We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and service, but very small, old and noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensao Estacao Central
Ranked #197 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location is really great, near by Rossio metro and train stations. Exactly in the city center, only on a few minutes walk of "Bairro Alto", "Restauradores", etc.There are bus stops of the aerobus-es from the airport. No elevator, only narrow stairs. Great 24H reception, they give you a note with your names and room number on the registration and only the owner of that note or personal ID could enter the room afterwards. Extremely small room, not possible to pass it with even a small suitcase. Very small bathroom. Not possible to sit on the toilet, not possible to close the door when brush teeth or when wash face. The bath has had problems with the outflow. It was not possible to put the shower on the wall, it was necessary to hold it. The central position has also a bad side, it is too noisy during the night, especially if the windows and window covers are open. If you close everything it is much quiter, however much hotter. The bed was comfortable enough and the sheets looked clean. The furniture is old and the wardrobe had disgusting smell. The internet is paid. Otherwise, the personnel has cleaned the room every day and it was possible to leave the luggage for a while after check-out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at Pensao Estacao Central for six nights in June 2012.
Though I booked in advance, no booking fee applied and all email communication with the hostel was prompt and courteous. This was confirmed during my stay; the staff are generally helpful and speak English very well. The reception is staffed 24 hours as all guests are 'buzzed in' only (you must leave your keys at reception before venturing out); so good security too. You can also purchase cheap drinks and coffee at reception. The lobby not only contains a TV, books for loan and information on Lisbon but also a computer for accessing the internet against a fee.

On the downside, the reception is located on the first floor and you have to climb quite a few stairs to reach it. Your room may then be on the second or third floor. Note that there is no lift in the building.

The location is great; very central - just off Rossio, close to all public transport including the airport bus. Below there's a health food store with a good lunch buffet catering to vegetarians/vegans and just around the corner there's a supermarket, the famous Cafe Nicola, the Ginjinha Sem Rival and the Elevador de Santa Justa, which I could even see from my bedroom window. To me, some noise from street and the odd drug dealer seemed a fair trade off for such a central spot.

The room was not very spacious and furnished in an old fashioned style, but clean and functional. There was a fan, TV and cupboard with some extra blankets. Although I am only 1.60 m, the bed felt a tad too short - so feet sticking out could definitely be an issue for taller guests. The bathroom was also clean and functional. Noticed a few some little things that could be fixed easily and would make a big difference (e.g. no plugs at all, some mould on shower curtain) but nothing major.

Overall, I was satisfied and found Pensao Estacao Central to be very decent value for money. I would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask about the length of your bed if you are taller than 1.60 m!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank upsalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

+ Right in the center, near Rossio metro and train station, clean rooms, English speaking staff.

- Very small rooms, noise from corridors.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and founded this hotel clean and cozy. I understood that is family run and very central just near 1º de Dezembro street in center Lisbon, just aside Rossio train station. I highly recommend this place as it did work fine for me. If you wish to be in center LIsbon just a 1 minute walk away from Rossio central square and Teatro D. Maria II this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Small hotel, good for a short trip to Lisbon. Depending on what kind of trip you are doing, this hotel can meet your expectations (of course is not a Kempinski or a Crowne, but it's good in it's range and price). The staff is friendly and helpful, they speak good english. At the reception you can buy very cheap drinks (1-2 euro). The hotel is located less than one block away from Rossio in Chiado district, close to many attractions and restaurants (the Aerobus from the airport drops you almost in front), it is in a second floor and the access is granted electronically from the reception only; there is only stairs so don't bring lots of luggage. I travelled alone in November 2011, and I had a small room with double bed, tv, fan, closet and a small bathroom with hot water. I just stayed one night, but as I was going to spend most of my time outside, I needed just a bed and a bathroom. The bed is not the most comfortable one but it was ok to sleep on, it was clean and with enough blankets for a cold night. The bathroom was also clean, with clean towels and the usual toiletries. Not sure if they offer any sort of food service or internet. It is a good deal for only 25 euro/night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Good location, just off Rossio. My room had a good view when the window was opened.
Security was spot on as the entrance to the hotel as well as each hallway was buzz thru controlled by the desk clerk.
The room was a little disappointing I'm 5'11, and the bed ended at my ankles leaving me sleeping diagonally on the bed. The room itself was just about a foot each direction larger than the bed. At one point I actually took towels from the bathroom and pushed up to the room door in an attempt to keep out the stench of cigarette smoke- wish it had worked.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sctt2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September this year and the rooms were really small. The 3 piece bathroom I couldn't put my knees straight in front of me when sitting on the toilet so had to keep the door open and knees to the right, I'm only 5 feet 6 inches so not very tall. That was a bit inconvenient to say the least and it was a bit of a process to shower in the tiny shower. The room and bedding were clean but the beds were hard as nails.. Location was great though. Right behind the railway station and walking distance to the local walking street and lots of shops and restaurants all within reach. The staff were very helpful and this helped to compensate for the size of the rooms. There was a fan in the room which helped as it was 38 degrees while we were there but it cooled off at night. Also, we could open the 2 big windows which also helped. A tad noisy at night with them both open though as there's bars very close. The main problem was space and bed quality. An older pensione for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalynneVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#233 of 255 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#192 of 255 in Lisbon
297 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#164 of 255 in Lisbon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residencial O Paradouro
#153 of 255 in Lisbon
237 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 255 in Lisbon
528 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Estacao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Estacao Central

Address: Calcada do Carmo, 17 - 2o, 3o, Lisbon 1200-093, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Estacao Central 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pensao Estacao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Estacao Central Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing