We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this hostel to anyone, it's only €5 a night.”

Residencia Oliveira
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencia Oliveira
Ranked #294 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Silves, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would recommend this hostel to anyone, it's only €5 a night.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I don't know how anyone can complain about this hostel, it's €5 a night.
The man and woman, were very polite, Luis could not do enough for me and my husband, friendly, chatty. Clean bedding and room, secure as you have your own key so you can leave your possessions there all day. Had a really nice time here. Would recommend this hostel to anyone. Very close to the tube and train station too. easy too find too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent a night there, the owner was the rudest person we met in a 7 weeks trip, he pretended his credit card machine was broken so he could get cash and the whole place was disgusting there was pee all over the bathroom, in the sink, on the floor, around the toilet itself, it smelled bad and there is a whole family living there that is pretty depressing, one old parent is sick and coughing all the time, the internet only works at the entrance on a run down couch that is dirty and uncomfortable, avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: avoid this place at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why this place has only 2 stars?! Had a lovely stay here with my family in 2 double rooms for a week.. The 2 ppl who look after the place are lovely and speak good English. We were put in rooms close to each other 'as requested' which also had 2 extra beds, a wardrobe and a sink. Mine even had a balcony :) the toilet is literally across the little corridor with a shower and bathtub. Electric heaters are in the rooms if it gets abit chilly. Free wifi was available :) n a computer, tv, n tea coffee facilities in a room adjacent to the double room..Kitchen facilities and a little lounge an another toilet upstairs. Really nice shops n restaurants nearby and also a hairdressing salon , mini market ..2min walk down the street.. Had an amazing stay in Lisbon n hopefully one day will be back again..n to the two lovely people who look after the place..Thank You!!! :D Perfect if your on a budget and need a comfortable n convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess_WiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not only the place was a little scarier and not very clean looking, the owner was rude and kind of making fun of us when we got there on a Sat night a couple of weeks ago after calling 3 times to advise him we where on the road and we were going to get there late, he waited for us to announce that he didn't have place on his hostel, even though we had a reservation and already paid part of the cost...
He made us get to his hostel first!! it took us forever to find the address on a big city like Lisbon only to announce that we needed to go to this other hostel very far away...when we complain he got cockie saying the owner wasn't there and he didn't have any responsibility... while he was smiling telling us what part we didn't understand? we must go! he doesn't have room for us, period...if we got any complaint go ahead and write on the Internet! (those where literally his words)

At this point it was so late we didn't have another option than to take this other place, not easy to find room for 4 after 12am on a Sat night and he knew that.
It took us another hour to find this other hostel, where they confirmed that he is in fact the owner of Residencia Oliveira.
This other place was cleaner and not scary looking but very far away from the bars and amenities area, maybe better for families?
In fact the only few guest at this other place were there by the same procedure, booked online Residencia Oliveira and they got redirected there...
Be aware travelers!! what you may book online can not be real!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

When we first arrived we just wished this wasn't Recidencia Oliveira... The hostel is situated near to the Santa Apollonia train station, in an alley that seems a little too dangerous at night. We knocked the door and after we opened it there was a long and dark staircase. As we stated climbing it we hoped that we were mistaken and this wasn't the hostel. It was.

The receptionist was barely speaking english so we found it a little hard to communicate. The hostel was like a big apartment-house with many corridors. There were some bathrooms here and there and then we climbed some stairs and found ourseves on a nice terrace, where another corridor was, where our room was.

It was a private small (cell-like) double room, with a sink and two beds. It wasn't the cleanest room ever, but it was fine for 2 nights. Then I tried to charge my camera, but the plug fell on the floor and we couldn't put it back-it kept falling off. Also the window didn't close well and to be honest, we didn't feel as safe as possible at night.

The toilet-shower on our floor (on the terrace) was adequately clean.

iN general the hostel generated us negative feelings and we wouldn't recommend it, as for the same money (15 euros per person per night) we could have found better, for sure.

  • Liked — that we only had to stay there for 2 summernights
  • Disliked — that it freaked us out
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jovanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Graca & Sao Vicente
Sant'Alfama
Sant'Alfama
#176 of 445 in Lisbon
8 reviews
Graca & Sao Vicente
Lisboa Arte Hostel
Lisboa Arte Hostel
#198 of 445 in Lisbon
1 reviews
Graca & Sao Vicente
Sweet Lisbon Guesthouse
Sweet Lisbon Guesthouse
#55 of 238 in Lisbon
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Graca & Sao Vicente
Alfama River Apartments
Alfama River Apartments
#234 of 445 in Lisbon
17 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Alfama Terrace
Alfama Terrace
#97 of 445 in Lisbon
30 reviews
Graca & Sao Vicente
Hello Lisbon Santa Apolonia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Oliveira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Oliveira

Property: Residencia Oliveira
Address: Rua dos Caminhos de Ferro 70 20, Lisbon 1100-108, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Oliveira 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residencia Oliveira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing