We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent portuguese food! Great service! Satisfaction guaranteed!”

Solar dos Presuntos
Ranked #146 of 4,146 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $168
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
322 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Excellent portuguese food! Great service! Satisfaction guaranteed!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are at Lisbon and looking for a place with genuine and typical portuguese food, you have to come to solar dos presuntos. Close to Hard Rock cafe and near avenida da liberdade. The best codfish in town. Also many other great seafood dishes and even lamb, duck, etc. The black rice is also a famous worldwide dish. The staff is very receptive, polite and friendly. They have a great wine menu and the deserts are outstanding with all those portuguese special dishes. This is a family ambient where politics, soccer players, musicians and other famous people come to eat, not because its fancy or snobish, but just because the food is very good! When i go to europe, i always fly back home by TAP and therefore, i generally spend the last night at lisbon. Solar dos Presuntos has become a last dinner traddition for us in our trips and we are never disapointed! Great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FelipeCuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,247
    1,264
    376
    128
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really worthy trying,and also famous place”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a cheer up after the horrible restaurant around the castle. A really famous restaurant in Lisbon with its wall full of pictures of stars and famous people.Not very easy to find, it's hidden behind the great avenue. I found many portuguese national foodball teamplayers there, and Messi! The price may be high amongst other competitors,but based on the awsome seafood it's reasonable. We oredered rice with cuttlefish ink and it was wonderful, except too salty for a non-portuguese person. The waiters were all kind and humorous, and ready to help you all the time. Take care it would be full after 7.40 PM and does not open on Sunday. It deserves higher ranking on tripadvisor.Anyway, just try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolZhouNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Arroz!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Two types of arroz that we had here - black ink and lobster. Both were fantastic; I personally preferred the negra (always been a fan), but my two other friends were absolutely raving about the lobster (which was also excellent). If you're not used to eating out in Lisbon, you should just watch for the plates that they put on the table at the start of your meal (olives, bread, butter, charcuterie) -- it's not free, so if you eat, you pay. But quality of food was great, the service was excellent, and if you're a rice fan that is a not-to-be-missed place for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant have an excelent vibe. Always full, with people from all over the world, decorated with maybe hundreds of pictures in the walls of artists and VIP guests, even with all this people coming in and out, the service, the atmosphere and the food are amazingly good. I arrived already late (around 10:00PM) for a family dinner and it was packed. Lucky we've got a table on the 1st floor. We had a variety of starters, a seafood paella for 2, a steak with mushrooms and all was very, very good. Expensive but with a lot of value. Recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joao R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Can't Miss Here!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had our best meal in a week long trip to Portugal here last Saturday night. Reservations are a must for dinner. An excellent menu, reasonable wine prices. The food was prepared superbly, ample portions. They found out it was our wedding anniversary, and we were presented with glasses of champagne on the house.

Located one short block off Avenida Libertade, very close to Rossio and the Hard Rock. I don't think that anyone will go wrong in selecting this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertS975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar dos Presuntos also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Solar dos Presuntos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing