We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Ranked #37 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

On behalf of my mother:

Cosy little old house in the old city, very centrally located with a nice vibe to the place. Close to the castle. Beautifully architecture and view. Good breakfast and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faustoaarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 620 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

A very good quality/price ratio.
clean and pretty house,
warm welcome
good advices to discover the city

We will address this to our friends who want to discover a beautiful place to rest and a beautiful city to explore

Room Tip: nice view from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A lovely place to stay in Lisbon, which was a bargain for the central location and interesting nature of the hotel.

The staff were super friendly, the rooms were clean and varied hugely, but that made it all the more better. I had a shared bathroom, but never saw anyone else around when I needed it. The breakfast buffet was super fresh in a room for of cushions. The staff let me check in really early and after check out have a shower before heading for my flight!

The only downside is that owing to its location, it can be very noisy outside at night and there was no air con, so you need to ask for a fan or have the windows open. I brought good ear plugs, so I slept perfectly with the windows open. Just be aware of this and you can't fail to love this place. It isn't a hotel you spend time in, so get out into Lisbon and enjoy it there.

I would recommend this to people who are exploring the city and need somewhere easy and hassle-free to stay with some novelty and uniqueness.

Room Tip: If possible, get a non-square facing room or bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just spent three nights of a long weekend at the Lisbon Story Guesthouse. Small and intimate B&B atmosphere. I was a bit worried about the shared bathrooms but no problems here ... they were clean and the other guests were considerate enough to keep them that way. The house was full when we were there but we never had a problem with bathrooms being occupied when we wanted to use them. The breakfasts are generous -- rolls, cereal, fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice if you're willing to do it yourself (can also make yourself some eggs if you like). The lounge where breakfast is served is an odd space. Not really very practical or even that comfortable--it feels like someone though this would add a little charm to the place, and maybe it does. I'm speculating that it was designed with a young clientele in mind, but the actual customer base looked older (that includes me), in the 50+ range. You have to negotiate over soft cushions with your food and drinks and then plonk yourself down at a table where your food is basically at the level of your chin. But the staff are so helpful and nice and the place is so relaxed that it's kind of pleasant in the end. The location near Rossio Square is just fantastic. It is very easy to walk to almost everything in central Lisbon, and it's easy to get to from the airport. The downside is the noise, which is almost hilariously out of control at night ... when the garbage removal guys show up at 02:30 a.m., the racket, yelling and whistling is almost beyond belief (mind you, we sleep with the windows wide open). But even this is forgivable (and I usually hate loud nights at a hotel), given everything else positive about the place, not the least of which is the outstanding value for money. We also appreciated that the house works to support the homeless in Lisbon ... nice to see some social responsibility in the hospitality business. So I can easily recommend the Lisbon Story for a great stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo_Felani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were assigned the Luz room, which overlooked the square - double glazing on the window didn't interfere with our sleep quality. No elevator in the building so you get to keep fit trundling up/down lots of stairs! The shared bathrooms were clean & well maintained. Generous breakfast + there is 24h access to the kitchen - guests are welcome to cook if they wish. Small kitchenette located on the top floor next to a tiny terrace. Staff were helpful with advice when asked. Close to Rossio metro, short walking distance to Praca Figuera for tram #15 to Belem, 5 minute walk to train station for Sintra. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Found this place on trip advisor and booked it.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and the square outside was just TEAMING with people...People selling stuff, playing music, hanging out, etc. I was a bit worried because I knew I would be on my own the next day. When I got up to my room, there was an explanation that the square is very important to people and there are a lot of ppl around, and it´s completely safe. I was thrown for a minute due the sheer #s and the smell of urine (sorry).

Once inside, the bldg and rooms are charming, quirky and soooo full of character. All the rooms have different themes and I saw a few when they were cleaning in the AM. It is very clean and the breakfast provided is super, way more than I expected from a "hostel" type place.

The beds are fab, but there are no tvs in the rooms. Never had any issue w getting an empty bathroom. Also read in the kitchen that Lisbon Story Guesthouse sponsors 90 meals/month for homeless people. What´s not to love there?

The location is great if you want to go shopping (right next to Chaido) and there are tons of restaurants around. However, if you are a light sleeper, I warn you there are lots of people and traffic way into the night. The windows have shutters that block out the light, so that's a big plus but you can still hear the street noise.

If you like a more cultural feel, I would suggest staying in the Alfama. I was in a bit of a hurry when I booked this lodging but it´s been wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street if you want a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoes&Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We just came back from 3 nights here and can't say enough great things. Wonderful staff, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, fun quirky vibe, and AMAZING location. Can't be beat. Stayed in the room called "Fado." We only with there were more people around to get to know in the hostel but it had more to do with the time we were there than the hostel itself. Breakfast was also great - who can resist fresh oranges for fresh squeezed orange juice? (they have a juicer!). Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 262 in Lisbon
638 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
feeling Chiado 15
feeling Chiado 15
#19 of 262 in Lisbon
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Largo da Se Guest House
Largo da Se Guest House
#51 of 262 in Lisbon
88 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#27 of 262 in Lisbon
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Story Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Story Guesthouse

Address: Largo de Sao Domingos 18, Lisbon 1150-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $51 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon Story Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon Story Guesthouse is an enchanting tale where you are the main character. Come and be part of our story, and let us be a part of yours. In exchange for your company, experience and tales, we assure you; life, charm, warmth, peace, light, tradition and comfort. Discover the story behind our 11 themed bedrooms (that fit 1 to 4 people in twin or double beds), chill out in the shoe-free lounge area, enjoy a free delicious breakfast, listen to music, exchange a book, use the free Wi-Fi internet, enjoy free tea and coffee all day, or prepare your meal in our kitchen. In addition, you will also benefit from a highly desirable central location, right in Rossio, next to the National Theatre, and within walking distance of the main city-centre attractions, or just take the next-door 28 tram along the hills, the train to Sintra, the metro, or the Aerobus to anywhere in the world. Let us introduce our guestbook to your travel log! "CAME AS STRANGERS, GONE AS FRIENDS." JÜRGEN, Germany ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lisbon Story Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Story Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing