We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews, this place is a GEM!”
Review of Home Lisbon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home Lisbon Hostel
Ranked #2 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews, this place is a GEM!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Traveled as a group of four friends and spent approximately 4 nights in Home Lisbon hostel in June 2012. It's a great concept, we talked to Andre who told us that when you're "home" mama cooks and you get your laundry done - for free! Yes. The beds, bathrooms and all common areas were incredibly clean and the showers always hot with good water pressure. I guess if you're not used to sharing bathrooms with your brothers, the idea of unisex bathrooms might be a little off-putting but it was never a problem, and none of us have had to wait for a toilet/shower during our stay.

Other mentionables: the free wifi, a communal computer, free DVD rentals, and we highly recommend doing mama's dinner at least once (10 Euros)! We sat down with other people at the hostel, got served Portuguese food and drinks, and it was a great way to kinda sliiiiide into the pub crawl (15 Euros?). Between the four of us, we have cumulatively stayed at many hostels and this - by far - has wonderful people, great location close to the water and a 5 minute walk to Alto, is very safe (lockers included and 24 hour reception), amazingly soundproof (seriously), and clean, clean, clean. The decor in the hostel is like you're in someone's lovely little home: dark hardwood floors, high-ceilings, antique picture frames, comfy couches. We were IMPRESSED. When we were there, they were doing some renovations and apparently this place is supposed to expand for next year (double bedrooms, ensuites, separated bathrooms, a whole new floor maybe, Andre?). We will definitely be back! It's a place that I would stay at again with my boyfriend or even my budget-minded family. Great concept, great value, wonderful people.

Can't sing its praises enough. Deserving of 5 stars!

Much love,

Rowena (Canada), Leah (Canada), Gina (Holland), Karin (Sweden).

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor and splurged for a deluxe room: great view. First floor rooms could be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    53
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
44
250
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hostel was very close to everithing that matters and the subway.
Excelent staff, bads, showers. The dinner option was amazing, becouse you could get to know the portuguese food and drink some sangria for only 10 euros.
I recomend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cássia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Campania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed in many hostels around Europe and this hostel blew them all out of the water. I was mentally preparing myself for a normal hostel and then when I arrived I felt like I had won the lottery. Not was the place clean, safe and had wonderful beds, but the staff was above and beyond awesome and Mama's dinner was absolutely amazing. When I go back to Lisbon, there is absolutely no other place I am going to stay. Truly lives up to its name!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hostel was absolutely phenomenal. The rooms and bathrooms were impeccably clean. We had a room with a gorgeous view. Mama is delightful and tries to speak to every person staying there. The breakfast is comparable to a hotel spread is delicious and hot. you have to spring for it and try Mama's dinner which she serves every night. It's traditional Portuguese food that is to die for, absolutely delicious. It's served with sangria and a dessert. The people I met there were amazing too, making the stay all the better. Plus, it was only 13 euros a night, an unbelievable deal. Couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Clean, excellent location, great common area, big bathrooms. Don't miss the Mama's Dinner, a traditional portuguese meal, made by the owner's mom. You'll really feel like home :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I can´t even put into words how amazing this place is. I was only there 2 days and felt like I had known the staff forever. They were absolutely lovely and super helpful and fun. I was vey nervous about travelling alone but they made me feel at ease. Really funky place, very cosy and met lots of cool people. I had one of the best meals I have ever had in my life MAMMA´s DINNER IS A MUST!!!! You must also go on the pub crawl with Ricardo (aka Leonardo Davinci) and Gabriel they are loads of fun and will have you laughing. Was and still am very sad to have left, wanted to live there. Thanks guys for an amazing stay love you all :) x

Rach R (Aussie) x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was without doubt the coziest and nicest hostel I've visited so far. I also made a lot of friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 468 in Lisbon
268 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 468 in Lisbon
566 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 468 in Lisbon
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lisbon Hostel

Property: Home Lisbon Hostel
Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau 13 2 Esq., Lisbon 1100-547, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located in Lisbons historic center with the main attractions within walking distance. We provide a great atmosphere and many activities, like walking tours, pub crawls and the very famous Mammas Dinners where you can easily meet many people and socialize even if travelling alone. In a 200 year old building we have a lovely comfortable living room, a dinning room with a bar, a great kitchen, a patio and most importantly, great beds in spacious rooms, all with balconies or big windows. We provide big lockers to keep your valuables. Come experience our unique atmosphere and discover Lisbon with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Home Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing