We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

A friend and I stayed for four nights in a twin design room which was absolutely spotless, really quiet, very roomy and decorated with beautiful colours and textiles. Ask at reception for kettle/cups/drink sachets and they'll send all these up on a tray to your room.

The hotel design was based on clean, open lines with harmonious colours and materials which were most calming. Again, communal areas were all scrupulously clean ... making the spa experience (including ankle/foots jets x 2; hip jet; shoulder jet as per photo) an additional pleasure. Note: swimming caps are compulsory in order to maintain such high standards of cleanliness. You can buy one for £1 at Sainsbury's otherwise, I think the Hotel charges 7 euros. Spa access is free but closes in the afternoon for an hour or two so do check beforehand. Weekend times are different.

Breakfast offers fresh fruit platters of utterly gorgeous quality, yoghurts, a wide range of delicious local breads, cakes and the famous Portuguese (mini) custard pastries. There are only three hot food options - scrambled egg/local bacon/sausages - all served buffet-style and not cooked to order. Not a complaint, just an observation for those wanting the latter option.

The staff were all utterly professional. Housekeeping was fast, helpful and discreet.

It's about 8 minutes to walk to the shrine. There are plenty of car spaces very near the shrine - just make sure you buy a ticket from the machine. The first coffee shop on the right just after the roundabout with the shepherd children statues does the best coffee in Fatima for only 1 Euro. Don't wait around to eat after 9pm: things tended to close really early (we were there post October 13th). We chose not to eat at the hotel: main courses for us were a little pricey at 18 euros and we're not great 'foodies', but we understand that the Hotel has won awards for its excellent cuisine in Central Portugal.

All in all, a fantastic choice which was worth every penny and added to, rather than simply accompanied, our experience as pilgrims to the Shrine.

Thank you to all those at Dom Goncalo. Obrigado!

Room Tip: Note: Spending more than £300 for your hotel stay? Check out Thomas Cook website, book through them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathycymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We are most thankful for your kind review. We just want to say that we do cook other hot food options to order, namely fried eggs or fresh expresso coffee. Please feel free to ask to the waiter next time you stay at Dom Gonçalo. Kindest Regards and Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    205
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
272
193
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed there for a couple of days on business but found that it is within walking distance from the centre and the sanctuaries. Has lots of restaurantes close by, also.
The room was spatious, modern and very weel kept. The bathroom was also nice and did have a hairdryer. They also provide some other stuff, like disposable flip-flops in case you choose to go to the SPA (which was complimentary in our case, I'm not sure if that is always the case). The breakfast buffet was nice, even though it didn´t have the largest selection I've ever seen, still the products were of good quality, and the room was quite quiet and pleasing.
They do have free wi-fi all over the hotel, you just have to ask for a password at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pikena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We thank you very much for your comment. We would like to inform you that all guests benefit from two hour pass per day to the SPA. The DOM SPA includes complimentary features such as a Fitness Room, Interior Heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Turkish bath, Tropical Shower and Relax Lounge. We look forward to see you again at the Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just returned to the UK after spending six days at the Dom Goncalo hotel. Exceptionally clean, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts had a wide choice of lovely food. They cleaned the rooms and changed the towels every day. Also our sheets were changed a few times too. The only negative thing was that the beds were a bit hard. Also be warned that swimming caps must be worn in the pool, and they were seven euros each. The hotel was in walking distance to visit the cathedral and what an experience that was.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrisMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a good sleep. All mattress are brand new and were chosen according to the highest standards. We will make sure to provide you with a softer one on your next stay with us. As you may have experienced the swimming cap is of very good quality and easy to put and take out. Hope you enjoyed our complimentary free access to the Spa. We hope that we can exceed all your expectations next time.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

After reading the good reviews and seeing the photos, I was anxious to stay here. However, was given a room in the old-not-yet-renewed part of the hotel, maybe because it was full that weekend.. clean facilities, but no luxury or design at all.. The rest may be 4* but my old room and the old part was 3* and nothing more... disappointing..

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the renewed part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkthotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Client,

We thank you for your review. We hope to exceed your expectations the next time you stay at the Dom Gonçalo Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I've been at the Design Room. First it was amazing to see the first look of the room. The bed is huge! It had a very nice view, but no balcony. The furniture was quite nice also. The TV is not very big, but I think it has the proper size. It has many channels, no problem using them. The bathroom is quite big and nice too.

I've been looking around in many restaurants and the menu seamed to be always the same, everywhere I went. I found out that the best place to eat was definitely the Hotel's restaurant, "O Convite". Very nice menu and daily suggestions, and with a full dinner it would be close to 30€ per pax. With the treatment and quality we get there, I think it's CHEAP, when compared to surrounding restaurants.

We got access to the SPA, doing the sauna, turkish bath, tropical showers and the inside pool. It had also a small gym, but we were not attracted to use it because it's lack of privacy (in from of SPA's reception). We did 2 massages, both quite nice. The price is alright (aprox. 1€ per min), and at the end they offered us a tea and some biscuits even.

At the reception they were always very careful attending us like a real GUEST. We had internet access in the room by wire. The hotel wasn't too busy, so we had privacy and peace to do very nice holidays.

Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have a pool outside. It would be perfect if had it. I think it would be also very nice if there was a ring in the BAR, so every time we went there, it would be easier to call the barman.

Breakfast had a very nice variety, and rates for room service were not expensive by our experience (3€ per service).

Room Tip: Definitely choose design rooms. Don't EVER choose the classic. You will regret for the rest of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkthotel, Gerente de relações públicas at Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Sir. Thanks a lot for your assessment. Are comments like yours that make us continue to strive to improve service and get the maximum satisfaction of our customers. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Following a busy 24 hours on pilgrimage at the fatima shrine it was wonderful to have use of the spa facilities before departing. All facilities were exceptionally clean and as it was only the two of us using them, it made the experience even better! Breakfast was included in the room price and was of a very high standard.It included some hot items, various breads,cereals,juices,fresh fruits, conserves,cold meats and cakes.
The service in the hotel was excellent, staff were very attentive and helpful.

Our room was on the first floor overlooking a busy road, which was noisy.We were in a Classic ( otherwise known as Old/ Not refurbished!), old style furnishings, bed linens etc. It was spotlessly clean , however the major let down was the air conditioning unit which was so noisy.The result of that was that very little sleep was had.

All in all though it was excellent value for money and I would definitely recommend but make sure you ask for a refurbished room!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in a Classic room a.k.a. old/ not refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Simply the best.
Great room (pay extra for a Junior Suite - it is well worth it)
Great welcome
Great food
Great position - just far enough away from the Shrine to be quiet but near enough to be easy to reach

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fatima hotels
0.9 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
0.6 mi away
Hotel Estrela de Fatima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aleluia
Hotel Aleluia
#8 of 39 in Fatima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa

Property: Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Jacinta Marto 100, Fatima 2495-450, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fatima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of Portugal, close to three World Heritage Monuments and 10 min walk from the Sanctuary of Fatima, you'll find this boutique hotel the perfect stay for relaxation, great food or a romantic or family escape. Excellent accessibility: 2 minutes from the main highway Lisbon-Porto. Personal touch in every detail: freshly cut flowers, beautiful gardens, extensive buffet breakfast and room service, cosy fireplace corner, library, Wellness Spa with inviting facilities including heated pool and fitness room free for guests. There is also a wide range of health and beauty treatments by appointment. Beautiful rooms with free wi-fi access, pillows menu, safe, central heating and air conditioning. The hotel is children's friendly offering kids menu, kids room, playground area in the garden, free cribs and free extra beds for children up to 11 years old. Free Wireless Internet in all public areas and in rooms, free internet point, top reviewed restaurant and bicycles service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Goncalo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing