We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy place”
Review of Pensao Monumental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensao Monumental
Ranked #210 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our room had a mouldy smell and walls had moulds. Damp was everywhere, after the night the newspaper which was left on the commode near the bed became damp! The wardrobe had a nasty smell, I did not risk to put my clothes in it. I am happy that I had to spend only one night in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neringa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Pensao Monumental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

To say staying here is slumming it is an understatement. Never stayed anywhere as bad as this before. Will never trust a friend to book my accommodation again. Suspect wiring in the bathroom, Dodgy water taps and shower, not all the lights were working. The décor was totally substandard, and the bedding grubby. When we got home after 2 nights washed all clothing whether it had been used or not, and showered in an effort to wash away the whole grubby experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Small and very cheap typical pension.
Perfect position, just steps from shops, public transport, city center and the famous "Bairro Alto".
Clean rooms ( daily maid service ) and very helpful staff.
Absolutely a gret choice if you're looking for a cheap andclean option, in the best position.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZAMY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Would advise all fellow travellers to stay well clear of this one. Not only was my i-phone charger stolen from my room but the reception staff offered no assistance whatsoever. The wouldn't phone the police, wouldn't question cleaning staff and generally took a very dismissive attitude to the whole thing. The best advice they could offer me was to "not" wear my watch out when going out for a stroll in the surrounding area......... Good night Vienna ??? Goodbye Lisbon....... I wont be back !!

Joe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from staying 4 nights at this budget hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other travellers on a limited budget who want somewhere in a great central location. Our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet, it was cleaned every day, and the staff were really friendly, giving us maps and great advice about where we should visit in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which I would choose again. On the downsid...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here for a week in February, 2010. First we didn't find the hotel, because the sign was so unnoticeable. Me and my friend (both students) didn't expect much from the hotel, as you can imagine, we are super-low-budget-travelers and payed about 110e per person for five nights. Cheap huh?! The room itself was pretty good, I mean for the money that we ''spent'' this felt like pure luxury.. Even though it was quite chilly in that time of the year, there is some blankets to use, but I would recommend that guests take warm clothing with them. Our room was on the first floor, and our window was towards the inner-garden so we didn't hear any voices from the street either. The man on the reception made us feel very welcome, and helped us if we had any questions. The outer-door is locked, but there is a doorbell. We didn't use the hotel for anything else than sleeping and storing our belongings in a secure place, and this hotel certainly suited for that kind of use. I wouldn't recommend this as a family-friendly hotel, but if you're outgoing and looking for a good-value hotel, this is a good choice. As many of these earlier reviews have pointed out, the location is awesome! Ps. go down the hill to the bar called Young Liberty (on the right) and try a drink called Fluffy Duck!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank disa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Best price-value hotel. It has excellent location, just at one of the main squares in Lisbon - Praca dos Restauradores. It is 1 min walking distance from the bars quarter of Lisbon - Bairo Alto, and no more than 10 min walking to the Baixa and Chiado.

The staff in the hostel is friendly and you can be confident on asking for things to do and places to go. In our case they were very helpful in recommending us good, cheap local restaurants!

Rooms are cozy and clean.

But one minus is that we didn't have heating in our room and it was December when we visited this place. When we asked the reception for heater they suggested us an extra blanket instead. Another minus is no WiFi internet in here. These are two reason for me to rate this hotel with 4*.

I attach some photos from our room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank feradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#188 of 254 in Lisbon
375 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#180 of 255 in Lisbon
173 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Perola Da Baixa
Pensao Perola Da Baixa
#162 of 255 in Lisbon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pouso Dos Anjos
#179 of 255 in Lisbon
107 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Inn Fashion Residence
Inn Fashion Residence
#125 of 255 in Lisbon
72 reviews
B Lisbon
#2 of 5 in Estremadura
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Monumental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Monumental

Address: Rua da Gloria 21, Lisbon 1250-114, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $56 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Monumental 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensao Monumental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing