We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-hidden jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Bairro by Shiadu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Bairro by Shiadu to your Saves list
Casa do Bairro by Shiadu
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 187 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A well-hidden jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our room was spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The bathroom was exquisite. The breakfast was satisfactory. This B&B was terribly difficult to find as the address is a a small lane which doesn't seem to be on street maps or the GPS. Even taxi drivers seem to be unable to find it. The directions should incorporate the relevant house number and street name of the nearest residence in the neighbouring street. It was a shame that this B&B had no one in attendance on the premises for the afternoon and evening during our stay. When there the young man was helpful.

Room Tip: Ring before arriving to clarify the exact location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Soto del Real, Madrid
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

...from the rooms (which are beautifully decorated), to the location (within walking distance to everything you want to see in Lisbon), to the breakfast (a wonderful variety of delicious homemade baked sweets and savories) and most importantly your host, Magna. For us, she truly made the trip special! She was a wealth of information and always greeted us with a smile. We left knowing that we had made a new friend. Being Bed & Breakfast owners ourselves, we highly recommend staying at Casa do Bairro!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caminodesotobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have just spent the last 4 days, 5 nights at Casa do Bairro in Lisbon. The team who look after you at this B&B are quite something. Without exception, they are all charming, polite, unbelievably helpful and friendly. We just returned to our room after having dinner on our last night here at their nearby property Belvedere ( a 5 minute stroll from Casa do Bairro) where Zulmira cooked us the most delicious 4 course meal and Daniel served the food and accompanying wines ( green, white, red and Port to finish.) We have eaten in several places in Lisbon in the days we have been here, but nothing could beat this wonderful, warm experience. Our stay in Lisbon has been made all the better by the team at this great B&B and we would like to thank them all. You must stay here and you MUST have dinner cooked by Zulmira on one of your evenings in Lisbon. One of life's lovely experiences!

Room Tip: We did originally have the room at the top of the property but the sloping ceilings were an issue fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautiful spot right next to Bairro Alto. Rooms are clean, modern, quiet, warm, and very comfortable. Our room had a beautiful view out to the water as well. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

magda is a loving and very welcoming person , she advised us to exelent restaurants and venues
we are very happy to have stayed in casa bairro exelent condicions for a fair price
hope to come back tyo lisbon soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djbenvinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a sweet B&B in the middle of Bairro Alto. The location is perfect. We were able to walk everywhere! However, the best part of this place is the staff. Everybody was extremely friendly. They helped us with everything and made us feel at home.
The breakfast was great too. They had amazing little cakes :)

We are coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PintoBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast (everything homemade: jam, chocolate, bread, fresh juice), very comf. rooms, beautiful place in general, with a big lemon tree and very nice design. super location to explore Lisbon. nothing to complain at all :)))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#11 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 187 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 187 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Bairro by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro by Shiadu

Address: Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses started in 2007 and is a trademark for "refined" guesthouses, combining the provision of comfort and elegance with a customer service completely dedicated to each of its customers. The Casa do Bairro by Shaidu, only a 5-minute walk away from Chiado, Bairro Alto and the No. 28 Cable Car to Alfama, opened in the spring of 2009. It was in that major apartment complex, with its 11 double, triple and family-sized suites, that our first guests got a taste of our very characteristic Lisboan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa do Bairro by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#