We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa do Bairro by Shiadu
Ranked #8 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a wonderful little B&B in a great location! Well... it's pretty hard to find at first. Our taxi driver had a heck of a time figuring it out! Once you're there, you'll love it though! It's right in the center of Bairro Alto, and very close to many restaurants, shops, and most importantly, the tram. The staff is so friendly and helpful! They will be happy to recommend many nice restaurants and things to do. The room was nice, but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Otherwise, we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 773 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent two nights in a Deluxe room at Casa Do Bairro (not cheap at all!). I was very desappointed compared to the pictures that I had seen on the website. I expected much better. Ok, the room is ok and the people there are very nice and helpful, but:
- first, you have to find this place, litterarly in a hidden corner of Bairro Alto
- second, don't arrive too late (is 9 pm really late for Lisbon?), otherwise you are charged with 15€ extra fee
- third, as I was saying, don't expect too much from your room (forget the view, for example!). The pictures on the website can be misleading.

Next time, I'll find another place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nodoping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

So glad we found this delightful little B&B on tripadvisor. Do print out the instructions available on their website for the taxi driver from the airport. We booked their quadruple family room which was two spacious double bed bedrooms with adjoining bathroom with view of the river. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty which included fresh figs from their tree. We were greeted with a warm welcome and drink and staff spent the time helping us to plan our one full day exploring Lisboa, which included buying 6 euro tickets from the metro station (downstairs) which covered unlimited travel on the trams and buses for 24 hours and eating the famous Pasteis de Belem, Alfama, Baxia and Bairo alto districts. They booked a table for us at Pavo, lovely tapas and Fado music. Honesty fridge was fantastic, 1 euro 50 for a bottle of beer, you just help yourself and write down what you have taken. Would recommend this charming little B&B to friends and family and would stay here if we visited Lisboa again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed, 2 adults and 1 teenager, for 4 nights in July. We took advice and printed off directions to the b&b, as we weren't arriving until late. We found it very easy to get from the airport by metro and then walked to Casa do bairro, which we found straight away. Rafael was there to meet us and offer advice on where to eat that evening. Ours room was spotless and great for the 3 of us.
Breakfast was good, all staff were very friendly and keen to offer us advice on where to go and what to see, which was invaluable. We took advice on where to eat and had two fantastic meals, one tapas at Pavo and the other on the roof top restaurant at their sister hotel.
We loved being in central Lisbon and the area was perfect to explore, it was lovely getting back to a haven in the evening. We would highly recommend Casa do Bairro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Picturesque neighbourhood, Building is inventive and top-notch, personnell fantastic -thanks Nidia for a wonderful experience! Nice and big rooms, new bathroom - Perfect breakfast - at the roof top - we are coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I (two couples) stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. Having read the reviews our stay did not disappoint. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Nidia - who kindly offered us drinks, breakfast and an early check in. Breakfast was a most interesting selection of fresh fruits, pastries, cakes and pancakes! Delicious and gave us lots of energy for walking about.

Our room was fairly spacious, decorated well with interesting pieces of art (as was the rest of the B&B) Perfect place to rest our weary heads after 3 days of sightseeing and evenings spent at the Optimus Alive music festival.

The star were very polite, friendly and eager to assist with any queries. We were also invited to an afternoon soiree on the terrace where we enjoyed locally produced green wine and chorizo sausage.

On departure Nidia kindly left us a couple of treats (cakes and fruit) in the fridge for our onward journeys. :-)

If we were to visit Lisbon in the future we would certainly stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Casa de Bairro is a charming inn hidden down a small lane. The staff is warm and friendly. We enjoyed the largest room and bathroom of the five inns we stayed at in Portugal. It was immaculate. The breakfast was average.

My two criticisms are the uncomfortable bed - I could feel the springs, and the graffiti-covered neighborhood. It looked and felt dangerous, and as a woman, I would be uneasy walking in the area at night. Cleaning up the area would make a big difference. I could not recommend this inn to family and friends, given the appearance of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SierraMadretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 262 in Lisbon
719 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Tesouro da Baixa by Shiadu
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 262 in Lisbon
849 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 262 in Lisbon
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Bairro by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro by Shiadu

Address: Beco Caldeira no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-083, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $84 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses started in 2007 and is a trademark for "refined" guesthouses, combining the provision of comfort and elegance with a customer service completely dedicated to each of its customers. The Casa do Bairro by Shaidu, only a 5-minute walk away from Chiado, Bairro Alto and the No. 28 Cable Car to Alfama, opened in the spring of 2009. It was in that major apartment complex, with its 11 double, triple and family-sized suites, that our first guests got a taste of our very characteristic Lisboan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa do Bairro by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing