We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good Introduction to Fado

This venue probably is just right for those seeking an introduction to Fado without paying for the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TomasEC
,
Cuenca, Ecuador
Highly Recommended

If you would like to experience Fado, eat and drink and enjoy your early evening, this is where you... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
Resident_of_London
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lisbon
from $21.30
More Info
from $149.50
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
6
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass of wine tapas machado introduction euros
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This venue probably is just right for those seeking an introduction to Fado without paying for the more typical dinner and show offerings. Every day at 5:00 pm, downstairs at Adega Machado in Bairro Alto, for 17 euros you are treated to a glass of wine and tapas of olives, cheese and ham, and an intimate ~45 minute show (7-8 songs) featuring 2 guitarists and 2 singers. All the performers were very good. An entertaining and recommended experience.

Thank TomasEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

If you would like to experience Fado, eat and drink and enjoy your early evening, this is where you want to be.

One hour of local culture and music at a reasonable price.

Thank Resident_of_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

This show is fantastic for anyone that wants to experience the local culture and not spend an entire evening listening to music in Portuguese. The wine and cheese was wonderful and the performance enlightening! They explained in English and French the story behind fado and each song. Wonderful performance!

Thank him3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

After reading so many varying and negative reviews about different fado experiences we had almost given up on experiencing fado in Lisbon. On Sunday about 4.30 we were walking past Adega Machado and were tempted in to the 5pm session which I believe runs every day. 17 euros for a fantastic experience with a glass of wine and some tapas. Two guitar players and 2 individual singers one male one female. A fantastic and intimate room as well. One of our best experiences in 4 weeks in Portugal.

Thank 435Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

this was good, not great. glad we got to experience this but probably would have lived without it. it was good to get some fado in without having to pay for a big dinner or stay for hours.

Thank deekers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

We wanted to take in some Fado without chancing on spending a whole evening at a restaurant with mediocre food. The Fado hour at Adego Machado was perfect. It is a small area and there were only 12 -14 people there for the performance we attended (the place may seat double this, but not more). So, we literally had an upfront and personal experience of Fado - two guitar players and two singers (one male, one female). The one guitarist explained the history of each song in English (he took a tally of the audience to determine in which language he should share the stories - since we had a mix of Americans, French and Germans, English was selected). The 'tapas' were not really tapas - instead some olives, some cheese, thin slices of ham and a roll but still something we could nibble on. We got there 1 min before the show started so the glass of wine never made it to our table (by tradition, nothing gets served during a Fado performance). I'm sure they would have given us a glass afterwards, but we did not stick around and the show was so mesmerizing we didn't miss the wine. A great value at 17 Euros each!

1  Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Amazing guitar players and singers!
Found this place from TripAdvisor, located close to our hotel. Really worth for 17 €! We got nearly a private Fado show for an hour, including glass of wine & tapas.
Recommending for a great Fado introduction.
Superb!

2  Thank KariV36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

We loved our experience here. The musicians and singers are spectacular.

They also provided some commentary about the music which was helpful as we were new to Fado.

Great option for those who can't make the later Fado/ dinner shows.

1  Thank ariatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016

While walking through the Bairro Alto area of Lisbon during our visit to Portugal in September of this year, we came unexpectedly upon this event which we learned happens almost daily at Adega Machado from 5pm until around 6pm. For Euros 17, you can hear live Fado music, with tapas and a glass of wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, the music was beautiful, the location ideal and the wine very good. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has it on their list to hear authentic Fado.

3  Thank daylily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Excellent music and singing by professionally trained musicians and singers at only €17 per person, inclusive of three types of tidbits and a glass of wine. Great place to rest your legs and relax after a Long day of walking before your dinner.

2  Thank SarahWTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews