We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What real travellers search for”
Review of Lisbon Calling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisbon Calling
Ranked #29 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“What real travellers search for”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is not a standard random place. It is located on the currently most interesting area of the city but that´s not what makes it special. The staff is composed of a small group of friends, real travellers, mature people who have been around the world and know quite well what really makes a place feel like home: charming deco details, deep knowledge of the city, interesting guests. People love this place and tend to stay for long, which generates a very stable and unique ambience.

Room Tip: There is an amazing specific retro section of 4 to 5 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxxtr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    37
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
67
71
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at Lisbon Calling only for two nights, but wouldn´t mind staying more if I had the chance. This hostel is run by a group of friendly people and it is located in an ideal spot in the city: close to the metro station, the river Tajo and the Baixa- Chiado area. There are multiple restaurants around as well. The room I stayed at was very clean and even though it faces the street, it was very quiet. And I really enjoyed the decoration in the kitchen and living room, wish it was my home. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaktiColibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are a family of 5 and we stayed here for our one night in Lisbon! It was great...we were in one of the rooms with 6 bunk beds and luckily there wasn't anyone in the 6th bed. The staff were super nice and friendly, close to the train station and bus stop for our bus from the airport. We had a pleasant stay..clean rooms, quiet in the evening and super friendly staff. Would definitely recommend to other families.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MMCLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived a day late because of a French air strike. Lisbon calling responded to our request to rebook really soon and rebooking the room for a day later was no problem.
We arrived in a very homy hostel with really nice staff who had great tips for a Lisbon visit.
The showers, kitchen, rooms: everything was clean and in my opinion perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had the choice between a double room (beautiful and big, for 55 euros, a smaller one for 45, and others available), a shared room for 10 for 17 euros, and a shared room for 4 for 20 euros a night (included breakfast)....I chose the one for 20 euros (prices will go up a little in summer, down a little in low season) got good advice from Jay Pii (JP :-) about what to do in Lisbon....and headed for downtown...coming back, we shared a nice coffee and a talk ...the place is very quiet at the moment (May) but will be full in summer! The common areas are beautiful and cozy, a computer and WIFI are available, coffee and tea all day if you like. You can also cook your own meals and do your laundry in the kitchen. Defenitely a good choice for a couple, single or a group wanting to stay in Lisbon!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you want to have a fantastic stay in Lisbon I highly recommend Lisbon Calling. This hostel is breathing creativity and hospitality.The staff members are very open, social and helpfull. The hostel looks great with selfmade bunkbeds, retro interior and great art on the walls. It's cozy and it feels more than a home. Very personal and intimate atmosphere. Once you discover this place you just want to stay forever and you will come back again. Again. And Again. ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StreetArtTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

i really loved my stay at lisbon calling.
friendly and helpfull staff..... they give you good tips for a nice stay in lisbon there is always someone there to help you out with anything
the rooms are nice and clean....good beds...you hardly hear the streetsounds when you close
the windows....
for me it felt like a home away from home
nice and not to big so it feels like a home
i would go there again if i will ever return to lisbon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 445 in Lisbon
351 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 445 in Lisbon
472 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#14 of 445 in Lisbon
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 445 in Lisbon
258 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#35 of 445 in Lisbon
290 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 445 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Calling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Calling

Property: Lisbon Calling
Address: Rua de Sao Paulo n 126 Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200-429, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a 250 year old building we're all about fit to size. Standard isn't our thing, so you can sleep in huge tailor-made wooden bunkbeds or raised sleeping platforms. In the heart of the old city, we're few minutes walking distance from everywhere. Be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lisbon Calling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing