We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Portuguese restaurant”
Review of Mae Restaurante

Mae Restaurante
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #32 of 5,523 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Description: Because we know that the best moments are associated with good food and the people we love the most. Portuguese cuisine at its best.
Restaurant details
Description: Because we know that the best moments are associated with good food and the people we love the most. Portuguese cuisine at its best.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

This place was recommended to us by our hotel near the Saldanha area and what a great recommendation it was. The waiting staff couldn't have been more accommodating with providing an English menu for us non Portuguese speakers. Both beef and lamb main dishes were sumptuous, beautifully presented and full of flavour. The wine list was wide ranging and provided a welcome insight to the quality of Portuguese wine, much under rated I feel.

Price was reasonable (by UK standards), fully recommended. Shut on Sundays though, as otherwise we would have returned!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mãe C, Gestor de Front Office at Mae Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for you feedback! We hope to see you soon! Thank you for your recomendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Found this restaurant on TA, we got there at 1930 so a bit early by Portuguese standards and it felt a bit lifeless. However once it filled up had a nice buzz with great food. Some good Portugueses traditional dishes including deserts! Had a good wine selection and our bill for two was not a shock to the wallet at all. I would recommend it for sure

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank forest149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mãe C, Gestor de Front Office at Mae Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for you feedback! We hope to see you soon! Thank you for your recomendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We went late one evening because it was close to our holiday apartment and expected the” usual” .. but oh no, these 3 owners are all involved intimately and the food is amazing plus reasonable.their motto is “ like mum cooks” as the name suggests.. they have used old family recipes. Very special presentatations, great service,not the usual ham/cheese/cod.. oh no.. you must go!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank RenateB412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mãe C, Gestor de Front Office at Mae Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for you feedback! We hope to see you soon! Thank you for your recomendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Very good local food, really! Also you should try the interesting wine list and gentle + helpful staff. we had an excellent evening thanks to you guys! totally recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudyLamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mãe C, Gestor de Front Office at Mae Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for you feedback! We hope to see you soon! Thank you for your recomendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

We visited here on a Monday. Many places near our Hotel were closed on a Monday so after reading reviews we decided to book at Mae. We saw it opened at 19:30. Fearing we had not booked a table we arrived promptly at 19:30. We was the first people in there but it got busier from 20:00 . The staff were very efficient and helpful. The food was delicious. The meat lamb cutlets and steak cooked to perfection. The best fries and sweet potato fries I have eaten in a long time. A reasonable price (very cheap local Beer)

A good venue for a quiet, relaxed dinner. Not as busy and lively as other places we visited in Lisbon.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 522dannym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mãe C, Gestor de Front Office at Mae Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for you feedback! We hope to see you soon! Thank you for your recomendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae Restaurante also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Mae Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing