We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centerally Located and Modern Hotel”
Review of Vincci Baixa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Baixa
Ranked #54 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights here upon our arrival in Lisbon. It's a quick bus ride from the airport that drops you off two blocks from the hotel. It's clean and quite modern with rooms on the small side but we were out sight seeing every day anyway. Very clean, nicely designed and centrally located made this the ideal hotel for seeing Lisbon in two days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
There are newer reviews for Vincci Baixa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in August (and have only just got around to reviewing). As others have said - a great part of Lisbon to stay in, and it was a pleasant, charming hotel, if a little small and lacking in some of the facilities of a big chain. But if you are looking for a well located, good value, boutique hotel with a little more character, then I would certainly recommend the Vincci Baixa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie_uk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went to Lisbon for a 4 day break. Knowing nothing about the town or its hotels I researched TA and came up with this hotel. Getting there from the airport was easy- we hopped on the airport No.1 bus to downtown (pay on the bus) and 40 minutes later we were dropped about two minutes from the hotel. Good start. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. Answered all my questions about how to get about the town; where to look for something to eat etc. We had arrived at about 1pm in the afternoon. The main shopping area is just around the corner and we were within about twenty minutes walk is nearly all of downtown Lisbon.We bought a 3 day travelcard at 5 Euros a day each. When they say 3 days they mean 72 hours , so we in fact used it to go back to the airport by Metro on the 4th day morning. I felt I had got my money's worth on that..
Explored Lisbon on afternoon one. On foot. Didn't need transport card.
That evening we ate at a place called Romans on one of the main streets, Rua Augusta. The place and our meal was pleasant enough, Portugese and Italian food. However they tried to fob us on with 13 Euros worth of cold meats as a 'cover' item' that we didn't want or ask for. Apparently this is the Portugese custom - to bring you someting to eat you don't ask for . Some German people on the next table were equally upset and almost ready to take it, until I told them that I had sent ours back . Maybe a small incident, but it was not what we expected. Otherwise the food and the service was good and the price reasonable.
On day two we went to the St George castle- up the hill on the famous no. 28 Tram.
Signage how to get to the Castle once at the top of the hill is not too easy- but we made it - along with a few others who also didn't know there way!
Its an ok place- not too exciting, but it was a nice morning and there are some wonderful views from up there.In the afternoon we took the bus to Belem (reception will tell you how and which bus or tram). Visited the Marine museum, which is interesting. Didn't have time to do the Monastery- which we should have done. We were late having spent more time in the morning at the castle and then late slow lunch in town.
Dined at the Vincci hotel in the evening. Food was good, if somewhat limited in choice. It seems that if you don't like pasta or pizza in Lisbon you can find a lot of places have somewhat restricted menus thereafter. I had the steak, but we really wanted the picatta of Veal. Apparently they never have the veal available. as listed on the menu. I kind of despaired of finding a good local restaurant. There must be some in Lisbon, but we couldn't find them. There are a lot of inexpensive eating places in Lisbon ;serving Cafe or snack bar style Pizzas pastas salads etc as I have said - but a nearbye romantic or just stylish restaurant was hard to find.
We did plan to go to Sintra on day three but it was raining that morning, so we went to the Gulbekian museum and modern art gallery instead- its a good way to spend a wet morning.. Then to Corte Engles which is across the road, and the Design museum next to the hotel. It passed the day, and I've seen palaces before. It had to be a better option that Sintra in the rain.
On that the third evening we chanced upon a big new restaurant on the big Square near the hotel (I forget its name). It is actually a beer museum and restaurant. This was a nice environment to sit in. I chose the fish of the day and had an enormous piece of grilled sole.De-lish-ous. With potatos and veg. This was more like what I had been looking for. my wife had a steak and salad, having only taken a fruit salad the evening before. She was pretty hungry and the steak was such a size, that it was too much for her to eat it all.
Oh by the way- everywhere we went people speak English and are very helpful. Coffee is good and ridiculously cheap everywhere compared to most other places in the world. In fact meals are not expensive either.
The hotel, as everyone says , is very well located, and is a fresh, good value place to stay. A little moan - well my bed creaked a bit when I got out of it and the mirror glass bathroom door is nearly impossible to close quietly without it banging. Room was very quiet but with no view at all. Almost an internal well. However I did ask for quiet! Breakfasts are really superb. Seldom if ever have I been offered better.
The trip back home was easy, by Easyjet. However, if you take the Metro to the airport you arrive in terminal 1. Easyjet are in Terminal 2. I didn't realise that you have to get a transfer bus from T1 to T2. There was a bit of confusing signage that made me think I was already in T2. So be careful. We were early and it didn't matter- but if you are cutting it fine it would matter a lot. Easyjet are really becoming more and more a real professional airline and not a cut price job lot. Very good check in, service and staff. We use them a lot. And no, I don't work for them or have any shares!

Room Tip: If you want silence then ask for a room not facing the street. But I don't think the street is n...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find, very central to everything. Ho Ho bus half a block away, shopping, waterfront, restaurants, etc. Staff is very attentive and helpful!!! Upon returning we received complimentary port and delicious local delicacies. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Vincci Baixa is an exceptionally charming boutique hotel!! We have stayed in this hotel 4 times and obviously would have not kept choosing the hotel if it wasn’t so pleasant. If you want just an ordinary, impersonal hotel forget about Vincci Baixa since it has lots of character and soul which makes it a special hotel simply to fall in love with!!! What makes Vincci Baixa so unique is the combination of certain advantages that are rarely found all in one place!
-Location: Cannot be more perfect! Ideally located in prestigious Baixa district just minutes away from many principle landmarks of Lisbon perfect both for discovering Lisbon, shopping, business or simply relaxing. At the same time, the hotel is situated on a quiet street, so you can be in the heart of all activity without having the street noise as a side effect.
-Breakfast/Dining: As we opt mostly for organic food in our everyday life, the quality of hotel breakfast was important for us. We appreciated not only the extensive variety of food served at breakfast but most importantly it’s quality. Not many hotels include jamón ibérico, and other high range food products in their breakfasts, as this definitely drives up the costs, but Vincci Baixa obviously puts the client satisfaction first. Can’t help mentioning the impressive quality of their restaurant dishes—it’s a separate 5-star story!!!
-Rooms: Although, as in any hotel situated in the historic centre the rooms are not big but the mirrors give feeling of space, and elegant black and white design makes them very stylish! There are also coffee machines in each room placed as a courtesy to clients, so that one can feel like at home!
Library: A very elegant and stylish place to unwind and loose feeling of time while reading a book from the hotel’s collection or enjoying a cup of coffee or tea!
Service: It is people who create the mood of any place, and all the Vincci staff seems to be handpicked—professional, helpful and simply nice!
Overall, Vincci Baixa reflects a level and quality of management that can serve as a role model for any hotel wanting to succeed.

After having been to a countless number of 4-5 star hotels almost in all the countries in Europe, rarely have I had a privilege to write such a positive review. Thank you Vincci Baixa for inspiring me to do so!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for an extended weekend. The hotel is classy yet modern with a beautiful style. The rooms are of good quality but a bit small. Even so they are well equipped and the bed was comfy. More important, it is QUIET! Very good soundproofing. The location is great. 3 mins walk down to the sea, and plenty to see and do within walking distance.

The hotel restaurant/pizzeria serves great breakfast and also serves very good dinner in case you want a quiet evening in the hotel.

The hotel staff is helpful and speak good English.

Recommend to take the metro from/to the airport. It's cheap and fast, but you have to change line halfway.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geggi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only stayed for two nights, but it was great. The location is excellent for sightseeing and restaurants. The staff were wonderful and interior has been designed with real style. Loved it, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Baixa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 254 in Lisbon
823 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 254 in Lisbon
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 254 in Lisbon
1,511 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pestana CR7 Lisboa
Pestana CR7 Lisboa
#50 of 254 in Lisbon
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Baixa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Baixa

Address: Rua Do Comercio, 32 a 38 | Rua Do S.Juliao, no 47 a 57, Lisbon, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#22 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#48 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $123 - $889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Baixa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vincci Baixa hotel is the Vincci chain's first hotel in Portugal. In the centre of Lisbon and less than 7 km away from the airport, Vincci Baixa is set in a privileged location in the downtown shopping and financial district, one of the city's liveliest areas. Baixa has a wealth of shops, dozens of open-air bars and is popular with musicians and artists, giving it a bohemian air that is very much in keeping with the rest of the city. Praca do Comercio (200m); Rua Augusta (200m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincci Baixa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Baixa Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Lisbon
Vincci Hotel Baixa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing