We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked a lot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Ranked #3 of 493 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The people working in the hostel are so nice!!
Everything is great, the kitchens are amazing. You can cook everything. The place is beautiful.
There are commons places in both floor. You feel like at home inside. You can play guitar, put music.
Everything to be relax.
Very good Hostel! well situated.

Fabien

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 503 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Simply the best hostel with a very friendly, helpful and attentive staff who changed their status to "friends" after a few days ;)) guys who work at the hostel are aware of everything that is going on in the city and worth your attention. They've always been giving us very useful tips and very clear directions of how, when and where to go.

The rooms are very clean, bright and spacious what makes us feel ourselves pretty comfortable. Breakfasts (mostly corn flakes with milk and a very tasty bread with jam) in the hostel have always been a good start for intense days and gave us enough power to survive until late dinner ;))

The hostel is very well situated so it won't be a problem to get to most touristic points by foot. The nearest metro station is 5-7 min walk.

Our overall impression is very good and I just can't wait to come back to your lovely place!
Keep it up, Old Town crew!!!

Muito obrigado da galera forrozeira da Russia ;))

p.s.: the only thing that could be slightly improved is showers on the 2nd floor - sometimes water pressure was too low so it was taking quite a while to take a shower :D

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been staying nearly one week in this Hostel in the month of May. The staff is really friendly and helpful, and definitively the space arrangement makes it easy to interact with people. Not really the place to go if you want to be insociable! The dorms are really spatious (the most spatious ones I have seen in my 3 months trip) and they have individual lockers and also a card to enter each room (better in hostel with a high attendance rate). The kitchen is well equipped and you can take your breakfast anytime (this makes a difference!!), there's also a large living room and an interactive room entrance. In addition the Hostel is really nicely situated in town, close from alive quarters but in a really quiet street at the same time. They also organise dinners, they works with tour operators, etc, etc... All of this for a really competitive price (cheaper than the regular "Pousada da juventude". Well, a dynamic place to recommand!
Only negative points: It's an old house, so it can get quite noisy if big alive groups are staying at the first floor. And I have to say, really few intimacy in the girl's bathroom which is quite tiny.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anagreen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As everybody tells the stuff is really nice & helpful (funny, good-looking and honest;)). And also lovely: they made a map with all important things around the hostel.
The location couldn’t be better. 5 min walk and you’ve food (restaurant, shop), bars, clubs and sights.
The rooms are big. there are windows & many fans. To every bed belongs a locker and you’ve lots of common rooms.
Breakfast is good (if you like it sweet) & the kitchen is really well equipped.
They offer a delicious dinner for 8 € (3 course and lots of wine). That is a really good opportunity to meet people

Thank You for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel. I was a bit nervous, as it was also my first time in lisbon. Choosing Old Town hostel was without a doubt the best decision I could have made. Staff knows you by name, and helps to plan out each day on an individual basis. They are never rushed, and passionate about sharing their love for the city with you. Lockers are provided for each bed, each room is locked, there is a lock on the front door, and a 24 hour doorman, what im trying to say is it is SAFE. There are many rooms to socialize in, and the interior of the building is beautiful, old style. My bed was comfortable, and clean. Rooms are big with windows so you don't feel like you are breathing your neighbors air. I would recommend eating dinner at the hostel the first night to get to know people and taste some delicious local cuisine. It costs only 8€ for a 3 course meal and lots of wine. After dinner it's fun to go out to barrio alto and hit the amazing bars hard with all of your new friends from all over the world. Breakfast is free and really was as plus. I will be back again to this hostel and this city, which became my favorite over Barcelona and Paris so far on my adventure.

Room Tip: Room 2, unisex 8 beds is HUGEEEE with two big windows facing a beautiful quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Highlights:
- Free walking tour of old-town Lisbon by Vera who was knowledgeable and genuinely wanted us to be able to get to know different parts of Lisbon and beyond
- The staff remembers names, asked how my day was, and helped me out with tips on what to explore. One of the guys in particular hailed a taxi for me when I was in a rush to make it to the airport and found a way to get me cash even though I was out of it. They provided a home-like atmosphere that was quite welcome after a long day's hike, as they really do go out of their way to make you feel at home. Part of this is just a Portuguese thing.
- Beds are clean; lockers provided. I was in a 10-person room.
- I went during the festival of san antonio, and the hostel staff grilled sardines and made lots of delicious food and drinks for all the guests.
- Computer terminals and wifi

I really don't think I have any complaints as far as hostels go. It can be a bit of a walk, but it's really just 15-20min from the subway. Sometimes people are loud at night, but that is to be expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hostel has the best staff ever! It is really cozy, clean, has a good location and great prices. The rooms are very comfortable, bathrooms are great, nicely decorated common rooms and the kitchen is very well equipped. I can honestly say that this is the best hostel I've stayed in. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 493 in Lisbon
580 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 493 in Lisbon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 493 in Lisbon
284 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 493 in Lisbon
575 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 259 in Lisbon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Old Town Hostel

Address: Rua do Ataide 26A, Lisbon 1200-035, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 493 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $16 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lisbon Old Town Hostel is a dream come true accommodation for the enthusiastic & experienced travellers, offering the best accommodation with a great location at a very affordable rate. The Hostel is nearby to all the conveniences, shops, restaurants, bars, tourist destinations & many more! Come and live a Lisbon story with us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lisbon Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Old Town Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing