We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Sao Jose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sao Jose Hotel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is very close to the sanctuary and easy to reach.

The rooms are a bit "oldish", but fully acceptable and confortable. The bathroom is really spacious.

The restaurant is good.

I think this accommodation offers a really good quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your review.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Within 5 minutes you'll be standing in front of the Sanctuary. The city of Fatima is queit when you're not visiting on the "holy" dates (12-13 of the months may untill october). Therefore there are not many restaurants open and you'll have to eat in the hotel. In case of Sao Jose it was not a problem, because it was good. Breakfast was not good,because there was limited choice. The room was very large with a nice bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We hope to serve you a better breakfast on your next visit!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

not so big hotel but can accommodate all passenger of a big bus. The service is excellent that you are not afraid that your luggage will not be lost from the bus to your room.
The food is nice and clean and they keep on serving you on your table despite it is buffet.
People are very good.
Place is very safe.
It is just very near the church/compound

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel Sao Jose has a very convenient location being situated at one of the main avenues in Fatima. It is just walking distance from the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Fatima. The Hotel has a peaceful ambiance very conducive for visiting pilgrims on their way to spiritual journey. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I'm highly recommending this hotel for pilgrim travelers intending to visit Portugal.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Hotel gift shop. They have wide array of religious and traditional souvenir item...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaMarieAzarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is just steps away from the basillica. It is very clean,quiet,and the restaurant food was
good and reasonable. We also had no problem with parking. The staff was accommodating.We
thought the room more then ample size for 3 ladies,as well as the bath.
The only downfall was the lack of being able to get a drink in the evening and the lack of plugs
in the room. Had to plug computer and phones in the barthroom outlets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skygoddessFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days on a pilgrimage to Fatima. The staff is nice, the food is good. Some members of our group in the adjacent room were a bit rowdy that night and we could hear their jubilation...not a party pooper but I had jet lag that time...it seems there's not much insulation between rooms...for a 3 star hotel, I would stay here again because the hotel staff are nice...besides, it takes less than 5 minute walk to the Basilica.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chubanopolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
409 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel Sao Jose is a basic 3 star hotel, just 200 meters from the square with the old and the new basilica. I stayed here one night with a group. The hotel is very popular with pelgrim groups, so long queues for the lift. The rooms are small, but with a good size bed. The bathroom is simple, however, equipped with a good working shower (ref # 315). The hotel has a cozy bar / lounge area, but unfortunately, the staff was very moody that day. The staff at the restaurant, by contrast, worked hard during dinner to serve our group. Breakfast was simple, but good. Because of large road works and reconstructions, the surrounding of the hotel looks very messy and dusty. It is some difficult to reach the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Sao Jose Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time writing about our Hotel.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.4 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aleluia
Hotel Aleluia
#8 of 39 in Fatima
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fatima
Hotel Fatima
#10 of 39 in Fatima
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Jose Hotel

Property: Sao Jose Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Jose Alves Correia da Silva, Fatima 2495-402, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sao Jose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with balconies is situated within walking distance to the Shrine of Our Lady of Fatima; hotel staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sao Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing