We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I have stayed in!”
Review of Rossio Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rossio Hostel
Ranked #54 of 504 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I backpacked Europe for two months, and stayed in many hostels, and this was one of the best, by far. The hostel is very centrally located; it's just off Rossio Square, which is convent for much of the public transportation, and is just above the historical areas. There are many places to eat nearby, also. The hostel is very secure; the door to the floor with the rooms always stays locked. There are separated male/female bathrooms, for those of you who appreciate that. The rooms were very nice, with ample storage space under the bed for your bags. Lisbon can get very hot, but there were multiple windows in my room and a fan. Rossio really took care of us. The staff was very helpful in showing us where the sights were and how to get to them. They also offer a free breakfast each morning, which includes a choice of scrambled eggs or Nutella crepes. In the hostel world, this is a real rarity. Overall, Rossio is incredible, and for the price, completely unbeatable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwmax54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 183 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have to confess I'm not a hostel user and that it had been at least 15 years since my last stay at one, but this one was a great option. The place is new and it's location is really unbeatable!
The guys at the hostel were extremely helpful wih tips and free maps, in order to make the best out of our short saty in Portugal, specially Bobby. Now, as usual I'm going to list the PROS and CONS to make it easier for you to make a choice:

PROS:
- Value, really good
- Location
- Breakfast was great
- Friendly staff
- Bathrooms are spacious and very clean
- New! It still shows how recently built it was
- Big/Spacious rooms

CONS:
To tell you the truth, couldn't find any. Everything was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

excellent location, located right in the middle of lisbon centre.
rooms very neat and clean and stuff very helpful, also very good and rich breakfast.
i would recommend this place even for the price .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excellent location within short walk to all you'd like to see in Lisbon. Staff was very friendly and there are lots of social mixing events integrated with other hostels and Rossio itself. Is located in the train station but inside the hostel you have NO idea you're in such a building. Furnishings in the rooms are all modern and most likely from Ikea...great clean feel and open atmosphere, would definitely recommend to anyone going to Lisbon! Fast free internet!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDisberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed four nights at Rossio Hostel and couldn't say enough about the place. The location is perfect, in front of Rossio Square, the subway station is just across the street. The staff is friendly and helpful, specially the lady that prepares the breakfast. Double rooms are nice, clean and have an awesome view to Saint George's Castle. The bathrooms are shared, but they were always clean as well. There's no lift at the hostel though, so be prepared to climb some stairs!
I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaMariaCarreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The best hostel I've ever stayed. Everyone there is very friendly. I stayed on the double room and found that was big enough, very clean, no closet, though.
Lots of stairs and no lifts, but that wasn't really a problem.
I'll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmorwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Rossio Patio and its people definitely make my trip to Lisbon from 24-29/12/2011 memorable. I have been traveling the world for past 10 years and this is the best hostel of all, i must confess: very clean, modern, comfortable and well-located. Especially the owner, Mr Joao who is so friendly and caring. He cooked and welcomed us to join his Xmas food, guided us very carefully what to do/where to go in Lisbon. I am also impressed by Mr. Mileu who guided us a tour to Sintra town and the most Western point of Europe. What an AMAZING trip! Thanks to all staff here who make me feel like home. I would definitely comeback here when possible and recommend this hostel to my friends.

Lam Nguyen (Vietnam)

Room Tip: You can choose any kind of room here. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. It's good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngoclam1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#200 of 255 in Lisbon
225 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 255 in Lisbon
536 reviews
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#101 of 255 in Lisbon
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossio Hostel

Address: Calcada do Carmo 6, Lisbon 1200-091, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 504 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $21 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Rossio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing