We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel Ever”
Review of Home Lisbon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Lisbon Hostel
Ranked #2 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hostel Ever”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great Hostel Great Staff Great Fun! Definitely recommended. Mama's dinners are amazing and great price too. Had alot of fun here and met great people. All of the facilities are great: bathrooms, beds, kitchen, etc. Best value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisPManso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    51
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
44
239
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lomnice nad Popelkou, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I´ve already been in many hostels around Europe but I can honestly say this hostel was the best I´ve ever been! Very friendly and helpful staff, perfect mamma´s dinners, lovely atmosphere, cozy living room etc...I´ve enjoyed my time there the most and I am pretty sure next time when I will go to Lisbon I will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marketaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this hostel, it really was wonderful! Amazing and friendly staff, free breakfast, cosy atmosphere, pretty decor, super clean and in a great location. Dinner with Mama is a MUST DO and was probably the highlight of my stay.. it was a great way to meet people and being a vegetarian she cooked me separate meals to everyone else which was just lovely.. loved her! Don't hesitate, book to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Home Lisbon is one of the best hostels I´ve been to. People there are very kind. Enjoy Mama´s dinner at least once, delicious (about 10 euros). Confortable and clean beds, large locker and power plug available in all beds. Bracellets instead of security cards to open door is much more handy. Breakfast is also very good. Join the cool schedule of activities pub craw, fado´s night, free walking tours... guides crew are very nice also! (In a few nights people in my room were very noisy, but it is a little bit of bad luck... ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaKiyuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Home Lisbon Hostel is very highly regarded on Trip Advisor and Hostel World, and from experience, it deserves every bit of it. The hostel is located in a safe, nice part of town, central to most shopping areas, public transportation, several sights and attractions, and the ocean, all of which are accessible within a short walk.

The hostel itself is very cozy inside. It is very clean, and it definitely still feels like a "home" rather than a hotel. The hostel is just big enough that it attracted several guests from all over the world, but small enough that you could still meet people and enjoy good company.

Momma, the sweet owner, truly makes you feel like you are at home. She cooks almost every night of the week, and it is authentic, homemade, healthy, and quite delicious for only 10euro. The meals are usually 4 courses (appetizer, soup/salad, main course, and dessert) and they definitely bring everyone together. The meal comes with free beer and sangria, and if that isn't enough, the fully stocked bar has decent happy hour prices as well.

I just happened to be traveling when a group of Brazilian women were traveling and they insisted on giving everyone free dance lessons, so we turned the dinner floor into a dance floor shortly after the meal.

That is just the type of place this is- when you are here, you feel at home, and that is comforting when you are traveling in a foreign land. I would definitely stay here again and thoroughly enjoyed my time at this hostel; one of those places you are definitely said to be leaving.

Room Tip: All rooms have an AC unit. I slept in a 6 bedroom mixed dorm and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewSkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Home Lisbon Hostel has been the best Hostel i have ever stayed in. Besides its great location, what stroke me the most was the "homey" feeling i got during my stay. Having dinner with Mamma should be mandatory! it is a unique experience. I know this sounds a bit of a cliche, but home lisbon hostel is truly your home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcial b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesimbra, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wonderfull experience. The hostel is very well located right in the downtown, its very clean and sooo comfortable. All the staff is very friendly and helpfull, and they all contribute to this great socialization enviroment that the hostel has. Brilliant place

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Acrendof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 234 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#6 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lisbon Hostel

Property: Home Lisbon Hostel
Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau 13 2 Esq., Lisbon 1100-547, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located in Lisbons historic center with the main attractions within walking distance. We provide a great atmosphere and many activities, like walking tours, pub crawls and the very famous Mammas Dinners where you can easily meet many people and socialize even if travelling alone. In a 200 year old building we have a lovely comfortable living room, a dinning room with a bar, a great kitchen, a patio and most importantly, great beds in spacious rooms, all with balconies or big windows. We provide big lockers to keep your valuables. Come experience our unique atmosphere and discover Lisbon with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Home Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing