We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon
Ranked #82 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here with a group and found the hostel to be very basic. Three power points for a room with 7 people. A shower which leaked all over the bathroom floor. Dirty floors. I wouldn't rush back. There are many better hostels out there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The staff is amazing, great location, very clean and the breakfast is pretty good. The only drawback was the bed, which was really not comfortable. But otherwise, I would definitly come back, great value !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oni_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a private room. The hostel was very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. The receptionists spoke very good English and even gave us tips on getting public transport tickets.They did not hesitate to answer any questions that we had.

Breakfast was very basic but anyone could bring in their own food.

The supermarket/coffee-shop across the road was very handy.

The hostel was a bit difficult to find at first until we got our bearings.

Closest Metro Station is Picoas.

We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandRoseMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Visited as part of a school choir tour and took over a large percentage of the hostel. Rooms were great and modern. Breakfasts nothing special, but there's a supermarket around the corner. The packed lunches were pretty good. Few powerplugs in rooms. But overall a very modern, fun place ideally situatednear three metro stations.

Room Tip: view of the street is interesting, but from the back you can see about 1000 flats which is pretty co...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in a private room in the Unreal Hostel Lisboa and were very happy with our stay. The absence of signage made it difficult to find initially (we had to enquire with the concierge of a nearby hotel for directions), though is very close to the Picoas metro .

There was quite a wait at reception, however, this was largely because we had booked the wrong dates (clever!) and the Unreal team were only too happy to sort this out for us. If you intend on using the air-conditioning and hostel towels, be sure to mention this at check-in as each attracts a bond (€20 and €5 each, respective).

The room was basic, modern, clean and with a small balcony. Wifi access in the room was excellent - we were able to use laptop, 2 x iPhones and iPad simultaneously with ease and even made clear FaceTime calls. Breakfast of toast, cereal, coffee/tea is served daily 8-10am and great to kick-start your day in the city.

The Lisbon Metro is an absolute pleasure to use and the hostel is only a few stops from the centre of everything (€1.60 for a single trip or €6 for a day ticket which covers bus, tram and metro).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brickandpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here this month. I stayed for four nights in a private room with an ensuite. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nothing special so I bought my own bread and it was fine. The Metro is 20 seconds away and you have an ATM and supermarket across the street for convenience. I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is all about good service and the staff speak good english and are very kind. The rooms are cleaned everyday and it shows. Downside the rooms are extremely noisy and for that reason and that reason only I will pay more money to go to an actual hotel to get a good sleep. The staff is great, the rooms are great if only they paid more attention to the guests who make so much noise in the middle of the night - I might consider coming back for a third time...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hub Lisbon Patio Hostel
#57 of 484 in Lisbon
32 reviews
Nest House Lisbon Hostel
#55 of 484 in Lisbon
47 reviews
Easy Lisbon Hostel
#78 of 484 in Lisbon
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music Hall Lisbon Hostel
#176 of 484 in Lisbon
51 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
Lisbon Forever Hostel
#98 of 484 in Lisbon
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon

Address: Rua Pedro Nunes 10, Lisbon 1050-171, Portugal (Formerly Unreal Hostel Lisboa)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 484 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $21 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon is a great place to go to if you want to have a fun stay in Lisbon's city centre. Either if you decide to go out or stay in at night, you'll have a good time anyway! We offer cheap beds in basic rooms, perfect for students, backpackers and other young travelers. As we provide over 150 beds, we're also a great hostel to host groups! You can book private rooms as well as a bed in a dormitory (from 4 up to 10 people). We are located in Lisbon's city centre, right next to the Parque Eduardo VII, a great place to hang out with a group of (new) friends in Summer. Bars and restaurants are located around the hostel. If you want to go to the old city centre, it is about a 20 minutes' walk over the big boulevard 'Avenida da Liberdade', or 5-10 minutes by Metro, which is located close to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing