We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten-free heaven!”
Review of Zarzuela

Zarzuela
Ranked #8 of 60 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: Traditional pastry since 1968 wiht own manufacturing, restuarant and hamburgeria. Handmade ICECREAM Highlight: all our products in "LIGHT" version and dietry, glúten free, lactose free and for diabetics.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Both my daughter & I are Coeliacs and she had researched this cafe. When we walked in we couldn’t believe our eyes, pastries, doughnuts, pizzas all gluten free and made in a safe environment! Fantastic! Tasted as good as it looked aswell. We went back again, twice but closes on a Tuesday so be warned!Bought takeaways if there custard tarts for taking back to uk. Thankyou! We need more of these cafe/bakeries as quite expensive to keep popping to Lisbon for a decent cake!

2  Thank audreypiggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Proprietário at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

We are spezializied in glúten and lactose free pastry, backery and a la carte. A place for all the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Allergic? This little cafe can cater for you. Super food at good prices. An extensive range for those with allergies and very tasty. Yum.

Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Gerente at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

we are specializied in gluten and lactose free products all home made in our backery/Pastry as well as pizzas, hamburgeres and a la carte. A place for all the familiy at the down town of Lisbon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We happened upon this amazing place while out and about today! I glanced up and noticed the gluten-free free signs, so we popped in! They offer gluten-free EVERYTHING!! I tried a tart, and picked up two other pastries for later! All of which were spectacular! We both ordered a pizza, and my boyfriend (who isn’t gluten-free) loved it too! Best gluten-free pizza and sweets I’ve had!

Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Gerente at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

we are specializied in gluten and lactose free products all home made in our backery/Pastry as well as pizzas, hamburgeres and a la carte. A place for all the familiy at the down town of Lisbon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

If you've missed bakery treats for a long time, or never been able to really experience them, this place will change your world! We were expecting just a few options as we have seen in so many places. Instead, we struggled to decide because so many options were available.

The quality of the pastries was fantastic - as so many others have commented, these taste like their gluten equivalents - not dry or grainy, just plain amazing.

We ended up buying a whole bunch of pastries (at very affordable prices, by the way). They were still great for breakfast the next morning, and on the plane back to the States.

We've tried many GF bakeries across five countries, and none have come even close to Zarzuela!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kohavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Gerente at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

we are specializied in gluten and lactose free products all home made in our backery/Pastry as well as pizzas, hamburgeres and a la carte. A place for all the familiy at the down town of Lisbon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

So happy to find this gluten free bakery in Lisbon. Excellent service and a great assortment of pastries!

Thank TimV239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udo b, Gerente at Zarzuela, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

we are specializied in gluten and lactose free products all home made in our backery/Pastry as well as pizzas, hamburgeres and a la carte. A place for all the familiy at the down town of Lisbon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarzuela also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Zarzuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing