We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty nice gourmet restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volver de Carne Y Alma

Volver de Carne Y Alma
Reserve with
Volver de Carne Y Alma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 4,023 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Improbable" is the motto of Volver Meat Y Soul, with a challenging mix between Argentina and Portugal. With a sober but relaxed decor, the restaurant VOLVER is known for the quality of the aged beef (20 and 40 days) for the desserts signed by Joaquim Sousa, for the irreverent proposals, for the "caliente" nights of Tango and for the the main passion: to involve all those who visit the place in a complete experience. With João Oliveira, as new chief executive, VOLVER is a place where Argentina and Portugal blend improbably. Portugal is not only "fish and fado" and Argentina is not only "meat and tango". These are unique cultures and cuisines, and their mixture results in a unique melody that Volver plays fiercely. An unpretentious food restaurant that likes to make a difference, to create, innovate and dazzle all the visitors with its own Soul.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty nice gourmet restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me and my wife went to Quinta dos Frades during Lisbon Restaurant Week, so we didn't have plenty of dishes to chose from, since the menu was limited. The food was very good with many different tastes nicely mixed together. The decoration is good and there's sufficient room for you not to eat with your elbows touching the client next to you as it happens in many of these restaurants. The location is not very attractive but it's easy to get there using the underground or by car (it's easy to park the car here).
The prices are acceptable, although we specifically payed the price of Lisbon Restaurant Week menu.
A nice choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    125
    42
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel. Having tried restaurants recommended in our guide books, we were thrilled to find this excellent restaurant serving portuguese food with a modern twist. We were so impressed by the food and service that we returned for a second visit. The food was superbly cooked and the restaurant staff were helpful and charming but their service discrete.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alges, Portugal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Far from the center with average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We paid more than 30€ in taxi to go to this restaurant, far from the center. The food is only ok with good service and a beat expensive. Don't recommend because the taxi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gloria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

On one of my recent visits to Portugal, Me and my husband went for a lovely dinner at this fantastic restaurant which had been recommended by a friend. The service was attentive but discret and the food excellent! We ate some lovely portuguese delicacies as entrees, followed by beautifully cooked fresh fish. The choice of wines was great too. I would recomend this lovely restaurant for any occasion as it has areas where you can have some privacy and others for larger groups. We were almost the last guests to leave and we never felt rushed to finish our evening quickly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unlikely location for one of the best retaurant in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a business lunch there. The place is run by Chakall, a local celebrity chef that has his TV show and all kind of endorsement deals for whom I care very little. I actually had a negative preconceived idea. But this place is by miles ahead the best restaurant I have experienced in Lisbon. It could have a Michelin star. Everything is perfect, from food to service, space between tables etc. It is on the outskirts of Lisbon in a weird location. But once you're inside, the staff is professional and discrete... Love it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volver de Carne Y Alma also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Volver de Carne Y Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing