We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hostel, nice hosts, delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Living Lounge Hostel
Ranked #18 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
milano
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful hostel, nice hosts, delicious food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

the lounge living hostel is in the center of Lisbon, the staff is very gentle and offers many trip ideas and fun ways of visiting the city (bike tours, portughese dinner in the hostel, movie night all together,...). I loved staying there. The design is really cool and the place is very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    56
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
64
114
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights in February at the Living Lounge and highly recommend it. The stuff is so nice and helpful that you feel like beeing at the home of a friend. The rooms are gorgeous. We had the Fado-Room and it was spacy and with cool furniture. The bathrooms and everything else had been always very clean. There's a dinner every night for only 10 euros cooked by one of the hostel-staff. It's perfect to get in touch with the other guests. And don't miss the Fado-Nights with Henry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After two years travelling (not constantly ;) the Living Lounge is still the best hostel i knew. Everything is perfect.
The location next to the Rossio, Elevador Santa Justa and Alfama is perfect.
The hostel is really tastefully arranged.
The staff is really, really nice and helpfull - always even in the middle of the night.
Lovely cleaning ladys keeping everything super clean the whole day (they are doing laundry also if you need fresh cloth). And baking pancakes for breakfast. You don´t even have to clean your dishes.
The rooms are all modern and nice with big,free lockers (you don´t need your own locker) and aircondition.
They are big single bathrooms you can lock and have for your own and regular ones with shower cabins.
They have a great programm. Lots of interesting free tours (city walk, streetart tour ...)
Fresh cooked dinner every evening (10 Euro, 3 course meal, free wine ) from the most likeable cook and allrounder "Antonio"!
There is a bar, but the LL is neither an annoying "binge-drinking-hostel" nor boring.
You have to see it for yourself.
Enjoy

Room Tip: I liked the Single Jazz room a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie_W326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was built only 4 years ago so it was supper clean!! They have got a big safe box as well. The crews were supper friendly and very helpful.. I had a great Christmas early dinner for just 5 Euro... since most places were closed they have offer us such a homey style holiday meal ! Thank you all ! I stayed in Hotel after this but I have regretted that I should have stayed here..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Absolutely fabulous! Nice room, bathrooms were always clean and nice staff. The hostel is just a few steps from the subway station and very close to chiado alto, the best neighborhoodin the city. totally recomended if you're travelling with your friends or alone

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masequetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We arrived at about 6am in Lisbon by bus and they let us right in our room. There was a small problem with one of the bed legs on one of our beds and the staff immediately offered to change our room.

The facilities are bohemian ... every room has a different theme. Pretty cool.

The location is right near most of the major attractions in Lisbon and right below Bairro Alto ... where you can go out at night to eat, drink and be merry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed two nights in one of the single private rooms (a little over 30 euros/night). The room was very cool, with heating, safe, etc. My room was next to the bathrooms, so at times I could hear traffic in the hallway, but I also know they offer free ear plugs. Everyone working here was very cool. I believe it is owned by a group of artists who also designed the place: my room (designed by Inés) was titled "white dreams" I believe, and had a Jack Kerouac quote on the wall.

The breakfast is included, and consisted of coffee/tea/juice, cereal, bread with spreads/jam/etc, and . . . crepes! A chef was constantly serving hot crepes. Delicious. The coffee and tea are available all day. The kitchen is free to be used, though a warning: when the chef is cooking in the kitchen, it cannot be used by guests, and often a chef cooks dinner. So, if you're planning on cooking dinner yourself in the kitchen, you might need to plan accordingly.

Great wifi, movie and book selection, and with lots of information on what to do. Located in the historic section, surround by shops and activities, as well as next to the Baixa/Chiado metro stop (though based on noise, no one would know.) Also had a bike rental service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#54 of 248 in Lisbon
487 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 457 in Lisbon
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 457 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 457 in Lisbon
528 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 457 in Lisbon
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Lounge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Lounge Hostel

Property: Living Lounge Hostel
Address: Rua do Crucifixo 116, Lisbon 1100-185, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Living Lounge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Living Lounge Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing