We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, I can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfama Patio Hostel
Ranked #18 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was the perfect start and end to our Portugal trip. My friend and I had such a lovely stay at this hostel and the visit was too short. The location is ideal in the heart of the Alfama and the staff is beyond welcoming from the moment you arrive they are there for any question you could possible think up. The crepe breakfast was hands down the best hostel breakfast I have even had and after traveling through 21 countries and more hostels than I can recall this certainly numbers at the top of my list.

Great activities, great people, mixed aged crowd, lovely rooms, friendly staff, amazing roof top patio and clean rooms, I can't wait to come back.

Thanks for a fantastic four days!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 422 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our stay at the Alfama Patio Hostel was short but absolutely perfect: it's very cool place, and the staff is extremely nice and caring (a special thank you to the night shift who saved us from missing our plane).
I would definitely go back there if I were to stay in Lisbon again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellolaroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Where to begin.. this was the best, and cleanest, hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff was incredibly friendly and outgoing, they had cool activities/tours around the clock, and the homemade crepes and coffee/espresso machine (all included!) were a pleasant sight each morning.

If that's not enough, it's a beautiful and well-kept building with great views in the historic Alfama neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent three nights at Alfama Patio in the basic mixed dorm- and didn't want to leave! The location couldn't be better, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the absolute highlight is the included breakfast of crepes on the rooftop terrace overlooking tejo river. We participated in the BBQ on Friday night which was really fun. Thanks Alfama Patio, looking forward to coming back already!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilenaMeinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our group consisted of about 12 girls, with 2 girls celebrating their 21st birthdays. Not only were the rooms clean and nice, but the staff was incredibly nice and helpful and put up with our obnoxiousness. They helped us call cabs, order pizza, and gave us plenty of directions around Lisbon. The breakfast was very good (crepes, Nutella, toast, etc!) and there was a hostel barbecue that was very fun and worth the 9 euros. Great decor and atmosphere-it didn't look or feel like a hostel, more like a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbakerolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This place has great views of the bay and is near the city center. And in the center of the Alfama neighborhood. Great place to stay when visiting Lisbon the hostel offers many activities. Book with the hostel directly it's easier and cheaper!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jared D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Travelling as a group of four, we shared a 4bed dorm in the beautiful Alfama Patio Hostel. A hostel with a relaxing and laid back atmosphere. The staff are super helpful & welcoming! Great humour too! Breakfast is amazing! Pancakes sat outside on the patio, absolute class! All rooms have security safes for your valuables, showers are very good, rooms are clean! The location is good & here are plenty of places to explore around the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
875 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 494 in Lisbon
579 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 494 in Lisbon
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 494 in Lisbon
575 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 494 in Lisbon
369 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#7 of 494 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfama Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfama Patio Hostel

Address: Escolas Gerais 3, Lisbon 1100-213, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $14 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alfama Patio Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hostels in the world. Lots of character and atmosphere, where you will feel immediately as at your home. A private patio and a terrace with stunning view over the river and Alfama. In the oldest district of Lisbon, a cheap accommodation where everything started. Free wi-fi, delicious breakfast included, and a fully equipped kitchen for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alfama Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing