We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed, would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #70 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very enjoyable stay at this excellently located hotel - an easy downhill walk to the Baixa / Rossio area, and an equally easy walk over to Marques de Pombal which is where many of the hop-on buses start and end.

Modern, clean and well designed, we had a suite on the 6th floor with a balcony and great view of the castle.

Staff were always helpful, and there was no problem checking in a little early.

Huge kingsize bed was extremely comfortable - and there's a choice of 4 pillows of varying firmness!

Bathroom a good size, with both bathtub (with shower) and separate walk-in shower with great 'rain'-style overhead and wall-mounted spa jets - fantastic!

Great selection for breakfast: lots of different fresh fruits; cold meats; cheeses; hot scrambled egg and bacon; lots of different breads and pastries; plus cereals and yogurts - enough to have a different selection each day. The restaurant staff are also very welcoming.

Would certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: There are only about 6 suites in the hotel but these, I believe, all have balconies and a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good value hotel which is centrally located within a ten minutes walk from Avenida Liberdade and Rossio. Efficient staff and nicely sized room. Rain shower not really of use because of relatively low water pressure but the 'regular' shower works just fine. Decent breakfast included in room rate. Did not really trust the complimentary internet service which triggered a series of security vulnerability warnings in my webbrowser but apart from that connection speed was fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdbgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just spent 1 night at that very nice boutique-hotel at promotional rate of 95 eur inc bfast for 2. We were very suprised when at our arrival at 9am, the hotel handed our keys to the room. This was a real plus! Rooms is a good size, bed is big, bathroom clean. Bed was very comfortable. Personal extremly nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice. Serrano Pata Negra cold meat was delightful;) Only negative point was that in our roome on the top floor, the window kept moving all night with the strong wind blowing. Luckily I had earplugs. We informed the reception about this issue and we were offered to change room. Since we were already all settled, we decided to stay. All though everything was good, I also would not rate this hotel a 5star, but a good 4star...and would stay there again;)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful little weekend in Lisbon made better by Eurostar Das Letras.

Service: Extremely friendly and prompt responses to emails as well as in person inquiries. For instance, the front desk lady helped print something for me when the printer in their business center wasn't working. Help getting taxis was easy as were suggestions for local places to eat or see.

Rooms: Very large by European standards. Big double-bed (two twin beds put together as common in Europe) and a large bathroom with separate tub and shower (with rain shower and also spa jets). Comfortable and clean. One thing, they offer a bath/shower gel only so if you want shampoo, conditioner, or lotion you should bring your own.

Breakfast: Included in most room prices and served on a delicious buffet with nice service. Selection of Iberico hams, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, juices, and tea/coffee.

Gym: A normal little fitness center with treadmill, elliptical, free weights (but only up to 9 kg), and a few machines.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadelineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a more than adequate hotel in a quiet section of Lisbon. Pay no attention to the other reviews complaining about hilly streets to access. If you can't navigate these slight inclines you should be on "life support". They are a non-issue.
This boutique hotel has a great staff, fantastic breakfast, and large clean rooms. What it doesn't have is comfortable mattresses unless you like sandbags and a shower that doesn't leak all over the floor. In all fairness there is a separate tub as well.
Would I stay again, absolutely! It is without a doubt a great value, I just wouldn't rate it a 5 star as advertised, certainly a solid 4 star though.
The location is fine, you can be in the center of town in just a 10 minute walk. I defy anyone to not be approached by at least a drug dealer a minute on weekends though. Very annoying aspect in an otherwise wonderful city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this nice hotel from January the 1st to Januaty the 6th, 2013, in two very comfortable rooms.
First of all, I would like to say I disagree with people who complain about the size of room, bathroom doors and simple breakfast in this hotel. None of the above complaints bothered us in the least. The rooms are large, well furnished, the bathroom doors posed no problem at all and breakfast is very good. The variety of fruit and ioghurt, cheese, ham ad other savouries was wide enough to satisfy all of us. The breakfast staff is very well trained and nice.
About the location -- it is true, Rua do Salitre is steep and difficult to negotiate in rainy days, but Rua Barata Salgueiro is easy even to senior citizens like me. And that is Lisbon, built over many steep hills. A good point is that taxis are very cheap in Lisbon. If you have two friends to share, it is even cheaper than the bus, and the reception is always ready to call one for you.
Now, the compaints: 1. There are no drawers in the room, neither in the wardrobes or in the tables. There is also little space to arrange clothes in the cupboard, forcing us to leave things in the suitcases. 2. The absence of a baggage trolley to help us take luggage from the taxis to our rooms. This is unnacceptable in a 5-star hotel. When we left we had to negotiate 6 heavy suitcases and 3 hand luggage, on our own, since it was early in the morning and there was no bell boy to help.
A good thing: since it was too early for breakfast, they offered us packed boxes with sandwiches, fruit, water and juice. A nice touch.
All in all, we loved the stay at Eurostar das Letras, and we do recommend the hotel. We will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Sound proofing is excellent and the street is very quiet. Sleep quality was excellent both at the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I should join the chorus of reviewers who point that this may be a 5-star hotel by the room sizes or any such official parameter that is used to classify them, but it does not feel like one. It lacks the extra touch, the detail, the imagination. Take the breakfast, for instance: it was perfectly OK, but it was nothing special. If you are looking for a luxury or a boutique hotel, Eurostar das Letras is not for you. If you want a good, affordable hotel, go for it!

We had an overall good stay, with just some minor peeves:

* TV channel choice was horrible. CNBC (in like 10 different channels), BBC world, some Spanish stations, an Arab channel (we enjoyed the camel races!)... the Portuguese digital channels would have been much better, given that movies and foreing shows are always subtitled!

* The room was at 24 C in December, which did not match the thick duvet. We ended up keeping the window open, which, being in a very quiet street, it was OK.

* Bathroom door was quite heavy and cumbersome to open.

Positives:
* Staff uniformly friendly and helpful, although we did not interact much with them
* Quiet yeat central street.

Tip:
On rainy days, Rua do Salitre, leading from the hotel to the main avenue, can be quiet slippery and it is always really steep. Avoid it by taking the street to the right as you exit the hotel: it is a longer but more comfortable walk down.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcal0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altis Grand Hotel
Altis Grand Hotel
#86 of 255 in Lisbon
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altis Prime
Altis Prime
#53 of 255 in Lisbon
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#61 of 255 in Lisbon
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6 12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $119 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing