We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very central location”
Review of Vincci Baixa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Baixa
Ranked #57 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very central location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

excellent hotel, very central, in 'lower' lissabon. great breakfast. very friendly and helpful staff. only minus point is that the rooms have absolutely NO facililities to put your clothes, you really have to live out of your suitcase :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukiyaki-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for publishing your opinions regarding your experience in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience with us and that you were satisfied with our location, breakfasts and staff. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.
We would, in any case, like to clarify that all of our romos have available a closet for hanging clothing. However, as our establishment was designed from out of an old completely renovated and restored building, the closets vary in size depending on the room and its location within the hotel. We are sorry, in any case, if your did not meet your expectations and we will take note of your comments in order to improve.
Ultimately, we work hard to achieve customer satisfaction, and your opinions are always the most useful in helping us to do so.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    639
    99
    21
    13
See reviews for
169
851
48
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're a tourist - a very short walk to the main squares in either direction, so very easy access to trams, buses and trains. Get the aerobus from the airport, get off at Praca do Comercio and the hotel is on the street behind you - turn to the right.

Beds large and comfy, bathroom fine and breakfast good, though pricey. Great cafe at the end of the street sells fab fresh juice and rolls if you want a cheaper option.

Can be noisy if you leave the windows open at night.

Decor relies on mirrors which can be disconcerting at times! We were glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: To avoid noise get as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birthdaytreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and publishing your comments regarding your stay in our establishment. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations and that our location and our beds were both to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day in our chain.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely pleased with specific details of your stay
and inform you that we will bear close in mind all of your suggestions and insights with
the aim of improving our service in the future.
Regarding our breakfast buffet, it costs 15 euros/person and includes more than 120 hot and cold products (bread, pastries, pies, salads, cold meats, cheese, dietetic products, coffee, infusions, juices, cereals, and yoghurt, among many other products).
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I agree with others that the location is good but the problem I found was that there was very little sound insulation between the rooms - I could hear the television next door, and any movement upstairs for example. So despite looking pretty and being well located, I wasn't convinced it offered good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for publishing your opinions regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our location and design were to your liking, but regret that we did not completely meet your expectations and that you were not pleased with specific aspects of your stay.
In this regard we would like to inform you that we will bear close in mind your suggestions: surly they will help us continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
We also would like to apologize if during your stay our room´s soundproofing was not entirely adequate. With respect to this, we would like you to know that the disturbances that you describe were due to the volume of the television in the room next to yours not being able to be controlled, as we normally do to avoid these kinds of disturbances. We apologize for this particular error and tell you that we have proceeded to restrict the volume of this particular television. Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights here upon our arrival in Lisbon. It's a quick bus ride from the airport that drops you off two blocks from the hotel. It's clean and quite modern with rooms on the small side but we were out sight seeing every day anyway. Very clean, nicely designed and centrally located made this the ideal hotel for seeing Lisbon in two days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in August (and have only just got around to reviewing). As others have said - a great part of Lisbon to stay in, and it was a pleasant, charming hotel, if a little small and lacking in some of the facilities of a big chain. But if you are looking for a well located, good value, boutique hotel with a little more character, then I would certainly recommend the Vincci Baixa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie_uk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went to Lisbon for a 4 day break. Knowing nothing about the town or its hotels I researched TA and came up with this hotel. Getting there from the airport was easy- we hopped on the airport No.1 bus to downtown (pay on the bus) and 40 minutes later we were dropped about two minutes from the hotel. Good start. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. Answered all my questions about how to get about the town; where to look for something to eat etc. We had arrived at about 1pm in the afternoon. The main shopping area is just around the corner and we were within about twenty minutes walk is nearly all of downtown Lisbon.We bought a 3 day travelcard at 5 Euros a day each. When they say 3 days they mean 72 hours , so we in fact used it to go back to the airport by Metro on the 4th day morning. I felt I had got my money's worth on that..
Explored Lisbon on afternoon one. On foot. Didn't need transport card.
That evening we ate at a place called Romans on one of the main streets, Rua Augusta. The place and our meal was pleasant enough, Portugese and Italian food. However they tried to fob us on with 13 Euros worth of cold meats as a 'cover' item' that we didn't want or ask for. Apparently this is the Portugese custom - to bring you someting to eat you don't ask for . Some German people on the next table were equally upset and almost ready to take it, until I told them that I had sent ours back . Maybe a small incident, but it was not what we expected. Otherwise the food and the service was good and the price reasonable.
On day two we went to the St George castle- up the hill on the famous no. 28 Tram.
Signage how to get to the Castle once at the top of the hill is not too easy- but we made it - along with a few others who also didn't know there way!
Its an ok place- not too exciting, but it was a nice morning and there are some wonderful views from up there.In the afternoon we took the bus to Belem (reception will tell you how and which bus or tram). Visited the Marine museum, which is interesting. Didn't have time to do the Monastery- which we should have done. We were late having spent more time in the morning at the castle and then late slow lunch in town.
Dined at the Vincci hotel in the evening. Food was good, if somewhat limited in choice. It seems that if you don't like pasta or pizza in Lisbon you can find a lot of places have somewhat restricted menus thereafter. I had the steak, but we really wanted the picatta of Veal. Apparently they never have the veal available. as listed on the menu. I kind of despaired of finding a good local restaurant. There must be some in Lisbon, but we couldn't find them. There are a lot of inexpensive eating places in Lisbon ;serving Cafe or snack bar style Pizzas pastas salads etc as I have said - but a nearbye romantic or just stylish restaurant was hard to find.
We did plan to go to Sintra on day three but it was raining that morning, so we went to the Gulbekian museum and modern art gallery instead- its a good way to spend a wet morning.. Then to Corte Engles which is across the road, and the Design museum next to the hotel. It passed the day, and I've seen palaces before. It had to be a better option that Sintra in the rain.
On that the third evening we chanced upon a big new restaurant on the big Square near the hotel (I forget its name). It is actually a beer museum and restaurant. This was a nice environment to sit in. I chose the fish of the day and had an enormous piece of grilled sole.De-lish-ous. With potatos and veg. This was more like what I had been looking for. my wife had a steak and salad, having only taken a fruit salad the evening before. She was pretty hungry and the steak was such a size, that it was too much for her to eat it all.
Oh by the way- everywhere we went people speak English and are very helpful. Coffee is good and ridiculously cheap everywhere compared to most other places in the world. In fact meals are not expensive either.
The hotel, as everyone says , is very well located, and is a fresh, good value place to stay. A little moan - well my bed creaked a bit when I got out of it and the mirror glass bathroom door is nearly impossible to close quietly without it banging. Room was very quiet but with no view at all. Almost an internal well. However I did ask for quiet! Breakfasts are really superb. Seldom if ever have I been offered better.
The trip back home was easy, by Easyjet. However, if you take the Metro to the airport you arrive in terminal 1. Easyjet are in Terminal 2. I didn't realise that you have to get a transfer bus from T1 to T2. There was a bit of confusing signage that made me think I was already in T2. So be careful. We were early and it didn't matter- but if you are cutting it fine it would matter a lot. Easyjet are really becoming more and more a real professional airline and not a cut price job lot. Very good check in, service and staff. We use them a lot. And no, I don't work for them or have any shares!

Room Tip: If you want silence then ask for a room not facing the street. But I don't think the street is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find, very central to everything. Ho Ho bus half a block away, shopping, waterfront, restaurants, etc. Staff is very attentive and helpful!!! Upon returning we received complimentary port and delicious local delicacies. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeye86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pestana CR7 Lisbon
Pestana CR7 Lisbon
#49 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#40 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Baixa

Property: Vincci Baixa
Address: Rua Do Comercio, 32 a 38 | Rua Do S.Juliao, no 47 a 57, Lisbon, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Baixa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vincci Baixa hotel is the Vincci chain's first hotel in Portugal. In the centre of Lisbon and less than 7 km away from the airport, Vincci Baixa is set in a privileged location in the downtown shopping and financial district, one of the city's liveliest areas. Baixa has a wealth of shops, dozens of open-air bars and is popular with musicians and artists, giving it a bohemian air that is very much in keeping with the rest of the city. Praca do Comercio (200m); Rua Augusta (200m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vincci Baixa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Baixa Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Baixa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing