We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True to its namesake thru and thru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lisbon Chillout Hostel
Ranked #111 of 432 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True to its namesake thru and thru”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent a large portion of my summer 2013 at the Lisbon Chillout Hostel. The staff are informative, outgoing and interesting people from around the globe. The hostel encompasses is guests within its laid back, homelike environment. You can also enjoy an authentic Portuguese dinner with great company and a great price, one of my favorites was the beef stew, request it!
The top floor balcony offers a sweet view day and night and it was my favorite place to hangout. I meet some incredible artists at the Chillout Hostel as well as new friends that I've kept in touch with since my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    49
    23
    13
    16
See reviews for
4
24
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Extremely friendly staff, willing to help with anything. The accommodation was comfortable, as this was my first hostel experience. We booked a private room, but it had six beds in it--just more pillows and blankets for us! It was interesting sharing bathrooms, and the bathrooms on the first and second floor seemed to be cleaner than the third floor. My only critique is that there was no light switch in our bedroom... had to go outside of the room to turn the lights on and off. Never seen that before.

Overall, good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enc0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We like location of hostel and there are also very nice people. We shared 9 bed room but it wasn´t as clean as we expected. When we came they didn´t have lockers for us, but they brought some soon :-) So this hostel is really nice place with helpful staff if you want to stay in Lisbon for few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb_Babo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Never before have I felt at home at a hostel so quickly before, the staff were really good to help you with anything. The location is in the middle of the most important attractions, and close to metro and bus, to pretty much everywhere else. They had a lot of free activities to do with the staff and, or the other guests. The rooms were nice, the kitchen was neat and clean, and the chill out places such as, the living room, reception, garden and roof top terrace. Was all good. It might be a little hard to find it. But if you find the steepest hill in Lisboa then you have found the Chill out hostel.
I had a good time and can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

this is such a great value accommodation! nestled amongst the up hill streets of Lisbon, Chillout Hostel offers all the basic things you need when you are traveling solo.
You really feel like you are very much at home and comfortable. The receptionists were always very helpful and friendly - one of them even recommended me a great massage place!
The only minus was the shared bathroom - although I found that it wasnt such a big deal.. it was clean - just a bit tiny.

Great and fun stay! You will meet people when you stay here for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved our stay in this hostel! We spend 5 days here and was all worth it! Friendly, helpfull staff, easy to talk to. Good atmosphere, nice spots to hang out with other guests/backpackers, made a lot of friends here! Definitely recommend this hostel if u want to make some friends during your travels!;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lisbon Chillout Hostel is a really nice place to stay in Lisbon. It is very welcoming, the staff is super nice and nicely located. It is not directly in the touristic centre, which I appreciated, yet close enough to all major sights. The hostel has a lovely garden, a nice kitchen, clean rooms and bathrooms, and the wifi always works well. They have a simple breakfast, but it’s free, so you can’t complaint! They also organise activities at the hostel and it’s a great place to meet other travelers. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloutierc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Shiado Hostel
Shiado Hostel
#87 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Easy Lisbon Hostel
#68 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#36 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liv'in Lisbon Hostel
#35 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Principe Real
Arty Hostel
Arty Hostel
#70 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Jardim de Santos Hostel
#178 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Chillout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Chillout Hostel

Property: Lisbon Chillout Hostel
Address: Rua Nogueira e Sousa no. 8, Lisbon 1150-237, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 432 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Lisbon Chillout Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lisbon Chillout Hostel is a true Lisbon hostel. Located in the city centre and with a beautiful city garden this is the ideal place to relax and have fun. Located in a traditional Lisbon neighbourhood this Lisbon hostel offers guests and authentic hostel experience.We are located at walking distance from the famous city landmarks. Public transport is just around the corner and in the direct area of the hostel there are many bars and restaurants.Opened in 2008, the Lisbon Chillout Hostel is suited for all travellers. Always happy to welcome new travellers and to take you along on our adventures in the city. Daily events are planned; including free tours, typical portugese meals and music in the garden.The true hostel spirit is of great importance to us, that along with modern comfort. We offer free WI-FI throughout the hostel and our common areas are there for our guests to meet eachother and share experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lisbon Chillout Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing