We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home”
Review of Lisbon Calling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisbon Calling
Ranked #27 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling at home”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I've travelled in many hostels around Europe and the world... and this one is the best one so far. The rooms are confortable and cosy, the decoration is original, the kitchen and living-room are the cosiest places ever -- beware of the sofa that would almost make you prefer to sit down for a whole day instead of going out and enjoying the bars in Bairro Alto next door. The staff is awesome, talkative, the most welcoming ever. I was travelling alone but was never alone, I even got sick during the trip and I was taken care of. Ideal for solitary globe-trotters and for families.
For sure this is one of the reasons why I'll want to come back to Lisbon (Calling).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabsnko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    37
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
67
73
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Lisbon Calling was the first true hostel I have ever staid at, and I was QUITE spoiled! A wonderful place with a fun and quirky vibe. I was traveling with 5 other girls and we stayed in the 10 bed room (5 bunkbeds).

Pro's:
-Interior design was FABULOUS. Very urban-chic, cozy. All around a lovely place.
-Free breakfast
-a STEAL. I paid 20 euro's a night and received a free breakfast (Bread with butter/jam, cereals, coffee/tea/orange juice). Perfect pricing.
-Very easy to book- friendly service- just email with questions and the staff is more than willing to help.
-Clean
-Free and GOOD wifi.
-Easy to get to from the airport- took the shuttle (for 3.50 euros). Took about 25-35 minutes. Five minute walk from drop-off stop.

Con's:
-Did not feel safe walking to the hostel at night (even though we had a large group)
-Did not feel a close relationship with a few of the staff members. We needed to find somewhere to eat and they did not give us directions. Just kind of led us on a wild goose chase. Very frustrating.
-Not close to the city center. (Although close to the port...wonderful to walk along at night)

Don't forget to bring your own shampoo's, soap, and towels.

OVERALL: Definitely would come back and stay. Great value, beautiful design, and a no-nonsense place. Great find in wonderful Lisoba!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNH0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Rooms were spacious with great little touches. Showers were excellent and the hostel was very well decorated. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanner200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My first experience staying in a hostel, and what a great introduction to hostel life.

A converted apartment on the 3rd floor, nicely done up with mostly vintage styling throughout the apartment. The rooms were fitted with pinewood (faux or genuine?) double deck bunks and I stayed in a 4 bunk room for 3 nights, had all 3 nights to myself. Beds were comfortable enough although the pillows were a little lumpy. Note, the 4 bed room has no windows, may get a little stuffy at night. Each bunk has a bedside lamp and locker.

Plenty of chilling out space in the apartment with sofas strewn around the place. Large functional kitchen and dining area as well.

The toilet had 2 shower stalls and 2 urinals. More than sufficient whilst I was there, no queues.

The people that worked there were friendly and eager to help. :)

Oh and free wifi throughout.

Location: Right opposite Cais Do Sodre station (the aerobus from Lisbon airport will
take you straight to the station). Walking distance to many main sights.

Overall very pleasant stay in a very charming city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Fantastic spot, you feel right at home, in a lounge/loft atmosphere. Great location, 5 min. away from the city center. The staff is great & laid back, best place I've been to in years....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnaudChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittweida
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

For the stay of me and my friend in March 2011 Lisbon Calling Hostel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was everytime friendly and helped us to plan our trips within the city also like in surrounding of Lisbon. The furnishing was a mix of new installations and also some funiture from former decades - very very original and affectionate!! We enjoyed the stay and I the other advantage is the place into the city centre. Just 10 minutes by foot to see all the famous sights, to buy some articles in a little supermarket and to go to the riverside of Tejo. Each day there is a breakfast in the morning and in my opinion absolutely right measured for a hostel. It was also very quiet, other persons didn´t disturb and in the combination of living room and kitchen the atmosphere is very agreeable and you can think about your plans for the next days quiet. We were impressed by this hostel in all points and would like to recommend this to all!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I am so happy that I found this place! This is a little secret - i so much enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is very clean and cozy. The people here are so friendly and helpful... they were giving great tips... it is like staying with familiy or friends. Thanks guys for a couple of fantastic days in Lisbon. I promisse I will come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCookie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#15 of 469 in Lisbon
425 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#16 of 469 in Lisbon
240 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 469 in Lisbon
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 469 in Lisbon
268 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#47 of 469 in Lisbon
299 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#9 of 469 in Lisbon
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Calling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Calling

Property: Lisbon Calling
Address: Rua de Sao Paulo n 126 Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200-429, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 469 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a 250 year old building we're all about fit to size. Standard isn't our thing, so you can sleep in huge tailor-made wooden bunkbeds or raised sleeping platforms. In the heart of the old city, we're few minutes walking distance from everywhere. Be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon Calling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing