We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A holy place ...”

Basilica of Nossa Senhora do Rosario de Fatima
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.63*
and up
Fatima Private Full Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This national shrine is the site where three young peasant shepherds spied a "lady brighter than the sun," which was, many believe, the first of six apparitions of the Virgin Mary in this region of Portugal.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A holy place ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a holy place so I've rated it high but I didn't like the first impression when the bus left us in a "Fatima shop". The basilica is beautiful and new...I liked the place in front of it where you can lit the candels.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,058
    687
    195
    45
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We thought we'd find an incredibly inspirational and uplifting place. Instead we found a monument to wretched excess. Penitents walked 2 km. on their knees, others bought 4 foot candles at the gift shop which they immediately threw into a cauldron, where they melted and the wax was recycled into more candles. With loud music and modern architecture, it is more reminiscent of the infamous U.S. radio and TV evangelists than anything else. Think of the medical care that could have been purchased with the billions spent on this monument. BTW, our guide claims that Lucy, who died in 2005 and was the main spokesman for the 3 girls (the other 2 died of influenza around 1919) may not have been the original Lucy. Scientists comparing photos said she couldn't be. Still, it's a big money maker.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pstoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Holy Place for the Faithful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The day we came, it was very hot. Be sure to carry a bottle of water with you. The heat was too much for me, so be prepared as it is a walk up to the basilica with no shady area. It's very large and impressive. They have a small outdoor area with seating and an altar. Be respective of the people who come here to pray.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
168 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Memorable visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our visit was on the feast day of the Assumption and a huge crowd was outdoors, filling half of the area, for Mass. It is hot, there is no shade from the sun in the large open area between the old and new cathedral. I was impressed that there are no vendors in the Fatima shrine area. The place where you purchase candles just has slots in a drop box for you to pay. Lighting candles here was an unusual experience, not at all what I have seen in other Catholic churches or shrines!! There were huge raging fires in the metal area where the candles went, and although my husband managed to place a candle or two in the holders, I could not get close enough due to the fires, and threw them into the fire as many others did!! It was memorable, but not devotional. Pilgrims crawling on their knees, come down a long pathway from the top of the area where the new cathedral is located to the Chapel of the Apparition. The time you spend here will depend on the crowds, and how long you have to wait in lines. Also, it will depend on how long you want to sit and pray, contemplating this site. It is located 1 1/2 hours from Porto, so we were on a tour and limited by the time frame it gave us to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MnJH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“for followers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very big, very pompous, very very important place if you are a catholic, if not, this is nothing special and can be easily skipped.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jedrus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of Nossa Senhora do Rosario de Fatima also viewed

 
Batalha, Leiria District
 

Been to Basilica of Nossa Senhora do Rosario de Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing