We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A TOTAL RIP OFF!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna del Rey

Taverna del Rey
Ranked #3,478 of 4,053 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A TOTAL RIP OFF!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

A total rip off! Please do not eat there. They even charged us for food we didn't order! Very expensive and low quality food. I even suspect they have a different menu for tourists. A disgrace!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodnamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    52
    24
    41
    308
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

No we didn't check on TA before this meal- wish we had.
As a few of the previous reviewers mentioned this place is a tourist rip off. The meal acceptable though it was did not equal value for money. Our particular gripe was the wine. We asked for a carafe as the table adjacent to us was enjoying, a bottle arrived which we tasted & assumed would be of a similar value. On our bill the wine alone was €40. I had expected a mark up, after all the musicians have to be paid, but a grand total of €128.50 was a bit more than we had bargained for.
Please avoid this place it does not deserve your custom

Helpful?
Thank Heathernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible Tourist Rip-Off Scam”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Why O why did we listen to the taxi driver and not check TripAdvisor first? We took a taxi to Alfama and asked the driver for a suggestion where to eat...we grew suspicious right from the beginning when the taxi driver followed us into the restaurant to get his commission!! We were just so hungry that we went along with it. When we told the server that we didn't want any wine, just food, she said, "Really, why not? Are you sure?" Can you believe that.
The food was AWFUL. The prices were double. The service was terrible. This restaurant should be reported as a complete SCAM

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Animesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I wish I would have read trip advisor rather than listening to a local”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had planned on going to fado every night that I am in Lisbon (4) but Taverna del Rey has RUINED the experience for me. The food is expensive and awful. In retrospect I understand why the waitress didn't ask me how I wanted my steak cooked. She didn't even care when I told her. Then she refused to serve a glass of water, but later relented. The music was played in short three song sets with long breaks in between. My dinner was served when the musicians were playing and the lights shut off. Finally after charging 22.5 euro for the absolute worst food I have ever picked at, they charged an extra 10 Euro for a cover charge. I will just wait for touring fado performers to give concerts where I live. The music is better, the seating more comfortable, it costs less and I don't feel cheated.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cablehoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, great singers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We loved this restaurant, went there for a Fado night and had so much fun. The singers were awesome, beautiful voices! It was so nice to hear Portuguese original songs... and the food, simply delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Despegar

Helpful?
2 Thank Anie-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Rey also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taverna del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing