We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #67 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed there in Oct. Booked through the hotel website for the best rates.
This is a great hotel tucked away in a side street. A few minutes walk down to Avenida da Liberdade. Took about 12 Eur in the taxi to get to the hotel.
The King Bed was the widest we have ever seen. Clean and quiet lobby. The lobby bar was good and they even thought up some great mocktails for my wife.
A fancy tibetan restaurant is right next door which was god send for us in the evening with our son being very cranky.
The only negative - the walk from the Avenida da Liberdade up to the hotel is very steep and not fun with a baby stroller. There is another road which is less steep, but still involves elevation (just like most places in Lisbon). We would happily stay here again (probably after our son grows up and does not need a stroller!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013 for one night. As the title suggests, we had a terrible problem with bed bugs, but to be fair, not everything about the hotel is terrible, The staff, particularly the concierge, we met at check-in were nice and helpful. The location is at best just okay. Cabs are affordable and plentiful in Lisbon, but you can't easily walk to the tourist areas of Barrio Alto, Alfama, etc., or any good restaurants. Now, about the bed bugs: We woke up in the hotel in the morning and immediately noticed many bites. We pulled up the sheets and pillows and there were bugs everywhere. (We normally inspect when we check in, but we forgot to do it this time--a terrible coincidence.) We called the front desk, and they sent a staff member who, while attempting to be helpful, effectively accused us of bringing the bugs into the hotel. We have done a ton of research on this, and there is no way it was our fault--we've never had this problem before, and there were too many bugs, both big and small, and in too many places within the room. We had to catch a train that afternoon to Porto, so we had to run to the mall to buy replacement clothes in an utter panic. The hotel gave us 180 Euros , which was nice enough, but that only covered the cost of clothes for the immediate future. They did dry clean and ship the clothes/luggage to us in Porto, but we had to buy all new luggage and many new clothes when we returned to the US. We estimate that we spent at least $750 for the new luggage and clothes. This all happened the first night of an 8 day trip; the trip was pretty much destroyed by this experience--the bites were incredibly itchy, embarrassing and lasted almost 3 full weeks. We've been to the doctor several times. The hotel at first offered to reimburse us for the cost of the room (we used points for the booking), but they haven't yet reimbursed us, or in fact responded to my repeated inquiries. It's been over a month now, and still nothing from them. I have emailed the corporate office as well, but they have similarly refused to respond. So, it was a horrible experience made worse because of their unacceptable silence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thayer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is located a little away from the centre at Avenida Liberdade, but anyway the location is fabulous. It's situated on a hill so you can imagine what kind of views it offers from top floors especially if your room is rotated to the city. We overlooked Castle of Sao Jorge and old building from our room on the 6th floor. The breakfast is great as well as the design, staff, amenities, etc. If you want to do some shopping this hotel is fabulous too because fine shops are place along Avenida Liberdade.

Room Tip: Try to get to the 6th floor or higher for great views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arazinkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

OMG....when the bell man walked us up to our room and opened the curtain to display the view, I was in ah. The rooms on the back of the building have a great view of the castle and the river. The room itself was well equipped and very comfortable. Have I mentioned the shower? It had an overhead shower head and 6 jets on the well. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is just perfect.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel clearly aspires to being a chic, literary venue with quotes from famous writers and
stylish, if slightly sterile decoration throughout. Rooms are clean and functional (with bath!) , although there are not enough pillows provided (ask at reception and you'll get more). It's in a quiet area but near enough to all the major attractions. Breakfast no more than okay, coffee appalling. And the plesasantly decorated bar/restaurant area seemed bereft of customers and indeed staff most of the time. So, a comfortable and convenient place to stay but lacking the je ne sais quoi to merit five stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groundfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent hotel located in the center of Lisbon. The hotel is located on a hill side area but at 5 minutes walk from the city center. The area is very tranquil and quite , besides very safe (although this is a very safe city). In general, the hotel is spacious, clean, with an excellent multilingual staff that were always there to help you. We booked a suite with a city view and I can tell that this has been one of the most beautiful and true "city view" a hotel can offer. The room service was far too good and the quality of the food was also beyond expectations. The manners and education of the staff is something that I need to stand for. Any minor problem we had, it was solved without hesitation. The cleaning and maid service deserve also a recognition. As a vivid traveler I can tell that this has been one of the most memorable hotel experiences I ever had.

Room Tip: Book a suite with a city view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luisoluiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is clean and in a great location. The staff was good at providing information, but directed us to "restaurant row" for dinner - which is a big tourist trap, so that was dissappointing. The internet was down much of the time. When you select a hotel in part because it offers free wi-fi, the internet being down for extended periods is a significant problem, and in this day and age is unacceptable for an international-tyle hotel which charges relatively high prices. Coffee and breakfast are very pricy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
The Vintage Lisboa
#59 of 253 in Lisbon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altis Grand Hotel
#88 of 253 in Lisbon
912 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 253 in Lisbon
906 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#36 of 253 in Lisbon
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6-12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $128 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing