We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school charm in splendid location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensao Estacao Central
Ranked #196 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old school charm in splendid location”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at Pensao Estacao Central for six nights in June 2012.
Though I booked in advance, no booking fee applied and all email communication with the hostel was prompt and courteous. This was confirmed during my stay; the staff are generally helpful and speak English very well. The reception is staffed 24 hours as all guests are 'buzzed in' only (you must leave your keys at reception before venturing out); so good security too. You can also purchase cheap drinks and coffee at reception. The lobby not only contains a TV, books for loan and information on Lisbon but also a computer for accessing the internet against a fee.

On the downside, the reception is located on the first floor and you have to climb quite a few stairs to reach it. Your room may then be on the second or third floor. Note that there is no lift in the building.

The location is great; very central - just off Rossio, close to all public transport including the airport bus. Below there's a health food store with a good lunch buffet catering to vegetarians/vegans and just around the corner there's a supermarket, the famous Cafe Nicola, the Ginjinha Sem Rival and the Elevador de Santa Justa, which I could even see from my bedroom window. To me, some noise from street and the odd drug dealer seemed a fair trade off for such a central spot.

The room was not very spacious and furnished in an old fashioned style, but clean and functional. There was a fan, TV and cupboard with some extra blankets. Although I am only 1.60 m, the bed felt a tad too short - so feet sticking out could definitely be an issue for taller guests. The bathroom was also clean and functional. Noticed a few some little things that could be fixed easily and would make a big difference (e.g. no plugs at all, some mould on shower curtain) but nothing major.

Overall, I was satisfied and found Pensao Estacao Central to be very decent value for money. I would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask about the length of your bed if you are taller than 1.60 m!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank upsalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    93
    61
    11
    11
See reviews for
29
71
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

+ Right in the center, near Rossio metro and train station, clean rooms, English speaking staff.

- Very small rooms, noise from corridors.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and founded this hotel clean and cozy. I understood that is family run and very central just near 1º de Dezembro street in center Lisbon, just aside Rossio train station. I highly recommend this place as it did work fine for me. If you wish to be in center LIsbon just a 1 minute walk away from Rossio central square and Teatro D. Maria II this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Small hotel, good for a short trip to Lisbon. Depending on what kind of trip you are doing, this hotel can meet your expectations (of course is not a Kempinski or a Crowne, but it's good in it's range and price). The staff is friendly and helpful, they speak good english. At the reception you can buy very cheap drinks (1-2 euro). The hotel is located less than one block away from Rossio in Chiado district, close to many attractions and restaurants (the Aerobus from the airport drops you almost in front), it is in a second floor and the access is granted electronically from the reception only; there is only stairs so don't bring lots of luggage. I travelled alone in November 2011, and I had a small room with double bed, tv, fan, closet and a small bathroom with hot water. I just stayed one night, but as I was going to spend most of my time outside, I needed just a bed and a bathroom. The bed is not the most comfortable one but it was ok to sleep on, it was clean and with enough blankets for a cold night. The bathroom was also clean, with clean towels and the usual toiletries. Not sure if they offer any sort of food service or internet. It is a good deal for only 25 euro/night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Good location, just off Rossio. My room had a good view when the window was opened.
Security was spot on as the entrance to the hotel as well as each hallway was buzz thru controlled by the desk clerk.
The room was a little disappointing I'm 5'11, and the bed ended at my ankles leaving me sleeping diagonally on the bed. The room itself was just about a foot each direction larger than the bed. At one point I actually took towels from the bathroom and pushed up to the room door in an attempt to keep out the stench of cigarette smoke- wish it had worked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sctt2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September this year and the rooms were really small. The 3 piece bathroom I couldn't put my knees straight in front of me when sitting on the toilet so had to keep the door open and knees to the right, I'm only 5 feet 6 inches so not very tall. That was a bit inconvenient to say the least and it was a bit of a process to shower in the tiny shower. The room and bedding were clean but the beds were hard as nails.. Location was great though. Right behind the railway station and walking distance to the local walking street and lots of shops and restaurants all within reach. The staff were very helpful and this helped to compensate for the size of the rooms. There was a fan in the room which helped as it was 38 degrees while we were there but it cooled off at night. Also, we could open the 2 big windows which also helped. A tad noisy at night with them both open though as there's bars very close. The main problem was space and bed quality. An older pensione for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalynneVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I agree with other reviews. Very neat, tiny rooms, comfortable and hugde beds, clean bath. Very helpful and nice staff. When i asked, they took my baby food into the frigde. For 50euro it was perfect for us. Fantastic location. There were only three weak points:
- noise from the street
- no air condition
- no elevator

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#150 of 251 in Lisbon
541 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#70 of 251 in Lisbon
504 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#230 of 251 in Lisbon
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#186 of 251 in Lisbon
287 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#148 of 251 in Lisbon
232 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#159 of 251 in Lisbon
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Estacao Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Estacao Central

Property: Pensao Estacao Central
Address: Calcada do Carmo, 17 - 2o, 3o, Lisbon 1200-093, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Estacao Central 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pensao Estacao Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Estacao Central Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing