We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not so nice guests”

Black & White Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black & White Hostel
Ranked #255 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I had to wait for 12 hours for a connection at Lisbon airport. I went to B&W so I could sleep a little bit. It's cheap, near the airport (about 30 minutes by bus) and easy to find.

The irish girl at the reception was really helpful and pleasant. I took the 16 beds room (9 euros instead of the 6 advertised at Hostelbookes) and although she warned me it was gonna be a little bit noisy I did expect I would be abble to sleep. I managed to sleep for about 2 hours then that was it. People at the room started to talk really loud and it was impossible to keep on sleeping. So I've decided to leave and see a little bit of the city before my plain.

I have to add the place is fairly clean, has a nice living room and free wifi.

Maybe it's worth it to take single rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

I'm still amazed. I've never imagined there can be such a wonderful place. I've heard only good things before I got there, but the reality is above any expectations. The location it's perfect, in the middle of the city, and the staff it's probably the best in the world. It has an unique style, "beautiful" or "elegant'" can't describe it good enough. I had the best time of my life at B&W and I can't wait to come back again next year. Until then, I'll do my best to tell everyone about it. If you plan to visit Lisbon, go to Black&White. There is no better place. :)
Obrigada, B&W!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I stayed at the Black & White Hostel for 2 nights in July, and it was one of the best hostels I have stayed at.
When we stayed, the hostel had recently opened but everything was running smoothly. We stayed in a big dorm (14 beds or something like that) and were a bit apprehensive about it, but 2 of the bunkbeds were actually separated from the rest by a partition so it wasn't too bad. The hostel is a converted first floor apartment, with lovely high ceilings and wooden floors, but because of its size the dorms aren't very spacious. There is a large lounge area though, where breakfast is also served, and it was well-used by guests.
The decor was stylish and modern, which made a welcome change from functional hostels. Also, they give you duvets and make your beds for you every day! The hostel was also very clean, the cleaner seemed to be there for a few hours every day.
One thing I didn't love so much were the mixed showers - there were separate male & female toilets but the 3 showers were mixed with just a curtain across, so it was a bit tricky to get changed and not expose yourself to everyone who was in the bathroom!
There were facilities to make your own food, and quite a lot of travellers seemed to be doing that in the evening. There is also a computer with free internet access.
The location is pretty good, near Marques de Pombal metro station on Avenida de Liberdade. The Baixa and Bairro Alto are both about 15 minutes' walk.
All in all, I really enjoyed staying here. The hostel had a friendly, relaxed atmosphere rather than a hectic party scene, the staff were approachable and helpful, breakfast was good, and it was clean and well-located.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ohhellospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Panelando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PCtrip21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitor_Eloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#159 of 255 in Lisbon
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#81 of 255 in Lisbon
2,096 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,900 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#137 of 255 in Lisbon
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black & White Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black & White Hostel

Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano 39, Lisbon 1250-009, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $12 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black & White Hostel Is an Art Styled Hostel perfect to accommodate young demanding travelers!!First opened in June 2007, B&W Hostel is located in the centre of Lisbon, on the 1st floor of a 19th Century residential building reconverted in an Art house.We provide clean and modern commodities: Comfortable beds in unique decorated rooms, Hot 24 hours showers, Fully equipped kitchen for guests, Lockers in each room, A big and cozy common room with two computers and Internet access, Free Wi-Fi all around the Hostel, A bar, with delicious and fresh local beveragesInside information on Lisbon and its best and secret spots.Last but not the least, and although our high standards, B&W is the CHEAPEST hostel in Lisbon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing