We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Ranked #38 of 274 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of April 2013. You can't beat the location -- absolutely perfect for exploring Lisbon and beyond (the metro station that you want is 300 meters away). Clean rooms; quiet; nice shared space; helpful staff; excellent breakfast. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 628 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed nearly a week in this guesthouse and I really felt at home. The room, the shared bath, the kitchen, the dining room, all was really clean.
The dining room is more a cosy lounge and you can sit there for hours, listen to the radio, look down to Rossio and to Largo de Sao Domingos, read a book or use the computer. You get really helpful hints from the friendly staff and if you like you can cook in the kitchen.
The breakfast was really tasty, I enjoyed it every morning. And it is served for a really long time, so you don't have to hurry in the morning.
I really enjoyed my stay at this guesthouse and can completely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a lovely 4 days in Lisbon and very much enjoyed our guesthouse. It is very well situated, there is a bus that takes you directly from the airport to Rossio, and all the major tourist attractions are reachable from it.
The guesthouse is lovely, you feel quite at home. It is clean and quiet. The breakfast is delicious, I particularly enjoyed the strawberries, and you could always go into the kitchen and squeeze yourself a fresh orange juice. The view from the room was beautiful, and there was a "tiny terrasse" on the roof with cushions on the floor if you wanted to enjoy the sun while waiting for the others to get ready.
We also very much appraciated the friendliness of the staff, who spoke French or English, and gave us good advice for lunch or dinner.
We will definitively come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This guesthouse offers you the opportunity to stay in a lovely old Portuguese house with individual features. It is very central and very reasonably priced. The staff are helpful and can suggest the best places to go eg to Belem to see the River Tejo and the monastery, and they can tell you how to get there. They also helped me with transport to Evora. The breakfasts are good too, and the breakfast room has windowsills where you can sit and look out over the Largo de Sao Domingos. I stayed in both the Tejo room (the small blue room, which is cute and quirky) and Escritor, which was a much larger room with views over the Largo. The shared bathrooms are clean, and there are also rooms with en suites.

Room Tip: I liked both the Tejo and Escritor. Have a look at the website and choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A hidden gem in the heart of Lisbon - the owner and his staff members were very friendly and attentive. One of the highlights of our stay was breakfast - simple but fresh. To share the bathroom was not a problem. We also noticed the quality of fellow travellers who stayed at this guesthouse - all of them were quiet and well-mannered, and like us, truly enjoyed exploring the beauty of Lisbon. Thus no TV in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This guesthouse is perfectly situated in central lisboa (rossio). You can choose between a normal room with shared bathrooms or one with personal bathroom - prices are low and the service is great (has a personal touch because of the local crew). You must be aware though that you will have to walk some steps until you reach your room (important if you carry big suitcases with you) but that shoudn't be a problem at all! Our room (calçada) was small but very nice and clean!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamiloVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent a honeymoon-like Easter weekend in beautiful Lisboa and were delighted by the wonderful hospitality of the Lisbon Story Guesthouse Team. Thanks a lot, you made our stay just perfect!

Lissabon wouldn't have been the same without the Lisbon Story Guesthouse :-)

Room Tip: We loved the "Electrico 28" (even tough I am 1.82m or 6.3f)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 274 in Lisbon
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Largo da Se Guest House
Largo da Se Guest House
#49 of 274 in Lisbon
97 reviews
Lisbon Rooftops Guest House
#103 of 274 in Lisbon
53 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#42 of 274 in Lisbon
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Story Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Story Guesthouse

Address: Largo de Sao Domingos 18, Lisbon 1150-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $57 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon Story Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisbon Story Guesthouse is an enchanting tale where you are the main character. Come and be part of our story, and let us be a part of yours. In exchange for your company, experience and tales, we assure you; life, charm, warmth, peace, light, tradition and comfort. Discover the story behind our 11 themed bedrooms (that fit 1 to 4 people in twin or double beds), chill out in the shoe-free lounge area, enjoy a free delicious breakfast, listen to music, exchange a book, use the free Wi-Fi internet, enjoy free tea and coffee all day, or prepare your meal in our kitchen. In addition, you will also benefit from a highly desirable central location, right in Rossio, next to the National Theatre, and within walking distance of the main city-centre attractions, or just take the next-door 28 tram along the hills, the train to Sintra, the metro, or the Aerobus to anywhere in the world. Let us introduce our guestbook to your travel log! "CAME AS STRANGERS, GONE AS FRIENDS." JÜRGEN, Germany ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lisbon Story Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Story Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing