We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lisbon
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Portuguese For a Day
from $77.19
More Info
from $162.64
More Info
from $99.24
More Info
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
470
18
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
470
18
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group tour quinta da regaleira pena palace sintra tour day tour beach stops awesome trip great tour knowledgeable guide wine tasting his knowledge visiting lisbon andre cabo cascais portuguese company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our guide, Valter, was very knowledgeable, he was raised in Sintra and lives in Lisbon. He was able to share so much information about the history of Portugal, the culture and customs. The van was very comfortable. Sintra is an interesting city and we enjoyed the castle tours. Our stop in Cascais was a highlight, such a beautiful coastal village. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank irishsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Sintra is a must-see. Other stops were also fabulous. This was one of the most enjoyable days of our trip.We had Claudia, who was very organized, enabling us to make excellent use of the time. She even played Fado music for us. My only complaint is that the restaurant she recommended in Sintra was quite mediocre - all four of us concurred. So check those tripadvisor reviews before choosing - we did not and should have. But otherwise great.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Karen31416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Tour was very well organized. Guides are very well. I do not recommend anyone go to those places by himself. Go by tour. If you go By yourself, You can’t find parking , places to reach, where when to buy tickets, lost of time, and your day will finish in long ticket queues. By tour, every timing perfect, also entrence tickets were included. Another thing is, you may think, tour is expensive, but if you think that entrence tickets are included to price, everything reasonable.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ogulguven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Claudia is amazing. She is information, funny, engaging and made the trip so much better with her vibrant personality. The tour was one of the best we've ever done. Sintra is worth the trip! I am in love!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We booked to see Sintra castle but due to roads being closed unexpectedly,
the company called and offered a refund or an adjusted tour. We decided to go on the changed itinerary. We were picked up and later returned to our hotel. However, the van was TOO small for the number of people and as a result, uncomfortable. The tour itself was OK and the guide suggested a restaurant by the sea to fill some of the time.
This was an unusual event as far as cancelling the main sight attraction but they did try to make it interesting. The company was in touch prior to change which was professional.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortugueseForADay, Manager at Portuguese For a Day, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Hello Lynne,
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour to Sintra. May we just correct that you were not on a private tour but rather on a shared tour, this can lead to some confusion on future travelers because a private tour is not shared with other people. It's important to review, but it's also important to know what you're reviewing.

We are happy you appreciated the fact that we contacted you beforehand to let you know of the changes, we think it's the best way to do it.

We are sorry you felt crowded in the van, it is an 8 seat van for 8 people.
Your guide added more than just the restaurant stop to compensate for the Pena Park being closed, he took you to other areas of Sintra that we usually don't go on the shared tour and he did 2 more stops than usual, so the restaurant was not to fill the time, but rather the normal lunch break time.

We hope you can join us on your next visit to Portugal, and hopefully you can chose one of our Private Tours for a more flexible time.
Happy New Year,
Filipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews