We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My place in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #68 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I discovered this hotel in a previous visit (in 2009). Since then it became our place in Lisbon. Last March, returning to the city, we had no doubt about where to stay.
The hotel is very well located, close to a park, shopping areas, good restaurants, theaters and, for those who love cinema, even the local cinémathèque is close by.
The service is very friendly and the staff at the reception is always kind and helpful with anything a guest might need: touristic information, restaurant reservation, among other things.
The hotel is also very suitable for business meetings.
The rooms are spacious, well equipped and with a nice detail that pleased me very much: as its name indicates, the hotel is literature-friendly: each room pays homage to a great name of the world literature, presenting a quotation by that author. I've already stayed in rooms dedicated to the Nobel Prize winners, Spanish Juan Ramon Jimenez and German Thomas Mann.
Breakfast is very good, offering options for all tastes.
Taking into account the mentioned aspects, it presents a good cost-benefit relation.

Room Tip: I suggest to ask for rooms with windows on the street, as this is a quiet one, on the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celestefaisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here with group of friends. Location is good not far from avenida de liberdad where all the shops are and 15-20min walking to the old town.
Hotel staff is extremely helpful. We have arrived with a car and hotel staff put it to the underground parking as well as delivered it to us on the departure date. Very good service!
Rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Our room had a french balcony so it was nice to enjoy fresh air and views of Lisbon.
Free & stable Wi-Fi for all guests of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arturs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed 3 days. Relatively small but almost new. Very clean, friendly staff, quiet location, short walk to center city. Very nice overall. We did not eat at the restaurant as there were other places a short walk away where we had good food at extremely good prices. No pool or Jacuzzi though we weren't really looking for one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdxo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved our suite on the Sixth floor. It is one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. One room had a lounge with sofas, a desk, coffee table, and wall safe. It is a large lounge area with a door to the balcony and a door through to the bedroom. The bedroom was huge with a lovely en-suite that had a bath and a separate shower. The bedroom also had a door to the balcony. The breakfast buffet was really nice and the reception staff will do anything for you. The staff are excellent. The only way this hotel would be improved would be if there was a table a chair set on the balcony.

Room Tip: Choose a suite of the 6th or 7th floor. They have a balcony and are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppybach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend and were not disappointed. It was the first time that a hotel showed some attention to my Birthday while I was staying there. In the evening we were suprised with a platter of fresh fruit and a bottle of nice Prosecco. Usually when I was staying at hotels during my B-Day they did not care at all. The rooms are equipped with a mini-bar and a water kettle. The hotel is pretty central and you can reach the main attractions or the Avenida da Liberdade on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights in the new year. Rooms are spacious, new and comfortable furniture. Beautiful view from the balcony of the city center. Breakfast is good, not the best, but different. Located on a quiet street, from Avenida da Liberdade five minutes on foot. The next visit will stop there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a hotel that 'ticks all the boxes' for a 5 star hotel, but does not really have a 5 star experience. For example, there is a sauna but it is very small and not open in the evening, so as a business traveller you will not be able to use it.

On the other side; rooms are nice and clean. The beds are good; I slept well here. Also, the cleaners do a good job. The location is not bad, it is walking distance to the center (10-15 minutes) and metro (5 minutes). Price/value wise it seems a good choice.

The breakfast is pretty standard continental, and after a week it gets really boring. During weekends it is really crowded and there is not enough staff to manage breakfasts.

Overall, the staff is quite friendly. There were some difficulties with my check when checking out, some things I had to pay separate and could not be placed on the check.

Room Tip: Both the front and the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EazyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
The Vintage Lisboa
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
788 reviews
Altis Grand Hotel
#86 of 255 in Lisbon
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,143 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6-12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $106 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing