We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and outstanding value for money. ”
Review of O Sossego

O Sossego
Ranked #1,620 of 5,654 Restaurants in Lisbon
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a lot of walking in hot weather we had a wonderful late lunch at the family restaurant Sissego with great banter from the head of the family. Sardines, salad, potatoes, bread and olives with chilled beer was the best meal we had on our 10 day holiday costing less than €20, a delight.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Razormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

We know this neighbourhood well but for some reason we never had lunch here. It’s your typical Portuguese lunch restaurant. It’s close to Belém but still far enough away so you’re not surrounded by hordes of noisy tourists. Many guests are obviously regulars. They’ve got a nice terrace and the service was very friendly. The prices are inexpensive e.g. sardines € 6,50 which I an excellent deal.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank lucd166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Away from main tourist attractions, this place was a real gem. Although modest at first, we had the most welcoming host, amazing food, delicious desserts, great loca vine. We were there in the afternoon at a time when they usually don’t serve food, but we still got a tabel and warm service. Thank you so much!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Anu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We found this family owned restaurant really close to Belém, no tourists were seen there except for us, and in the middle of all those locals they still took care of us like we where one of them! Made us feel like family in the middle of complete strangers and at the same time served us amaizing food.
Do you remember when you were young and your grandmother made you that amaizing lunch full of love? Well that's what you get there! D.Maria( the cook provided us whit this wonderful bacalhau cooked whit as much love as if it was your own grandmother! The owner Joao brought to us some out of this world green and red wine which was a perfect match for the regional cheese he also brought us and the bacalhau that D.Maria prepared! It is a place where a lot of working people go to lunch so expect some time waiting but besides that excellent service, amaizing food and really good drinks! I advice you to ask for a "paneleirote" at the end! And pay one to the guy who's serving you, he will gladly cheer up whit you!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NolugNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We ate here today with family and friends. It was recommended to us and we weren’t disappointed. Excellent local food in a small local traditional Lisbon restaurant. The staff spoke excellent English and were friendly, helpful and welcoming. We took their recommendations for lunch and the entire bill for 5 people, including drinks was a staggering 50€. Excellent value, very friendly and delicious.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank twoflower67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sossego also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to O Sossego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing