We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shiado Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiado Hostel
Ranked #82 of 416 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

This place is everything I want in a hostel - clean, comfortable, close to main sights and quiet. The rooms aren't large, but are they ever in hostels? Beds have outlets for mobile phones etc. and individual lamps so that not everyone is kept awake when someone's looking for their clothes in early morning or late at night. Bathroom is cleaned several times throughout the day. Showers are push-button, but at least they last for about a minute or so per push. Good, big, soft towels available to rent. Breakfast is good - breads and croissants, cereals, juice, coffee and tea - but could use more fruit. Owners are super friendly and helpful and happy to tell travellers about the best of their city. Will definitely stay here on my next trip to LIsbon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
28
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

this is the place to be when you are in Lisbon.
Good position (100% in the center and in a quiet street), very stilish rooms (good for couples as well), confy living room for reading (book sharing) and a sunny kitchen to have breakfast.
It is the right place you have to go to live Lisbona and not spending money for sleeping (which sounds a bit ridiculous actually).

Skilled people from Lisbon at the reception to ask for good spots not to miss.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank beatmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

One of my most highly rated hostels of a three and a half month holiday throughout Europe.

The staff were professional, helpful, friendly, fun and knowledgeable. We really enjoyed staying here. The hostel is in a sensational location. Right in the heart of the Chiado, but down a quiet street, so peace and quiet is assured, as is a good night's sleep.

The entire hostel is very stylishly decorated in a minimal, modern way, yet still retains a cosy feel. The rooms were a good size and clean. The beds were really comfortable. Linen and mattresses were all in good condition.

The shared bathrooms were modern and spotless, as was the kitchen. The free breakfast was great (cereal, toast, juice, tea/coffee and a piece of fruit).

They had three computers with free internet access and headsets for Skype which were modern and fast.

My partner's only complaint was that there bathrooms are at each end of the hostel and so, depending on where your room was, you had to trudge down the hall for a night time toilet stop.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FancyPantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

This hostel was everything I expected it to be and it was great! The decor is very new and very cozy. The computers were also updated and worked really well. I was able to Skype with my BF, though they did not have a camera, just a headset and microphone. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was simple but adequate. The hostel was always very clean and the other guests were very respectful. It's a small hostel and excellent for those travelers who are looking for somewhere nice to stay on a budget and aren't interested in coming back to the hostel trashed. The rooms were simple and I felt my belongings were safe. The bathrooms were always very clean. The showers are push button and it can take awhile for the water to get warm, but it does eventually. The location of the hostel is excellent to see most of the main sites in Lisbon and in a good spot to reach public transportation. I absolutely recommend this hostel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeydoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed at in a double room at the Shiado Hostel, located right in the heart of downtown Lisbon. Location is a big deal for me so to have a hostel within walking distance of everything was a gem. Barro Alto, the bar district is like 5 min away, and so are all the restaurants. You can catch tram 28 right around the corner. The hostel is stylish, lots of art. The living room and the kitchen area is nicely decorated with a mix of Scandinavian style and antique Portuguese furniture. The owner and the people who work at the desk are very helpful. I subtracted 0.5 since the bathrooms are in the halls (hence the generous price) and the shower is one of those punch button showers. The bathrooms are very clean and all the rooms get a beam of sunlight. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matatu7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

I had been here twice, once in August 2009 with my partner and the other time in October 2009 with my sister.

This place is perfect. Especially if you like to stay out at night, whether it be wining & dining or clubbing, as it is right near Bairro Alto (bars & restaurants galore) and not far from everything else - cab rides in Lisbon are relatively cheap.

I've seen in other reviews that some think this place is pricey in comparison to other hostels. Well, yes it is, if you're comparing it to either grotty ones or those where a cab ride back is required every night or close public transport is essential to travel from! And believe me, I know, I visit Lisbon every year!

Free internet was definitely a plus (they'll even print out your boarding pass for you when you leave) and the all day free cereal (ham, cheese & bread on top for breakfast in the morning) - great for when I got back at ungodly hours, starving hungry ^_^

Overall, this place was clean, the staff were friendly, no curfews but relatively quiet a lot of the time, modern and brilliantly located.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perpetua2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

new, clean, quiet, comfortable, good deco, good location, but best of all, superb staff

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo_traveler_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#12 of 416 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#35 of 416 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#50 of 416 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 416 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiado Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiado Hostel

Property: Shiado Hostel
Address: Rua Anchieta 5 30, Lisbon 1200-023, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 416 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiado Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiado Hostel is located in the Chiado area, the artistic and cultural soul of Lisbon, famous for its cafes the most renowned theatres and the oldest bookshops in town. A perfect spot for meeting people, having interesting conversations and relaxing in a great environment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Shiado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing