We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful GF bakery”
Review of Zarzuela

Zarzuela
Ranked #9 of 60 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: Traditional pastry since 1968 wiht own manufacturing, restuarant and hamburgeria. Handmade ICECREAM Highlight: all our products in "LIGHT" version and dietry, glúten free, lactose free and for diabetics.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve visited twice since arriving and will undoubtedly go back again before leaving.
The GF pastel de nata are wonderful, as are the GF toasted sandwiches. All of the pizzas are GF too, and are delicious. We got some pastries to take a way, which were equally enjoyable at home with a coffee. Zarzuela is an absolute must for coeliacs and non-coeliacs alike!

Thank smurfette2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there right before closure but they still had a lot of choice of gluten-free and ordinary baked goods. We went here to try pastel de nata. Zarzuela was our perfect choice because I am a celiac but my friends could eat gluten and zarzuela had both. They packed gluten-free pastel de nata in a separate box and they even put a sticker on a gluten-free box so that we don't mistakenly mix the boxes.
Gluten-free pastel de nata was delicious and absolute try for everyone with celiac visiting Lisbon.

1  Thank veronika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Gerente at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are spezializied in gluten and lactose free pastries/backey, Ice cream and a la carte like pizzas, hamburgeres etc, all home made. A place for all the familiy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled across this bakery by accident when getting out of a taxi. I have been GF for over ten years and this was the best donut and custard tart I have ever eaten. There was a really big range of items to choose from and I paid €4.60 for both. Well worth it and a great find!

Must visit if Coeliac in Lisbon!

Thank mgpm1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Proprietário at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are spezializied in gluten and lactose free backery/pastries and al a carte like pizza or hamburgers. A place for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

This was the only breakfast my wife enjoyed on our visit! Their GF pastries were wonderful and they have fully loaded options available for those craving gluten. I had a croissant with ham and cheese and a glass of fresh squeezed OJ.

Thank db7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Gerente at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are spezializied in gluten and lactose free pastries and backery, all home made as well pizzas an other dishes at ou a la carte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

yummy!
the vanilla cake is amazing!!!
gluten free and lactose free.
u have to go.
they have the biggest opposition that i saw for gluten and lactose free.

Thank MorA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Proprietário at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

We are spezialicied in gluten and lactose free produchts all from our one backert/pastry. A place for all the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarzuela also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Zarzuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing