We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went back again...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel
Ranked #159 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Mysen, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Went back again...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I wrote about Veneza before.
Well, we went back again, and the status is the same: Good price, clean room, nice staff. The rugs are still a little bit worn out, but so are mine at home too, so I guess I´m used to it....
OK, the air condition did not work optimally, but I am glad for that: It is easy to turn it on all the way up when the temperature is above 25 C, and that´s when you really get sick. So thanks for not working so well.

Otherwise the breakfast is still overpriced, we get a good one in a coffeehouse some 100 m down the street.

The staff is very helpful too, we had a light problem when we needed to extend our stay for a week, but the General Manager dona Carla solved our problems in a blink.

I still cannot understand why some people complain about the staff... In Portugal, you need to give a smile to receive one. That shouldn´t be difficult to achieve?

Room Tip: As usual: Second floor and not facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watergeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    140
    83
    27
    7
See reviews for
31
167
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The positive side of this hotel is the location. The rooms are relatively clean.
However, I did not like the staff at the reception desk. They first put us in a tiny room with a window looking at other windows - in the sense that you could literally reach the windows opposite your room just by stretching your arm. (They did change our room to a better one - although not a really nice one - when we requested it). One male concierge was really awkward: he did not speak to me (a female), but only spoke to my male partner even when I was the one speaking directly to him. We asked him to suggest a nice, relatively cheap, non-touristy place to eat near by, and he gave us a leaflet for an obviously very touristy, very expensive place across the town. All in all, we felt that he really treated us like we were stupid tourists just waiting to be scammed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMilica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in late May 2012 as a start to our month long trip through Portugal.

We enjoyed our stay here.

The hotel is clean and the room we had was a good size.
Although the hotel is on a busy street, there are trees that act as a sound buffer.
There was a small balcony that served as a clothesline for our laundry; it dried very well.
A great positive is that the bus from the airport stops about 2 blocks from the hotel. The bus fare is only 3.5€ per person, much cheaper than a cab.
The location is ideal for sight seeing; only a 10 minute walk from the water front.

On the negative side,

they charge 8€ per person for breakfast which is really expensive. As you exit the front door of the hotel, turn right and there is a fabulous pastry shop 100 yards down the street on the same side as the hotel where you can have a breakfast of pastry and coffee for 2 for about 6€.

they charge for internet access. Hotels have to get over this policy. Even small family run B&B's in rural northern Portugal provided free WiFi in common areas.

the bed was rock hard. Both of us had sore hips after spending 4 nights here

all in all a pretty good place to stay in Lisbon. Include breakfast in cost of the room, add WiFi for free in common areas, soften the mattresses and it would be an excellent choice far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked in for three nights; first night got a tiny rooftop room with single pane windows and heard every car going down the avenue. Second night had a room in the back hoping for quiet night.

When I returned from dinner after a rainy evening, found the carpet soaking by the window and the rather unpleasant stink of wet flooring. Had a friend booked to stay here too but their room was also flooded so had to be re roomed in another hotel.

Staff was very friendly and offered breakfast for my inconvenience but not sure I will be up in time to enjoy there offer as it is almost three in the AM and disco music has been blaring for the last few hours...

Too many good hotels in Lisbon to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvkt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Mysen, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I read some of the reviews from other travellers, and I really do not understand why people are so negative.
Well, it´s thrue that the hotel has seen better days, and the carpets are a bit worn-out. On the other hand, the rooms were clean and the personal were kind – being born in Portugal, I know how Portuguese people think, and they are not rude unless the guest is rude towards them. My advice is to smile when you talk to them, even if you know that you are right and they are way out wrong. It helps, believe me.

Positive: Clean, helpfull staff, central in town.

The only negative thing about this hotel is that they charge €8,50 per person for breakfast. Not far from the hotel, going down the street, stop at the nearest coffee shop. Ask for a "galao" and a "tosta mista", and you´ll get a glass of coffee with milk (yes, a glass) and a toast with ham and cheese for less then €4 per person.

And if you like good Portuguese food at a low price, just keep on walking down the avenue until it gets narrow. Then cross the street and walk in the small street in front of you. On the right hand there is a restaurant called Sol Dourado. My favorite.

Room Tip: The higher up in the building, the better. And if you don´t mind, choose a room that opens to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watergeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel was booked by the love of my life and following our stay I loved her just a little bit less. We stayed here for the first 3 nights as part of a 7 night stay in and around Lisbon. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very young chap in an ill fitting suit and his demeanour was somber and uninterested to say the least. Our room was on the small size and the air con unit blew a token gesture breeze that meant I would at least shed a few pounds during the stay. When we mentioned that the air con unit was not working correctly were we met with two grunts and a shrug of the shoulders by the 666 scribed teen. Upon requesting a fork and knife one evening I was informed that it was 'against hotel policy' to lend such items. The location of the hotel was good and the customer service of the young chaps actually became quite an amusing experience. Were they just uncomfortable in their changing bodies or were they just rude, unhelpful gits? Wht underpinned the stay was the feeling that we were not welcome and our comfort was bottom of the staffs list of concerns The nice staircase is ropped off also, nicht gut.

Room Tip: Not at the VIP Veneza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Travel Park
#99 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#189 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#138 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dom Carlos Liberty Lisboa
#123 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
#151 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#116 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel

Property: Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal (Formerly VIP Inn Veneza Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel is located on Avenida da Liberdade, one of the main arteries of the Portuguese capital. Its privileged location allows you to reach the historic center and emblematic areas as Baixa, Bairro Alto and Alfama in a few minutes. The hotel benefits from the proximity to renowned local businesses and shops of the most famous international brands as well as monuments, bars and pubs, typical restaurants, recreational spaces for culture and leisure. All provided with an excellent network of public transport (train, bus and metro). Lisbon Airport is at approximately 10 minutes away either by taxi or car. In the Hotel's surroundings, you can also enjoy the belvederes that provide an amazingly panoramic view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing