good place to stay if you are planning to spend 3-5 days in Lisabon. I will definitely choose it when I visit Portugal next time.

Room Tip: They have different rooms for men and women if you travel alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KseniaPavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

First the design of the common rooms and the sleeping rooms is good. Second the staff is very friendly and helpful. Third the atmosphere is welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. I enjoyed my stay a lot and would always come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickfeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#63 of 446 in Lisbon
87 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#14 of 446 in Lisbon
420 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 446 in Lisbon
473 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 446 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiado Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiado Hostel

Property: Shiado Hostel
Address: Rua Anchieta 5 30, Lisbon 1200-023, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 446 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiado Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiado Hostel is located in the Chiado area, the artistic and cultural soul of Lisbon, famous for its cafes the most renowned theatres and the oldest bookshops in town. A perfect spot for meeting people, having interesting conversations and relaxing in a great environment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shiado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing