We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel
Ranked #167 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
29
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

great location only problem is you have to ring telephone number on door to get someone to let you in.The person arrived after about 20 minutes, this was the only down side.we were on the 3rd floor. The bedroom was good ensuite bathroom & shower.Bed room furniture Ikea basic . we stayed 4 nights great value, breakfast shared with other guests....interesting!. overall good value for money you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daftdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

As high-lighted, this hostel is on the 4th floor of a building, without an elevator. There was also no name of the hostel at the entrance - a helpful staff from the neighbouring restaurant confirmed the location.

We had booked a Private Twin Ensuite room but have to settle for a double as someone had taken our room. The double room we stayed in was very warm (due to air circulation, not weather), even with a tower fan. There were no shelves/furniture for us to put our stuff as only hanging fabric shelves and a clothes rack were provided and balancing our toiletries in them was quite a task.

A simple breakfast was provided in the kitchen - bread/margarine/jam/cereals/fruit juice.

Aside from our room disappointment, the hostel was very well located, right on the pedestrian area of Baxia and the nearby metro and bus stops were very convenient. Getting to and from the airport was a breeze, both the airport bus and the local buses have stops nearby (we took the local bus which was cheaper as we only have back-packs).

We enjoyed our stay in lovely Lisbon very much, many thanks to the kind and friendly people we met.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

My sister and I visited Lisboa from late May into June. This was my first hostel stay experience, and if this is what they're about, I'm all in!

Karim at Sweet Home hostel is super nice. I reserved the room online, but my card was not charged until I was installed in my room. We chose a private double room, with a private bathroom. Everything was very clean and staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Karim provided detailed information on the best beaches, restaurants, must-see attractions... he was always helpful, and responded to every email. Oh yeah, there's free Wi-Fi too!

The only drawback is that it's on the 5th floor, so if you have a lot of luggage it's a bit tough to get up there. But again, being that we were two girls, Karim helped us with that too.

Location is ideal, close to shopping, Rossio, all the train stations... Short of staying right in Cascais and hitting the beach daily, we couldn't have picked a better place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elis317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the double bed with ensuite room for 4 nights. It was in a perfect location - easy to get to and from the airport, central to all the attractions, restaurants, and cafes. The room was clean and well taken care of. The bathroom was large - although we did find that there wasn't a lot of hot water by 9:30am. The kitchen had new appliances. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank _jennyferjuniper_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Very affordable hostel, which is fresh and has the necessary facilities. Located very central in the area Baxia. By far the biggest asset is the hostel owner Karim, who gives tips about the city and answer any questions regarding excursions oh restaurants.

We had a great weekend,

thank Lisbon and Karim.

Br

H & M

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik_och_Misha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

This hostel is very centrally located, walking distance to all the amenities.

Rooms are clean and big enough. The hostel is very quiet, ideal for couples not so much for backpackers who want to meet people.

It's very good value for money as all the rooms are brand new and very clean. However, the staff is a bit unhelpful as I asked for parking info before arrival and they never responded. We were asked for estimated arrival time twice and then when we actually arrived there was nobody there to let us into the room, and we waited an hour and a half to get the room.

Be aware that there is only one bathroom for 6 rooms, so there is often a bit of a queue. I would recommend going for the en-suite rooms which are newer and only a few euro more.

Overall very good value for money, but you do get what you pay for at just 40 euro per room per night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Happy Hostel
Lisbon Happy Hostel
#70 of 406 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Feel Lisbon B&B
Feel Lisbon B&B
#88 of 406 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
5 SINS Chiado Hostel
5 SINS Chiado Hostel
#190 of 406 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
Vistas de Lisboa Hostel
#246 of 406 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel

Property: Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel
Address: Rua dos Correeiros 161, Lisbon 1100-164, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Sweet Home Hospedagem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing