We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Ranked #69 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was booked as a package by myself and the GF. It is very easy to get to by the Lisbon airport bus, or you can take a taxi, which is relatively well priced.

The hotel is modern and trendy. they advertise as a 5 star, but really it is a 4 star by North American Standards. The room and beds were very comfortable, the shower nice, the amenities beautiful and useful. The free WiFi was VERY nice.

The location is great, not too far a walk from the Barrio Alto, as well as central Lisbon. While it is on a hill (what isn't in Lisbon), there is an easier road to approach it on, so you are not in a pool of sweat after arriving! (Learned this after lugging luggage up the wrong way!)

Front desk staff is very helpful, and in fact were loathe to accept tips!

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtravelto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Went to Lisbon for a city break and had taken ages to pick which hotel, very happy to have chosen eurostars! Warm, friendly welcome and Thomas was happy to take the extra time at check in to show us the best places for getting on the trams and where the restaurants/bars were in relation to the hotel. Tito in the cafe bar was friendly and always seemed pleased to greet and serve everyone with nothing ever too much trouble.
Our room was just right. Very spacious, decent sized wardrobes, comfy bed, lovely shower. Our room was directly opposite the lifts but we never heard them or any foot traffic which was a relief! We also had coffee and tea facility (a necessity for me) and unlimited, free wifi!
Lisbon is built on hills and eurostars is no exception but I'd happily climb the hills again to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CitybreakNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Eurostars Das Letras for one night on 30th Oct 2012 to 31st Oct 2012. The rooms are very well furnished with all mod cons. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, not a lot of variety on offer and the dinning area is quite small for such big hotel. We were given rooms facing an old disused building, but really did not mind as we were only staying the night. All in all a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in Eurostars Das Letras for one night recently and were most disappointed. The first room allocated had the ridiculous view of a graffiti wall and was small with opaque doors to the tiny bathroom visible from the bed so therefore lacking in any real privacy.
It took a stern meeting with the "manager" to get a room change, having been twice refused by front desk staff. This room, although bigger and better, was still a far cry from the advertised 5 star quality which it was not.
The "spa and massage " area comprised a tiny sauna which was turned off and had no staff.
The great breakfast was mediocre at best where staff diligence was concentrated solely on clearing up. Don't ask for the bacon to be even half cooked as it takes upwards of 20 minutes.
Beware of the taxi rip-off which happens non stop if they think you are new to Lisbon.
I could go on and on so my advice is "AVOID".
Michael

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick440122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Loved this hotel! It is very confortable, well decorated, clean... It is gorgeous!
Location is good, thinking about all uphill and downhill in Lisbon... You can go walking (uphill and downhill, of course) to Bairro Alto and there is a metro station really close to the hotel.
Staff is really great... They make all to make you feel welcome! Staff are really friendy, attentive and always with a big smile. They helped us a lot!
We came from other city, where we stayed at a hotel with a terrible bed. It was pleasant arrive at our room and find a pillow menu!
I will definetely recommend this hotel to all my friends going to Lisbon.
And when I back to Lisbon I will stay there again. It was a perfect choice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Mly husband booked this lovely hotel for our one night stay in Lisbon. The hotel was really wonderful and we had a balcony with a sea view from the 6th floor. Staff were friendly and helpful. We however found that when looking for directions to the hotel, locals bars did not know where it was, but when we found it, we were only 5 minutes away from the metro stop. ( So overall it was very convenient) We walked down to the main street and onto the sea front. Due to the location of the hotel being up a hill, it would not be recommended to elderly people. The breakfast was a bit of a let down - staff very friendly but all over the place and the layout was not great for large numbers of guests. We waited 20 minutes to have coffee served to us and had to ask at least 5 times. On the PLUS SIDE we had champagne and fruit in our room after we arrived which was included in our package. Maybe Sunday morning in the restaurant was a once off !

Room Tip: Spa was advertised with sauna but was not working when we went to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I probably shouldn't give this hotel 5 stars as the location is up a bit of a hill. However...........it really does exceptionally well on all the other headings. So if you are prepared to climb a small hill you can be pretty near the centre in a very comfortable room with a good breakfast, attended too by pleasant and helpful staff for a very reasonable rate. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thesilentwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Grand Hotel
#87 of 255 in Lisbon
966 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Das Letras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho 6-12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#42 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $102 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an ideal establishment for business travel and for enjoying tourism with one's partner or family. The hotel provides a business centre, Wi-Fi connections throughout the premises, a gym, sauna, private parking, a restaurant and four completely equipped meeting rooms adaptable for all kinds of corporate events of any size: from 10 persons in the Camoes Lounge to 120 in the Pessoa Lounge. The Das Letras Restaurant, with its decor in contemporary design and its outdoor terrace, serves the finest traditional, Portuguese cuisine and international dishes. Flanked by two large, emblematic Lisbon spaces, the Botanical Gardens and the Avenida da Liberdade, the Eurostars Das Letras enjoys a privileged location in the Portuguese capital, exactly at the point where the business city and the tourist and shopping areas meet. An endless assortment of Lisbon attractions are available within walking distance from the main door of the hotel: Praca Marques de Pombal, Santa Justa, Bairro Alto and its cultural and night-time offers, the Chiado and its book stores, the Castle of Sao Jorge, Alfama, Rossio Square, Praca do Comercio, Praca do Municipio, Rua da Prata, Graca, Lapa and even the streets close to the Benfica area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing