We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms for affordable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HF Fenix Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HF Fenix Garden
Ranked #64 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice rooms for affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Fenix Garden is close to our offices in Lisbon and was therefore our first choice. The rooms are spacious and modern with free WIFI and flatscreen TV. There is no minibar, but a sort of vending machine on every floor where you can buy little snacks or drinks. The hotel is also not far from the airport (10 minute taxi ride).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flanners10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    765
    101
    22
    14
See reviews for
281
772
45
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were very pleased with this hotel. As other reviews say, it's easy to find, right next to Hotel Fenix Lisboa which itself is right on the Marques de Pombal. There's a bus from the airport that stops there. Room clean, comfortable, bed comfortable. Shower room clean, always plenty of hot water. TV in room (plenty of English language stuff). Our room wason the 7th floor and had a great view of the park opposite. Breakfast good - lots of choice - scrambled eggs, bacon, beans(!), mini-sausages; cold ham, cheeses, yoghurt, cakes(!), cheese, tea, coffee, juice. They never ran out of anything, staff kept a close eye on things and kept replenishing. Front staff spoke very good english. There is a small bar in the hotel, which is not too expensive. But the best thing is the location - not far at all from the centre, and there are plenty of cafe/bars close by, plenty of places to eat, and a Metro stop very very close by. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Chosse the 7th floor, at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in late October this year- got back yesterday. Last time we stayed in Lisbon we stayed in the Holiday Inn, which was a better hotel but too far out to enjoy the atmosphere of Lisbon. This ticked all the boxes; reasonable priced ( 72euros p.n.), walking distance to the Rossio area and all the restaurants. It was clean and staff were friendly and efficient.The rooms were quiet and they offer smoking or non smoking rooms. Breakfast was from 7 to 10.30a.m. Our friends room was not ready at 3.30p.m. but fortunately ours was so they left their luggage in our room so that we could start exploring-first time visit for our friends. There is a small supermarket that sells wine , cheap but not nasty, go past the big HF Felix ,carry on then about 2 streets away on the right, you will see a sign for a farmacie, go a couple of 100 metres up this road and the supermarket is on the corner of a junction to the left. To get to Corte Ingles, cross the road outside the hotel, walk through the lovely gardens and turn right. I did appreciate the vending machines on each floor.selling water, soft drinks, snacks and hubby enjoyed the chocolate! If you get to the hotel using the airport bus ,you can use your ticket to go on Santa Justa lift on the same day.Taxi from the hotel to the aiport cost just under 11 euros for 4 people plus luggage. Trains to Sintra are from the Rossio station, under 5 euros return, and when you get there, there is a sightseeing bus that will take you to the town and up to the Moors castle and to one of the palaces , so you can hop off and have a look around. Lisbon is a great city but take good walking shoes and in October a waterproof coat- the rain was torrential on one day!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lelanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel fills nearly all my requirements for a decent fair priced hotel to stop in when visiting a city. It is clean and the staff are helpful. They speak very good english. The breakfast is very good and sets you up for the day. It is coveniently located and easily accesible by metro and the airport bus. The walk into the centre does not take long (15 mins?) but be warned it is downhill, so is uphill on the way back!. Why not 5 stars? I think a hotel has to go the extra mile to get 5. The bar was a bit anonymous and the bathroom had a funny smell to it! I dont think it has a swimming pool evn thjough I put excellent below, once you put a rating in you cant remove it only change it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed four nights at Lisbon Fenix Garden in Septempber 2011. This hotel is perfectly located, just near one of the most beautilful Lisbon streets - Avenida de Liberdad. We did not even take the Metro/Bus to the center, because 20 min walk along this Avenida is the pleasure in itself.
The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. The breakfast is very good; plenty of choices, including fruit, pastries, and much more; everything was very fresh and high quality.
But the best is the staff. We had a problem: our luggage was missing, and after 15 hours flight from San Francisco, it was hard on us. The front desk staff, especially Mauro and Diogo helped us in any possible way: they called airport as many times as needed, talked to them of course in Portuguese (which helped), and when finally after 45 hours delay our baggage arrived, they were so sincerely happy!
And by the way, after Lisbon we travelled in Spain and changed 6 hotels in different cities,
but if you compare 3-4 star hotels in Spain (location, breakfast, staff), this hotel should be 5+.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Some positives but not many, the location was good and the breakfast was adequate, but that's where it ends.
Rock hard beds, smelly bathrooms, and aircon that just didn't come up to the mark.
On arrival we were greeted by a cheery chap, but as soon as we gave our name he patronised our countries (Scotland) weather by saying it always rained. Then he directed us to the tourist area for food, which is just our worst nightmare as we like to sample the real local food, which you can find in that area, but you will find better elsewhere.
Loved Lisbon, great city, wonderful sights and really great food if you find the right restaurants.
Use the Metro, but watch out for pickpockets, first night there a local had his hand in my pocket, but since I use a security belt he came up empty handed, and I was able to point him out to the Police at the Metro stop.
Go to Lisbon and enjoy, but there are better hotels than this.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed there last year, the location was very convenient across the street from Marques de Pombal square, price was great, rooms were ok and room rate included an excellent breakfast. Definitely a great option for staying in Lisbon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.0 mi away
HF Fenix Lisboa
HF Fenix Lisboa
#73 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
HF Fenix Urban
HF Fenix Urban
#89 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#63 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Garden

Property: HF Fenix Garden
Address: Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, 3, Lisbon 1050-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HF Fenix Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban haven where the commotion does not enter.To enjoy the city does not mean you need to do without some peace and privacy.The HF Fénix Garden provides the desirable paradox of staying in the heart of Lisbon and feeling protected from all stress.The referential acoustic insulation allows you to observe the city bustle from the window as if it is not real. A strange feeling of seclusion kept in the wide aisles and common areas where, even if the hotel is full, you can feel peace.The decoration and comfort of the HF Fénix Garden make you forget the city and even that you are in a three star hotel. Something that you will only remember on check-out. Very closed to the hotel is Marquês de Pombal, several of Lisbon's main points of interest and all the transportation networks in the city.The HF Fénix Garden offers several free services, such as Internet access in the entire hotel. But the most surprising offer is the feeling of staying in an oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your HF Fenix Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Garden Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing