We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Day Visit”
Review of Hotel Fatima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fatima
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Two Day Visit”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel Fatima, Rua Joao Paulo 11, Fatima. An absolute gem of hotels. Directly across the road from the Basilica. Quiet, clean, spacious room, dining room well appointed and breakfast was really good. Considering that thousands of tourists visit Fatima, there was no noise, no disturbances, or interruptions at reception and the staff are so friendly and eager to help. Internet was a bonus and being able to contact family and friends back in Australia was a boon. You are right in the heart of Fatima and it is only a few minutes walk to everything like shops, supermarket, chemist and so on. Being so close to the Basilica is a joy and there is absolutely no noise problem within the hotel when hundreds of tourist buses arrive and depart.

Room Tip: Just ask if your room overlooks the Basilica grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovannivirgo255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    79
    29
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It's directly accross from the Sanctuary. The hotel and rooms are clean but dated. As part of the guided, pilgrimage tour, dinners were included, the chicken for the first day was good but the pork and fish for the 2nd day were bad. Breakfast was standard continental.

The room is not sound-proof. I could hear people talking, the rain, etc. Couldn't sleep at all.

One thing that really bothered me was the staff in the breakfast room. One old lady in our group was late for breakfast so I asked him if I could take some food for her, he said no. I talked to another person who seemed more senior, she was ok. Another time, my Mom took 1 cup of honney so she can have it with her tea later, he asked her to leave it. I understand the hotel tried to stop people for sneaking food out of the breakfast room but to have the staff watching people like a hawk was just plain rude. I stayed at many hotels and so many time didn't have time to sit down for breakfast so wrapping a cup of coffee and a croissant or a muffin to go is just a normal practice in the US which didn't seem like the case at this hotel. I didn't mind the old room nor the bad food, but that attitude was such a turn-off. I wish the hotel would train their staff to have better judgement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_FATIMA, General Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went on guided, pilgrimage tour to Fatima and wound up at Hotel de Fatima for a couple of days with our group. Quiet, clean hotel and directly across from the Sanctuary. Decor is dated but was pleased that the guest room doors use electronic key cards. The bed in my room on 2nd floor needed new mattress; pillows too soft, fortunately, there were spare ones in closet. Curtains needed vacuuming or laundering (but nearly all of the hotels we stayed in seemed to have dusty draperies; maid's carts do not have vacuum cleaners). No in-room safe. Bathroom was very clean. Food was plain; lots of restaurants/cafes around area but no one opens before 9 or 10 am so, you're stuck with the dull coffee at hotel breakfast buffet until that time. Staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

At 160 euros a night in Portugal this hotel should deliver much better accommodations. Having said that it's clean, well maintained, excellent (but expensive for the region) restaurant. Friendly staff, nice lobby, etc. it's just that they really take advantage of their premium location and charge very well for that! Fatima is a small city and this hotel should not cost that much but it capitalizes on its proximity to the Fatima shrine. Just know you will pay for that!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_FATIMA, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Fatima, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Flavio, We appreciate your review however please note that the rate paid was 150,00 Eur (not 160) and refers to a junior suite with 4 beds for 4 persons, and not a standard room for 2 persons. Thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with family for a week on a bed and breakfast basis. Couldn't fault it. Rooms are average but very clean. Breakfast is very good. One morning we were leaving on an excursion very early and the breakfast room was opened for us. Reception staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Location is excellent so close to the sanctuary square. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Fatima.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

You can't get any closer to the shrine and churches in Fatima. The service and food were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAJONES2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Literally a few steps away from the Sanctuary. They have newly renovated rooms and those are spacious enough but the old rooms (which does not look old or smell old at all) could be a bit smaller for 3 people.

Inquire because they have the best rooms if it's available. They tend to be fully booked most of the time.

Breakfast is so-so, could be better but lunch and dinner are superb!

Room Tip: Book early and request for a larger room and the newly renovated ones. If it's peak season, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_FATIMA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fatima, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are improving our breakfast everyday tahnks to our clients help. We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.7 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fatima

Property: Hotel Fatima
Address: Rua Joao Paulo II 241 | Cova da Iria, Fatima 2495-451, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
#11 Family Hotel in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fátima, is directly accross from the Sanctuary of Fátima. The hotel has all the standard amenities of a four-star hotel, including a free Wi-Fi internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Fatima Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing